Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Guide · updated 29 August 2026

Blackstone does not make a pizza oven

Blackstone makes griddles. It does not sell a standalone pizza oven on Amazon. What people find when they go looking for one is a third-party attachment that sits on top of a Blackstone griddle and turns part of it into a covered stone chamber. That is a real product and for some people it is the right one. It is not a Blackstone oven, and if you do not already own a Blackstone griddle it is almost certainly not what you want.

What actually exists

The confusion is completely reasonable. Blackstone is one of the biggest names in outdoor cooking, plenty of people already own one of its griddles, and pizza is one of the things those griddles are marketed for. A Blackstone pizza oven is the obvious thing to expect. It just is not a product.

What Blackstone itself sells on the pizza side is accessories under its own brand — peels and tool kits, the things you use with an oven rather than the oven. The oven-shaped object is made by someone else. In the fifteen ovens and pizza accessories this site tracks on Amazon, the word Blackstone appears exactly once, and it is in the title of another company’s product: Stanbroil Pizza Oven Attachment for Blackstone 22 & 28 Inch Griddles.

So the question is not really “is the Blackstone oven any good”. It is “does converting a griddle get me a pizza I am happy with, or should I buy a machine built to do only this?” That has a clear answer, and it depends almost entirely on whether you already own the griddle.

What the attachment is

According to its Amazon listing, read 29 August 2026, the Stanbroil attachment is a powder-coated alloy steel hood measuring 21.8 by 14.1 by 5.3 inches, weighing 7.66 kg — about 17 lb — with a removable cordierite stone of 17.3 by 11.8 inches and a temperature gauge built into the front. The listing states it fits Blackstone 22-inch and 28-inch propane griddle stations. Blackstone sells griddles in other widths, so griddle size is the first thing to check and the listing names only those two.

Nothing in that listing describes a burner. There is no gas inlet, no igniter and no fuel of its own in the specification — the attachment is a lid, a stone and a thermometer. Every calorie of heat it gets comes up through the griddle plate from the burners underneath. That single fact explains most of what follows. A dedicated pizza oven puts flame above the pizza as well as heat below it, which is how a top gets colour in ninety seconds. A hood on a griddle has a very hot floor and a roof that only gets warm because the air under it does.

Amazon has noticed something similar. It files the attachment under Pizza Grilling Stones, where it ranks #138, rather than under any oven category at all. The Piezano XL is #2 in Countertop Pizza Ovens; the Ooni Karu 12 is #571 in Outdoor Cooking. The retailer that sells all three does not consider this one an oven either.

The 5.3-inch overall height is worth holding onto. That is the outside of the hood, so the clearance above the stone is less than that. It is enough for a flat pizza. It is not a chamber you are going to roast anything tall in.

Stanbroil11.8 inOoni Karu 1212 inPiezano XL14 in
Largest round pizza each one takes, drawn to scale. The Stanbroil's stone is rectangular — 17.3 by 11.8 inches per its listing — so a round base is limited by the short side, not the long one. Ooni states 12 inches for the Karu 12 and Piezano states a 14-inch stone. Size is not the reason to skip the attachment.

The one number this category sells on, and nobody publishes properly

Peak temperature is what pizza ovens advertise on. It is also the spec you cannot compare across these three listings, and the way each one fails is different.

Ooni puts 950 °F in the Karu 12’s product title, then fills the structured “Temperature Range” field with 500 °C, which is 932 °F. Two numbers, eighteen degrees apart, in one listing. Piezano claims 800 °F in its marketing copy and its structured field reads “8E+2 °F” — the same number, mangled into scientific notation by whatever wrote it. The Stanbroil attachment states no peak temperature anywhere: not in the title, not in the features, not in the specification table. It offers a gauge so you can find out yourself.

That is why the max-temp row in the table below reads “Not stated” for all three. It is not a gap in our research. It is what the listings contain. Treat any page that gives you a confident temperature for the Stanbroil attachment with suspicion, because the seller does not give one.

The same listings are unreliable in smaller ways. The Karu 12’s “Included Components” field, on the day we read it, said Rawlings Bat. Amazon’s structured fields are filled in by sellers, and sellers are busy.

SpecStanbroil Blackstone Pizza Oven AttachmentOoni Karu 12Piezano XL 14 inch
Price (snapshot)$164.99$248.95$139.99
Fuelgas, propanecharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodelectric
Max tempNot stated932 °F800 °F
PowerNot statedNot stated1200 W
Amazon rating4.2 (76)4.6 (644)4.2 (4,342)
Bought last monthNot badged900+300+
The attachment against the two dedicated ovens closest to it in price. Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon's own, captured 29 August 2026, and they move. Piezano's listing separately states 1,200 watts in a detail field the snapshot above did not capture — treat the power row as incomplete rather than authoritative.

The comparison that decides it

Look at the price row and the argument makes itself. On the snapshot above, taken 29 August 2026, the attachment sits between the two dedicated ovens rather than below them. It is not the cheap way into pizza. Check all three before you buy, because those figures are a dated reading and not a promise.

But price is the smaller half of it. The attachment is not a purchase, it is an upgrade, and it only works on top of a griddle that costs several hundred dollars by itself. If you own a 22 or 28-inch Blackstone, the attachment is the incremental cost of adding pizza to a thing you already have. If you do not, the real price is a griddle plus a hood, to get a chamber heated from one side. Nobody should reach a dedicated pizza oven by that route.

The Ooni Karu 12 is the obvious alternative, and it is the best-selling oven in this set by some distance — Amazon badges it 900+ bought in the past month against 400 for the larger Koda 16. It burns wood or charcoal out of the box and hits its stated temperature in about fifteen minutes by Ooni’s own account. One honest caveat the marketing glides over: the Karu 12 is sold as multi-fuel, but running it on gas needs Ooni’s burner attachment, which the listing states is sold separately. If gas is why you want it, budget for that. We go through it properly in the Ooni Karu 12 review, and the wider brand-versus-brand question in Blackstone vs Ooni.

The other direction is electric. The Piezano XL carries 4,342 Amazon reviews, more than any Ooni oven in this set, which is a strange fact about a category everyone assumes Ooni owns. It plugs into a wall, works indoors, and takes a 14-inch pizza — the biggest of the three. It rates 4.2, below the Karu’s 4.6, and Amazon’s summary of its corpus flags heat output as a mixed point. If your problem is that you have no outdoor space, that trade is worth making; the electric pizza oven guide covers the rest of that shelf.

Stanbroil Blackstone Pizza Oven Attachment
If you already own the griddle

Stanbroil Blackstone Pizza Oven Attachment

Converts a 22 or 28-inch Blackstone into a covered stone chamber. Cordierite stone, built-in gauge, no burner of its own. Sensible as an add-on, not as a way into pizza.

View on Amazon

$164.99 · 76 reviews

What buyers report — and why we are careful

This is where the page has to be honest about its own limits. The attachment has 76 Amazon reviews. Amazon’s topic extraction pulls two themes out of them, seven mentions each, and calls both mixed. Seven mentions is not a pattern. It is a table of people, and half of them disagree with the other half.

What buyers report — Stanbroil Blackstone Pizza Oven Attachmentpatterns across 76 Amazon reviews · 4.2★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Mixed: Amazon's own review summary calls the corpus mixed on cooking performance — 7 topic mentions, 4 positive against 3 negative.on 76 reviews that is a handful of people disagreeing, not a verdict
  • Mixed: Pizza quality splits the same way, 4 positive to 3 negative across 7 mentions, and Amazon summarises it as mixed rather than leaning either way.the two topics Amazon extracted are the only two it found
  • Complaint: The negative side of both topics concerns heat behaviour rather than build quality or fit — the corpus has no topic about the attachment failing to sit on the griddle.consistent with a chamber whose only heat source is underneath it

76 reviews is a thin corpus and we are not going to pretend otherwise. Amazon surfaced two topics with seven mentions each; totals are computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates above a thousand and misparses. Themes are summarised from the public corpus, not quoted from it, and not from our own cooking — this site does not cook on these ovens. Read 29 August 2026. Compare against the Karu 12's 644 reviews and the Piezano XL's 4,342 before weighing any of it.

Who the attachment genuinely suits

You already own a 22 or 28-inch Blackstone and use it. This is the whole case, and it is a good one. The griddle is already outside, already plumbed to propane, already the thing you cook on. Adding pizza to it costs you one box.

You have nowhere to put another appliance. A dedicated oven is a second object that lives somewhere all winter. At 17 lb and 5.3 inches tall, the attachment stacks flat in the same cupboard as the griddle’s other bits. For people in apartments with a small balcony, or anyone who has already lost a garage corner to a griddle, that is not a small thing.

You want to find out whether you like doing this. Homemade pizza is a hobby that some people take up and abandon inside a summer. Testing that on an attachment is cheaper than testing it on an oven, and if it sticks you will know exactly what you want from the real one.

What you should expect in exchange is the heat asymmetry. A stone heated hard from below and a roof heated only by the air will brown a base faster than a top. That is geometry, not a defect, and it is the thing the small negative side of the review corpus keeps circling. Expect to work around it rather than to beat it.

Who should buy something else

Anyone who does not own a Blackstone griddle. There is no version of this where buying a griddle in order to attach a pizza hood to it beats buying a pizza oven. Start at the best pizza ovens under $500, which is where the whole interesting part of this market sits.

Anyone whose reason for wanting this is a 60-second Neapolitan pizza. That result comes from flame over the top of the dough. An attachment has no mechanism for producing it. If that is the pizza in your head, buy an oven built to make it.

Anyone cooking indoors. The attachment needs a propane griddle, which needs to be outside. Electric is the only category that solves this, and the Piezano review is where that starts.

None of this makes the attachment a bad product. It makes it an accessory, priced and reviewed like one, sold by a company that is not Blackstone, for people who already made the Blackstone decision. The mistake would be arriving at it because you searched for an oven and this is what came back.

Where this leaves you

If you do not already own the griddle, start here instead

  • Burns wood or charcoal out of the box; gas needs Ooni's burner, sold separately.
  • Ooni's title claims 950 °F and its spec field says 500 °C — both are the listing's numbers, not ours.
  • Amazon badges it 900+ bought in the past month, more than any other oven in this set.
  • Takes a 12-inch pizza, and heat comes from above the dough as well as below it.

Amazon's rating and sales badge, read 29 August 2026. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.

Ooni Karu 12
Ooni

Karu 12

$248.95

View on Amazon

900+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASINs B0BL7F7RLB, B0CHS69P48 and B0DXQR2M2Q. Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon’s own and change without notice. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.