Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Review · listing read 6 October 2026

Ooni Koda 12: half the weight of the 16, and the heat is the catch

Buy the Koda 12 if you cook for one or two, want gas rather than a fire to tend, and want an oven you can lift with one hand and carry to a campsite. Do not buy it expecting an even bake without effort: of the eight topics Amazon extracts from its reviews, heat distribution is the only one where complaints win, and they win by more than three to one. And do not buy it if you want wood, a whole family-sized pizza or a natural-gas line.

The small Ooni, and what “small” actually buys

Ooni sells two gas-only ovens on Amazon that this site tracks, and they make the same headline claim. Both publish 950 °F in a structured spec field — the Koda 12 writes it as “9.5E+2 °F”, scientific notation for the same number, and repeats 950 °F in its first feature bullet. Both burn propane and nothing else. Both light with a dial and a spark. So the decision inside the Koda line is not about heat at all.

It is about size, and size cuts both ways. A 12-inch pizza covers about 113 square inches against roughly 201 for a 16-inch one, so the Koda 16 makes 78% more pizza per bake. The Koda 12 pays that back in weight. Its listing states 20.2 lb; the Koda 16 states 18.2 kg, which is about 40 lb. The small one is half the weight of the big one, and it is lighter than the multi-fuel Karu 12 too, which its own listing puts at 12 kg, about 26 lb. Of the three Ooni ovens below, this is the one you can carry to a car without planning the trip.

Footprint follows. At 24.4 by 15.5 inches the Koda 12 covers roughly 378 square inches of table. The Koda 16’s 25 by 23.2 inches is about 580. If your outdoor space is a small patio or a folding table, that difference is the whole decision.

SpecOoni Koda 12Ooni Koda 16Ooni Karu 12
Price (snapshot)$298.95$498.00$248.95
Fuelgas, propanegas, propanecharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood
Max temp950 °F950 °F932 °F
PowerNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.4★ (1,132)4.6★ (1,254)4.6★ (644)
Bought last month50+400+900+
The two gas-only Oonis and the multi-fuel Karu 12, from this site's product snapshot of 29 August 2026. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon's own and they move: on 22 September 2026 the Koda 12 was unavailable with no price at all, and on 6 October 2026 it was back in stock. The Karu's fuel row lists gas because its listing does, not because a burner ships with it. The Koda 16's power row is a figure its propane-only listing publishes without explanation.

The complaint that defines this oven

Amazon extracts eight topics from the Koda 12’s reviews, totalling 443 mentions. Seven lean positive or split. One does not. Heat distribution runs 8 positive to 27 negative, and Amazon’s summary of it says owners find the oven burns hot, heats unevenly and loses a lot of heat through the opening.

That is a more specific complaint than it first sounds. It is not that the oven fails to get hot; it is that one part of the pizza cooks faster than another, and that heat escapes through the front. The Koda 12’s corpus is notable because owners name it so consistently, in a topic Amazon chose to extract on its own, from a review record of more than a thousand ratings.

The practical meaning is that you will be turning the pizza. Amazon’s summary of the ease-of-use topic, which splits 43 positive to 28 negative, describes the same thing from the other side: a learning curve. Gas removes the work of managing a fire. It does not remove the work of rotating a pizza, repeatedly, in an oven that does not heat it evenly. If you do not own a small turning peel, budget for one; our wooden vs metal peel comparison covers why the blade matters.

Across all eight topics, 123 of 443 mentions are negative (27.8%). That is the highest complaint share of the three outdoor ovens in the chart below, and a large corpus makes it the most reliable of the three numbers, not the least.

Ooni Koda 1227.8% (123 of 443)Ooni Koda 1621.6% (37 of 171)Solo Stove Pi Prime12.7% (20 of 157)
Share of Amazon review-topic mentions that are negative, drawn to scale. Koda 12 read 6 October 2026; Koda 16 and Pi Prime read 22 September 2026. Totals are positive plus negative across every topic Amazon extracted. This is not a controlled comparison: Amazon picks different topics for each listing, and the Koda 12's corpus is almost three times the size of the others. Read it as how much owners argue, not as a quality score.

A corpus that held still

One detail makes these figures more trustworthy than most on this site. This site read the Koda 12’s review topics on 22 September 2026 and again on 6 October 2026, and every one of the sixteen counts was identical, with the rating count moving from 1,134 to 1,135. That is not always the case. Over a similar three-week interval the Solo Stove Pi Prime’s topics were re-cut entirely, with one topic vanishing and another splitting in two — a story told in Solo Stove vs Ooni.

Stable topics on a large, slow-moving corpus are about as solid as Amazon’s review data gets. They are still Amazon’s numbers rather than ours, and still a summary of what owners chose to write about, not a measurement of the oven. But the heat complaint is not a quirk of one week’s reviews.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 12patterns across 1,132 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 6 October 2026
  • Complaint: Heat distribution is the only topic where complaints outnumber praise, and it does so by more than three to one: 35 mentions, 8 positive and 27 negative. Amazon's summary says owners find the oven burns hot, heats unevenly and loses significant heat through the opening. — the most specific complaint in the corpus, and the one a 12-inch mouth makes harder to manage
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic and runs strongly positive: 116 mentions, 99 positive to 17 negative. — people who get the hang of it are pleased with what comes out
  • Mixed: Ease of use is mixed, 43 positive to 28 negative across 71 mentions. Amazon's summary describes some owners finding it simple and others describing a learning curve. — gas takes away fire-tending, not the skill of turning a pizza in an uneven oven
  • Praised: Cooking time runs 36 positive to 5 negative. Amazon's summary of the corpus reports pizzas in about 90 seconds, where the listing's headline claim is 60. — fast by any normal standard, and slower than the marketing
  • Mixed: Reliability splits 30 positive to 15 negative. Amazon's summary of the whole listing says some owners report the oven stops working after a few uses. — a minority, but the reason the warranty registration below is worth doing
  • Mixed: Value for money splits 30 positive to 20 negative, with Amazon describing some owners as finding it worth the money and others as finding it overpriced.

Amazon's topic data for ASIN B07PN5R5WY, read 6 October 2026: eight topics, 443 total mentions, from a listing showing 1,135 ratings (the header shows this site's snapshot rating, which matches). Every total is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which breaks on totals of a thousand or more. Two smaller topics, Pizza quality (52 to 10) and Fun (22 to 1), are not summarised above; both are strongly positive. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus and quote nothing from an individual review. This site does not cook on these ovens.

What the listing publishes, and where it contradicts itself

Read directly from Amazon on 6 October 2026, the listing is reasonably complete. It gives dimensions, a weight, a temperature in a real spec field and a preheat claim of 15 minutes, five fewer than the Koda 16 claims for itself. It also contradicts itself three times, in exactly the places a buyer would want a straight answer.

What is in the box. The Included Components field says “Pizza Oven” and nothing else. The Item Highlight field, two screens away, describes a propane oven “with 28 mBar Regulator and Gas Hose”, and a feature bullet says the regulator and hose come attached. Most likely the field is simply incomplete, but we can only report what the listing says, and it says both.

What the shell is made of. The Material field says stainless steel. A feature bullet says powder-coated carbon steel. Those are different metals that age differently outdoors. The Koda 16’s listing has the same contradiction, which suggests one template was copied rather than two ovens being described with care.

How long the warranty is. There is no Warranty Description field at all. A feature bullet is headed “Ooni 5 Year Warranty”, and its body says every Ooni product carries one year as standard, which Ooni will “extend by 5 years” if you register within 60 days of purchase. Five years or six depends on how you read it, and we will not pick. What is clear is the condition: register the oven within 60 days. Given the reliability topic above, it is the most useful five minutes you will spend on this oven.

Two fields are junk and are ignored here. Capacity reads “12cubic inches”, which confuses a 12-inch pizza with a volume, and Door Style reads “Royal Safety Pivot”, which nothing else on the listing explains.

SpecOoni Koda 12
AvailabilityIn stock, “Only 10 left”. Unavailable with no price on 22 September
Amazon rating (live read)4.4★ from 1,135 ratings
Temperature, as publishedTitle bullet: 950 °F. Spec field: 9.5E+2 °F
FuelPropane only. The listing says it is not compatible with natural gas
Pizza size12-inch pizza (Size field). No stone dimension or thickness
Footprint24.4 D × 15.5 W × 11.7 H in
Weight20.2 lb
Preheat claim15 minutes, per a feature bullet
In the boxField: “Pizza Oven”. Bullets: regulator and hose attached
ShellField: stainless steel. Bullet: powder-coated carbon steel
WarrantyNo warranty field. Bullet: 1 year, extended by 5 on registration
Returns30-day refund or replacement
The Koda 12's own listing (ASIN B07PN5R5WY), read from Amazon on 6 October 2026. Each cell prints what the listing says, including where two of its own fields disagree. The model number reads "Koda 12 (Gen 1)". The listing does not publish the stone's dimensions or thickness, or any burner output figure.
Ooni Koda 12
If you cook for one or two and want to carry it

Ooni Koda 12

Propane only, 950 °F in Ooni's own spec field, 20.2 lb, a 15-minute preheat claim. Expect to turn every pizza, and register it with Ooni within 60 days.

View on Amazon

$298.95 · 1,132 reviews

Stock has been intermittent

On 22 September 2026 this listing was unavailable, with no price and no date for its return. On 6 October 2026 it was back, sold by Ooni USA, shipped by Amazon, and showing “Only 10 left in stock”. We cannot see why it went out of stock or whether it will again. If this is the oven you want, check the listing’s availability line before you plan a weekend around it. If it is out of stock when you look, the alternatives at the end of this page are not second prizes; for some buyers they are the better oven anyway.

What it gives up

Even heat, without your help. The heat-distribution topic is the plainest finding on this page. Plan on turning pizzas through the bake and on a few burnt edges while you learn the oven.

Size. Twelve inches is a personal pizza. For a family of four eating two rounds each, that is eight bakes. The Koda 16 does the same evening in four or five.

Wood flavour, permanently. It burns propane only, and nothing on the listing suggests an upgrade path. If the smell of a wood fire is part of the appeal, this is the wrong oven.

Natural gas. The listing says plainly it is not compatible with natural gas. It will not run off a fixed patio gas line.

Indoor or covered use. It burns propane, so it produces carbon monoxide. It belongs outdoors in open air — never in a garage, a tent, an enclosed porch or under a covered roof.

Who should buy something else

Anyone cooking for a group. The Ooni Koda 16 claims the same 950 °F, makes 78% more pizza per bake, and is the only Ooni oven here whose structured warranty field states more than a year. Its corpus has a heat complaint too — Amazon files its heat output topic as mixed — but its overall complaint share is lower. It weighs twice as much.

Anyone who wants live fire. The Ooni Karu 12 burns wood and charcoal out of the box and is a 12-inch oven like this one. It is heavier, needs a fire tended, and its gas burner is a separate purchase. Ooni Karu vs Koda walks through that choice properly.

Anyone weighing gas ovens across brands. The gas pizza oven guide sets five propane ovens side by side, including what each listing publishes about returns and warranty. If carrying the oven is the point, the portable pizza oven guide compares weights directly.

Anyone without outdoor space. A propane oven is not an option at all. The electric pizza oven guide covers the plug-in ovens, which burn nothing.

Who is left is a clear buyer: one or two people, a small outdoor space or a car boot, a preference for a dial over a fire, and the patience to turn a pizza. For that buyer the Ooni Koda 12 is the lighter of the two gas-only Oonis on this site, with a large and stable review record that is honest about its one real flaw.

Where this leaves you

If you want a light gas oven for one or two people

  • 950 °F in Ooni's structured spec field, the same claim as the Koda 16.
  • 20.2 lb by its own listing, half the stated weight of the Koda 16.
  • Heat distribution is the corpus's one net-negative topic, 8 positive to 27 negative. Expect to turn every pizza.
  • Propane only; the listing says it is not compatible with natural gas.
  • No warranty field. A bullet promises an extension on registration within 60 days.

Listing read 6 October 2026. Amazon's ratings and topics, not ours. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.

Ooni Koda 12
Ooni

Koda 12

$298.95

View on Amazon

50+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 6 October 2026 for ASIN B07PN5R5WY (Ooni Koda 12). The comparison table, and the Koda 16 and Karu 12 weights and dimensions, come from this site’s product snapshot of 29 August 2026 and the reviews of those ovens; the Koda 16 and Pi Prime topic figures were read 22 September 2026. Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon’s own and change without notice. Nothing on this page states what Ooni’s extended warranty covers, because the listing does not. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.