Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Review · updated 29 August 2026

Ooni Koda 16: you are buying four inches

The Koda 16 is the oven most people end up on, and the reason is diameter, not heat. Buy it if you want to serve a whole pizza rather than a personal one and you want gas. Do not buy it for temperature: it publishes the same 950 °F as the Karu 12, which costs half as much. And do not buy it if you ever want wood flavour, because this one burns propane and nothing else, permanently.

Four inches is not a small step

Twelve inches to sixteen sounds like a third more oven. It is not. Pizza is a circle, and a circle’s area goes up with the square of its diameter, so a 16-inch pizza covers about 201 square inches against roughly 113 for a 12-inch one. That is 78% more pizza per bake, from an oven advertised as being four inches wider.

Turn that into an evening. Feeding four people two rounds each is eight bakes on a 12-inch stone; on a 16-inch stone it is four or five, because each pizza is nearly two of the smaller ones. The bake time barely moves. The number of times you stand up does.

Ooni sells the same idea at 12 inches as the Koda 12 — same fuel, same ignition, same published peak temperature. The 16 is what you buy when a personal pizza stopped being the point. It is also, on the fifteen listings this site tracks, the only oven publishing a 16-inch capacity at any price. Every other one states 12 inches, 14, a rectangle, or nothing. If a whole pizza is the requirement, the shortlist here is one oven long.

Koda 1616"Piezano XL14"Koda 12 / Karu 1212"
Pizza diameters as published in each listing's own Size field, read 29 August 2026, drawn to scale. Circle diameter is the stated number, so the areas are true to each other: about 201 square inches for the 16-inch stone, 154 for the 14 and 113 for the 12. The Koda 16 is the only listing of the fifteen here that publishes a 16-inch capacity. The Gozney Roccbox publishes no pizza diameter at all — its Size field carries exterior dimensions and its Capacity field reads "16 ounces".

Why the money is not buying heat

On the 29 August 2026 snapshot the Koda 16 sits at $498.00 and the Karu 12 at $248.95 — a gap of $249.05, near enough to a second oven. The honest question on a page like this one is what that buys, and the answer is not temperature.

Both ovens advertise 950 °F. The Koda 16 states it twice and agrees with itself: the product title says 950°F and the structured Temperature Range field says 950 °F. The Karu 12 makes the same headline claim in its title while its Temperature Range field reads 500 °C, which is 932 °F — a disagreement the Karu 12 review takes apart in detail. Eighteen degrees at the top of a 950-degree scale is not a difference you can shop on.

So the two land in the same place on the only spec this category advertises on. What separates them is stone diameter and what you do to get the fire lit: the Koda 16 has a dial and a spark, the Karu 12 has wood, charcoal and a burner sold separately. Ooni Karu vs Koda walks that fork properly.

The durable version, which survives any price move: the Karu’s price buys you fuel choice, the Koda 16’s buys you area and a knob. Neither buys you a hotter oven. If you have been reading temperature specs to decide between them, you have been reading the wrong row.

Ooni's published peak for the Koda 16950 °F
400 °F1000 °F

Usable. Neapolitan territory — the 60-second bake the listing advertises.

Plotted at 950 °F, the figure in Ooni's structured Temperature Range field, which the product title repeats. The Karu 12 at half the price plots inside the width of this marker. That is the point of the figure: the band is where both Ooni ovens live, so peak temperature cannot be what the extra money is for. Not measured by this site.

SpecOoni Koda 16Ooni Karu 12Gozney Roccbox
Price (snapshot)$498.00$248.95$399.00
Fuelgas, propanecharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, wood
Max temp950 °F932 °FNot stated
PowerNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (1,254)4.6 (644)4.7 (1,905)
Bought last month400+900+Not badged
The 16-inch gas Ooni against its own best-selling multi-fuel sibling and the premium portable. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon's own, captured 29 August 2026, and they move. Three rows need reading carefully. The Karu's fuel row lists gas because its listing does, not because a burner is included. "Not badged" for the Roccbox means Amazon showed no sales badge, which is not the same as no sales. And the Power row is the odd one: the propane-only oven is the only one of the three publishing a wattage.

What the listing publishes

The Koda 16’s specification block is unusually complete for this category — 31 fields, against listings elsewhere on this site that publish five. Ooni states an oven of 25 by 23.2 by 14.7 inches at 18.2 kg, about 40 lb. It is worth sitting with that number. The Karu 12, with a chimney on top, is 12 kg. The Koda 16 is half as heavy again as the oven it is usually compared with. Whatever “portable” means on this listing, it is a two-hands, one-trip object.

In the box: a gas hose and a 28 mBar regulator, per the Included Components field and the feature bullets. The last bullet is the one to read twice — propane only, not compatible with natural gas. If you were planning to plumb this into a patio gas line, this is not the oven, and the listing says so plainly rather than burying it.

Two fields do not survive scrutiny, and showing them is more useful than quietly cleaning them up. Wattage reads 1450 watts on an oven that burns propane and has no mains cord. The listing offers no explanation of what 1,450 watts describes, and our spec table carries it because the number is above the threshold at which this site discards obvious junk — the Roccbox’s wattage field reads 1, which is not. Treat the row as a fact about the listing rather than a fact about the oven.

The second is the shell. The Material field says Stainless Steel, the Finish Type field says Powdered Stainless Steel, and the second feature bullet says powder coated carbon steel. Those are three descriptions of one object on one page. Carbon steel and stainless steel are not the same material and do not behave the same way over five winters outdoors, which makes this a worse contradiction than it first looks.

The cleaner numbers, all Ooni’s claims: instant gas ignition, 20 minutes to temperature, a 60-second bake, automatic shut-off. The listing ranks #3 in Outdoor Ovens and #15,151 in Patio, Lawn & Garden; the Roccbox sits at #34 in that same Outdoor Ovens subcategory, which makes those two directly comparable. The Karu 12 is ranked in a different subcategory entirely, so its number is not.

The one spec nobody mentions, and it is this oven’s

This site read the Warranty Description field on all fifteen listings it tracks. Nine publish nothing at all. Five publish a single year, in three different phrasings — “1 Year”, “1 year manufacturer”, “One Year Mfg. Limited”. One publishes more than that, and it is this one: “1 year as standard, 5 years when registered at Ooni.com”.

That is the only cover above twelve months in this category as Amazon presents it, and it is almost never part of the conversation. Reviews argue about temperature, which every oven here claims to win, and ignore the one field where a product is alone.

Read the wording carefully, because the listing gives it twice and not identically. The spec field says five years when registered. The feature bullet says Ooni will extend the warranty by 5 years when you register within 60 days, and calls the whole thing a voluntary manufacturer’s warranty. Whether that lands at five years or six is not resolved, and the 60-day window appears only in the bullet. Register the thing the week it arrives.

One caution keeps this honest: the listing does not state what the extended cover includes, and the durability complaints below are mostly about the pizza stone. A warranty that excludes a consumable stone would not touch the most common failure buyers describe. The listing does not say either way, so neither will we.

Ooni Koda 16
If a whole pizza is the requirement

Ooni Koda 16

16-inch stone, propane only, 950 °F in Ooni's own spec field, 20 minutes to temperature. The only listing here publishing more than a year of warranty — 5 years if you register within 60 days.

View on Amazon

$498.00 · 1,254 reviews

What buyers report

The Koda 16 carries 1,254 Amazon reviews at 4.6 stars, and Amazon’s topic extraction pulls eight themes from them across 217 mentions. That is the deepest corpus of any Ooni oven this site tracks, and the shape of it is more interesting than the star average suggests: five topics lean positive, two lean negative, and one is split.

The split one is the one to read. Amazon files it as heat output, 32 mentions, 15 positive against 17 negative, and its summary of the complaint is that the oven cooks very hot with very little temperature control. That is a real tension with the reason people buy gas. The dial gets the oven lit without a fire to tend; it does not make the oven a thermostat.

The other one worth your attention is durability, 10 of its 14 mentions negative, and largely about the stone cracking. Fourteen mentions out of 1,254 reviews is thin evidence and should be read as a flag rather than a verdict. It is also, precisely, the thing the five-year warranty would be for — which is why the paragraph above about what that warranty covers is not pedantry.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 16patterns across 1,254 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Pizza quality is the largest topic and the most one-sided — 48 mentions, 44 positive against 4 negative.whatever else is contested, the thing it exists to do is not
  • Mixed: Heat output is the one topic Amazon labels mixed, and it is the only topic where negatives outnumber positives on a large count: 32 mentions, 15 positive to 17 negative, with Amazon summarising the complaint as the oven cooking very hot but offering very little temperature control.the dial is not the thermostat a gas appliance implies
  • Complaint: Durability runs 4 positive to 10 negative across 14 mentions, and Amazon's description of the topic names the stone breaking or cracking after a few uses, plus a knob loosening after a year of light use.small corpus, but it is the topic the extended warranty would matter for, and the listing does not state what that warranty covers
  • Praised: Heating speed draws 35 mentions, 30 positive to 5 negative — but Amazon's summary of that topic describes bakes of five to six minutes, where the listing's own headline claim is 60 seconds.buyers are pleased and still slower than the marketing, which is worth knowing before you plan a party
  • Complaint: Learning curve is the second negative-leaning topic, 3 positive to 8 negative across 11 mentions.gas removes fire-tending, not the skill of launching and turning a pizza
  • Praised: Entertaining is the only topic in the corpus with no negative side at all — 23 mentions, all 23 positive, and Amazon ties it to family cooking nights and backyard parties.the argument for a bigger stone in one sentence

1,254 reviews and 8 extracted topics totalling 217 mentions, read 29 August 2026. Every total above is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates above a thousand and misparses — a real risk on a corpus this size, though in the event all eight topics land under a thousand and the two agree. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus; nothing is quoted from an individual review, and none of it comes from this site cooking on the oven, which we have not done. The star rating is Amazon's, not ours.

What it gives up

Wood flavour. Permanently. This is the plainest limitation on the page and the one worth being blunt about. The Koda 16 burns propane and there is no attachment, no accessory and no upgrade path that changes it — unlike the Karu, where fuel is a purchasing decision, here it is the design. If the smell of a wood fire is part of what you are imagining, this oven will never do it, and no amount of technique gets you there. Read the Karu 12 review instead, or the wood-fired oven guide if you want the wider field.

Natural gas. Propane bottles only, with a 28 mBar regulator in the box and an explicit statement on the listing that it is not compatible with natural gas. That rules it out of a fixed outdoor kitchen already plumbed for gas.

Fine temperature control, according to buyers. The mixed review topic above is the counterweight to the gas convenience argument, and it is not a small topic. Gas buys you a fast, repeatable start. It does not appear to buy you a controllable oven, and the gas pizza oven guide is where that trade-off gets weighed across brands rather than for one model.

Portability, in any meaningful sense. At 18.2 kg and 25 inches deep this is a thing you move across a patio, not into a car boot without planning. The Karu 12 at 12 kg is a different proposition to lift.

A specification block you can lean on entirely. Better than most here, but the wattage row describes nothing and the shell is three materials depending on which sentence you read.

Who should buy something else

Anyone who wants live fire. The Ooni Karu 12 burns wood and charcoal out of the box, matches the Koda 16’s 4.6-star average across 644 reviews, and carries a 900+ monthly sales badge against this oven’s 400+ — it outsells the bigger oven more than two to one at half the price. It is a 12-inch oven, and its gas burner is a separate purchase, both of which matter. But if flavour is the goal, the size argument on this page does not apply to you.

Anyone cooking for one or two. The 78% area advantage is only an advantage if you use it. A 12-inch oven weighs less, stores more easily and costs less, and the honest answer for a couple making a pizza on a Friday is that the cheaper oven is fine. The under-$500 shortlist is the better starting point than this page.

Anyone weighing build over size. The Gozney Roccbox is the other end of this market — 4.7 stars across 1,905 reviews, the highest rating and deepest corpus of the three in the table, and 21.98 kg of oven. Its listing publishes no pizza diameter and no peak temperature, so a straight spec comparison is not available. Ooni vs Gozney covers what can actually be compared.

Anyone without outdoor space. A propane oven is not a balcony appliance in most buildings and is not an indoor appliance anywhere. The electric pizza oven guide is where that search should start.

For everyone else, the Koda 16 is a straightforward recommendation with its reasoning corrected. It is not the hottest oven here — nothing is, they all claim the same ceiling. It is the one that makes a pizza you cut into slices rather than eat like a plate, from a brand that is alone in this category in publishing more than a year of cover on it. Register it inside 60 days.

Where this leaves you

A whole pizza, a dial, and the longest published warranty here

  • 16-inch stone — the only listing of the fifteen here publishing that capacity. About 78% more area than a 12-inch oven.
  • 950 °F in Ooni's structured spec field and its title, the same headline figure as the half-price Karu 12.
  • Warranty stated as 1 year standard, 5 years when registered at Ooni.com within 60 days. Every other listing here publishes one year or nothing.
  • Propane only, 28 mBar regulator and hose in the box, explicitly not compatible with natural gas.
  • 1,254 reviews at 4.6 stars — but heat output splits 15 positive to 17 negative on temperature control.

Amazon's price, rating and sales badge, read 29 August 2026. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.

Ooni Koda 16
Ooni

Koda 16

$498.00

View on Amazon

400+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASIN B085LGV57D, with comparison figures for B0CHS69P48 and B0D6PQJ2PF from the same snapshot and a warranty-field survey across all fifteen listings this site tracks. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon’s own and change without notice. Nothing on this page states what Ooni’s extended warranty covers, because the listing does not. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.