Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Comparison · updated 29 August 2026

Ninja against Ooni is a temperature decision, not a brand one

If you want a pizza that cooks in ninety seconds, buy an Ooni. If you want an oven that runs off a wall socket and needs no propane, buy a Ninja. That is the whole comparison, and one number settles it rather than the badge on the front. Ninja’s ovens top out at 700 °F. Every Ooni flame oven here claims 932 to 950 °F. Nothing else on either spec sheet moves the decision as far as that gap does.

One number, published two ways

Both brands publish a peak temperature on Amazon rather than leaving you to guess, which is not universal in this category. Ninja states 700 °F for the Woodfire and 700 °F for the Artisan. Ooni states 500 °C for the Karu 12 — that is 932 °F — and 950 °F for the Koda 16.

Where those numbers sit on the listing is not identical, and the table below labels it. The Artisan’s 700 °F is in a structured “Temperature Range” field. The Woodfire’s is not: it appears in the product title, in the feature bullets and in the long item-type string Amazon uses for search — all marketing copy, from the same manufacturer that filled the field in properly on its other oven. A title is part of the listing, but it is weaker evidence than a spec, and a page ought to be able to say which it is looking at.

Ooni has its own version of the split, in reverse. The Karu 12’s temperature field says 500 °C while Ooni’s own title says 950 °F, and 500 °C converts to 932. We have not resolved which figure Ooni means, so both are on this page. None of that ambiguity is big enough to matter here: whether the Karu is 932 or 950, it is at least 232 °F above anything Ninja sells, and no rounding closes that.

SpecNinja Woodfire Oven & SmokerNinja Artisan Pizza OvenOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 16Ooni Volt 2
Price (snapshot)$279.99$299.95$248.95$498.00$698.95
Fuelelectric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)electriccharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, propaneelectric
Max temp700 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field700 °F932 °F950 °F850 °F
Power1760 W1760 WNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.5 (845)4.6 (499)4.6 (644)4.6 (1,254)3.8 (60)
Bought last month300+200+900+400+100+
Amazon's own prices, ratings, review counts and published peak temperatures, read 29 August 2026. Two footnotes. The Ninja Woodfire's fuel reads "electric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)" because its structured Fuel Type field says Electric and its Heating Method field says Conduction — the pellets are a seasoning system, not the heat source, so it is not a wood-fired oven. And wattage is blank on every Ooni flame oven on purpose: a gas or wood oven has no meaningful wattage at any value, and these listings publish junk numbers when asked for one.

What 700 °F can and cannot do

A Neapolitan bake is defined by finishing before the dough dries out. The stone sets the base and the roof chars the rim inside about ninety seconds, which is why the crumb stays soft and the rim blisters. Ooni sells exactly that: the Karu 12 listing claims a 12-inch pizza in 60 seconds, and 15 minutes to reach temperature.

Ninja sells three minutes. The Artisan claims a 12-inch pizza in 3 minutes at 700 °F, with an 18-minute preheat excluded by its own asterisk; the Woodfire claims the same three minutes behind a 25-minute preheat. Three minutes is not a failed ninety seconds. It is a different pizza. Stretch the same dough across twice the bake and water has time to leave it, and what comes out is firmer, drier and crisper underneath — a New-York-style base that carries toppings, which millions of people prefer. Ninja ships a setting labelled Neapolitan and a setting labelled New York, and the machine is honestly built for the second one.

The ceiling is not carelessness either. Both Ninja ovens draw 1,760 watts, and a US 120-volt household outlet has roughly that much to give and no more. Every plug-in oven in this category is negotiating with the same circuit. You do not buy your way past it inside a plug-in box; you buy your way past it by going outside and burning something, which is precisely the trade Ooni’s flame ovens make. Ooni’s own electric, the Volt 2, reaches 850 °F — above both Ninjas, below every Ooni that burns fuel — and it is the most expensive oven in this comparison.

Where each brand's published ceiling falls932 °F
400 °F1000 °F

Usable. Every Ooni flame oven. Karu 12: 932 °F by its spec field, 950 °F by its title. Koda 16: 950 °F. Ooni claims a 60-second bake at these temperatures.

Band edges follow what these listings themselves publish — there is no test rig here and no oven, and nothing on this page is measured by us. The marker sits on the Karu 12; Ninja's 700 °F sits exactly on the boundary between the first and second bands, which is this page's argument in one position. The verdict word is the component's own and reads Usable for anything inside a green band.

Raw
Set
Golden
Deep gold
Blistering
Leopard
Char

Where a bake stops is what the temperature argument is actually about. Ninja's published 700 °F ceiling puts it around deep gold; the leopard spotting people associate with Neapolitan pizza sits at the far end, which is the band only the Ooni flame ovens claim to reach. Both figures are the manufacturers' own claims, not measurements we have taken.

The closest like-for-like: Artisan against Karu 12

Strip both ranges down to one machine each and the comparison sharpens. The Ninja Artisan and the Ooni Karu 12 are the nearest like-for-like pair the two brands sell: both bake a 12-inch pizza, both carry a 4.6-star Amazon average, and between them they hold the review counts most buyers will actually be reading. Every figure in the next table was read from those two listings on 29 August 2026.

Two rows are worth stopping on before you scroll past them.

Fuel in the box. Ninja’s Power Source field says Corded Electric and its wattage field says 1760 watts, and that is the end of the shopping list. Ooni’s says Gas-Powered, while its feature copy says the oven fires on wood or charcoal straight out of the box with the gas burner sold separately. That last clause is the one buyers miss: the multi-fuel oven does not arrive multi-fuel. If push-button gas is what you want from a Karu, it is a second purchase — and the Koda is the Ooni that arrives that way, which is a decision in its own right and gets its own page at Karu vs Koda.

The Karu’s Included Components field reads “Rawlings Bat”. That is a baseball bat, on a pizza oven listing. It is obviously wrong, we have no way to know what it was supposed to say, and it is reported here rather than quietly swapped for the accessory list in the feature bullets. Where a listing is broken, the table says so — that is the same rule that put “from the product title, not a spec field” under the Woodfire’s temperature above.

SpecNinja Artisan Pizza OvenOoni Karu 12
Peak temp, and where700 °F, in a structured “Temperature Range” field“Temperature Range” field says 500 °C (932 °F); the title says 950 °F
Lowest stated temp90 °F, a proofing settingNot stated
Bake time claimed12-inch pizza in 3 minutes at 700 °F, excluding an 18-minute preheat12-inch pizza in 60 seconds, ready to cook in 15 minutes
Power source field“Corded Electric”, 1760 watts“Gas-Powered”. No wattage — a fuel-burning oven has none
Fuel in the boxNothing to buy. It plugs in.Wood or charcoal out of the box; the gas burner is sold separately
Amazon category rank#2 in Outdoor Ovens · #11,147 in Patio, Lawn & Garden#572 in Outdoor Cooking · #8,531 in Patio, Lawn & Garden
BadgeNot badgedAmazon's Choice
Footprint (D × W × H)20.78″D × 16.22″W × 12.4″H31.5″D × 15.8″W × 30.3″H
Weight25 pounds12 kg per the spec field; 26.4 lb per the feature copy
Capacity0.44 cubic feet12 inches
In the box12 × 12 in pizza stone, 12 × 12 in bake pan, quick-start guideField reads “Rawlings Bat”. That is a baseball bat — see below
Warranty stated1 YearOne Year Mfg. Limited
Read from the two Amazon listings on 29 August 2026 — ASINs B0DWTFBFWT and B0CHS69P48. Both scrapes returned full detail tables, 32 fields and 29 fields, so "Not stated" here means the listing genuinely does not say. Bake times, preheat figures and the 60-second claim are each manufacturer copy, not anything this site has timed. The two ovens are ranked in different Amazon categories, so their category ranks are not comparable with each other — only the department rank is.

What buyers report, side by side

Amazon extracts eight topics from each corpus, and the two shapes differ in a way that maps straight onto the temperature.

The Artisan has 316 topic mentions across 499 ratings, and not one of its eight topics leans negative. The closest thing to a complaint is ease of cleaning, tied at 6 positive and 6 negative across 12 mentions, which is the smallest topic in the set. Value for money runs 39 positive to 3 negative.

The Karu 12 has 265 mentions across 644 ratings. Its top is just as strong — performance at 84 to 7, flavour at 24 with no negatives at all — but two topics carry real dissent and both of them are the fire. Heating speed is 31 to 10. Value for money is 26 to 9, against the Artisan’s 39 to 3. And there is a topic on the Karu with no counterpart on either Ninja listing: burning options, 6 positive to 6 negative. That is 932 °F turning up in the review data. A temperature that cooks a pizza in sixty seconds ruins one in about sixty seconds, and a wood fire has no thermostat.

What buyers report — Ninja Artisan Pizza Ovenpatterns across 499 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic by a distance: 108 mentions, 102 positive against 6 negative.seventeen in eighteen people who talk about how it cooks are happy with how it cooks
  • Praised: Cooking speed runs 52 mentions, 48 positive to 4 negative, and Amazon's summary of that topic reports pizzas ready in under three minutes.the corpus is repeating Ninja's own three-minute claim back, not testing it
  • Praised: Value for money is 42 mentions, 39 positive against 3 negative.the most one-sided reading of value in any review corpus on this site
  • Praised: Pizza quality is 50 mentions at 46 positive to 4 negative, and heat output is 13 mentions with no negatives at all.whatever 700 °F costs this oven, the pizza it makes is not the complaint
  • Mixed: Not one of the eight topics leans negative. The closest is ease of cleaning, tied at 6 positive and 6 negative across 12 mentions — the smallest topic in the set.a corpus with no net-negative topic is unusual, and the one argument in it is about washing up

Amazon's topic data for ASIN B0DWTFBFWT, read 29 August 2026: eight topics, 316 total mentions across 499 ratings. Every figure is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates totals of a thousand or more ("3.9K") and is then parsed as a bare integer. All eight topics here sit under a thousand and the field agrees with the sum on all eight — the arithmetic is done anyway, because you cannot tell from outside which listing will break. Themes are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

What buyers report — Ooni Karu 12patterns across 644 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance leads at 91 mentions, 84 positive to 7 negative, and cooking performance adds 27 more at 26 to 1.the top of this corpus is as strong as the top of the Ninja one
  • Praised: Flavor is 24 mentions with zero negatives. The Artisan's nearest equivalent topic, taste, is 24 mentions at 21 to 3.two similarly sized topics, and the live-fire oven is the one with no dissent in it
  • Mixed: Heating speed is the most contested large topic on either listing: 41 mentions, 31 positive against 10 negative.roughly one in four people who raise heat-up time are unhappy about it
  • Mixed: Value for money runs 35 mentions at 26 positive to 9 negative, against the Artisan's 39 to 3.the cheaper oven of the two is the one its buyers argue about
  • Mixed: Burning options is filed by Amazon as mixed — 12 mentions, 6 positive to 6 negative — and its summary states that some owners get good results while others report burning pizzas. Neither Ninja listing has any topic like it.the temperature that cooks a pizza in sixty seconds also ruins one in about sixty seconds

Amazon's topic data for ASIN B0CHS69P48, read 29 August 2026: eight topics, 265 total mentions across 644 ratings. Totals computed as positive plus negative, for the same reason as above — all eight are under a thousand and all eight agree with the sum, and the arithmetic is still done. This listing carries Amazon's Choice while the Artisan's does not; a badge is a merchandising signal, not a quality finding, and it is not treated as one here.

Electric does not mean indoor

This is the thing most people get backwards, and it is the one mistake on this page that could actually hurt someone.

Neither Ninja goes indoors. The Woodfire burns wood pellets, so that one is obvious. The Artisan is a corded electric oven with no flame in it at all — and Amazon still files it under Outdoor Ovens, where it sits at #2, while Ninja’s own feature copy sells it as weather-resistant and safe to store outside. Electric is not a synonym for indoor-safe. Treating it as one is how a carbon-monoxide problem starts with a pellet oven, and a ventilation and clearance problem starts with the rest.

The counterintuitive part is that the brand with the indoor answer is Ooni, not Ninja. The Volt 2 is the only oven in this comparison whose listing claims indoor use, at 850 °F. It also carries the weakest Amazon average in this set — 3.8 stars across 60 ratings — which is a small corpus on a new listing and is worth watching rather than trusting either way. If the oven genuinely has to live inside, the shelf you want is the indoor pizza oven guide, and the wider plug-in category including the countertop machines is the electric pizza oven guide. Neither is this page.

One inconsistency inside Ninja’s own range

Worth reporting rather than smoothing over, because it looks like an error and is not. The Woodfire has more reviews than the Artisan — 845 against 499 — and a wider sales badge, 300+ bought in the past month against 200+. And it ranks below the Artisan on both of Amazon’s rank measures: #4 in Outdoor Ovens against #2, and roughly #17,900 in Patio, Lawn & Garden against #11,147. Those were read within a minute of each other; category ranks move hourly, so treat the digits as a snapshot and the ordering as the finding.

The two signals do not have to agree. A review count accumulates over years, and the Woodfire is the older machine. A best-seller rank is much closer to now. Read together they say the broader eight-in-one oven has sold more copies in total while the pizza-only one is selling harder today. Neither is a verdict on the pizza, and we have not established which reading is right — only that the two point opposite ways, which is worth knowing before you read either number as proof. The long version of the multi-function case is in the Ninja Woodfire review.

Answer one question and this is decided

Do you need a ninety-second Neapolitan bake? Then it is Ooni, and there is no Ninja that gets there — not at a higher price, not on a different setting, not with a longer preheat. The Karu 12 is the cheapest way in and the best-selling oven in this whole set at 900+ bought in a month, and it also wants fuel you buy again, a match, and somewhere outdoors to stand. The Karu 12 review and the Koda 16 review cover the two obvious versions of that answer, and the main buying guide covers the brands neither of these two competes with.

Do you need it to run off a wall socket? Then it is Ninja, and the Artisan is the pizza-focused one: 700 °F, a three-minute bake, a 90 °F proofing setting that no fuel-burning oven can offer, and a value verdict from its own buyers that nothing else here matches. If pizza is one job among several — smoking, roasting, a 12-pound bird — the Woodfire is the wider machine and gives up seven minutes of preheat to be it.

What this page will not do is name a winner, because the two answers are not on the same scale. One brand sells the temperature the style requires. The other sells not owning a propane tank. Someone replacing four appliances with one box, on a normal outlet, with a balcony and no gas fitting, is making a perfectly rational trade — they are simply not buying a Neapolitan oven, and the marketing on the front of the box will not be the thing that tells them so.

Two ovens, two questions

Ninja Artisan Pizza Oven
If it has to run off a wall socket

Ninja Artisan Pizza Oven

1,760 W corded electric, 90–700 °F, a 12-inch pizza in 3 minutes after an 18-minute preheat, five pizza settings and a proofing mode. #2 in Outdoor Ovens on the day we read it, and 39 positive to 3 negative on value in its own review corpus. Outdoor use only.

View on Amazon

$299.95 · 499 reviews

Ooni Karu 12
If ninety seconds is the point

Ooni Karu 12

932 °F by its spec field, 950 °F by its title, a 12-inch pizza in 60 seconds and 15 minutes to reach heat. Fires on wood or charcoal out of the box; the gas burner is a separate purchase. Amazon's Choice, 900+ bought in the past month — the best-selling oven in this comparison.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASINs B0DWTFBFWT (Ninja Artisan Pizza Oven, model MO201), B0CHS69P48 (Ooni Karu 12) and B0C6BQVDX3 (Ninja Woodfire Oven & Smoker, model OO101); Ooni Koda 16 and Ooni Volt 2 figures come from this site’s product snapshot of the same date. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon’s own, shown with attribution and a date, and they change without notice. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.