Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Review · updated 29 August 2026

Ooni Karu 12: the fuel it does not come with

The Karu 12 is the best-selling oven on this site and the cheapest door into multi-fuel cooking. Buy it if you want to burn wood or charcoal and you are willing to tend a fire. Do not buy it expecting to turn a knob: the Ooni Gas Burner is sold separately, in Ooni’s own words on the listing, and once you add it the Karu is no longer the cheap one.

The thing nobody says clearly

“Multi-fuel” is the Karu 12’s whole pitch. It is in the product title. It is in the model name. And it is true in the sense that the oven can, over its lifetime, burn three things. It is not true in the sense a shopper reads it, which is that all three arrive in the box.

Here is the listing’s own sentence, from the second feature bullet, read 29 August 2026: fire it up with wood or charcoal straight out of the box, or use with the Ooni Gas Burner attachment (sold separately) to cook with gas. Ooni is not hiding this. It is stated plainly, one clause deep, in a bullet whose headline is about cooking a pizza in sixty seconds. Almost nobody reads to the clause.

The rest of the listing does not help. The structured specification table gives Power Source: Gas-Powered for an oven that ships as a wood and charcoal burner, and under special features it gives “Fuel versatility (gas, wood or coal)” with no asterisk at all. Two fields in Amazon’s own spec block say gas. One sentence in the marketing copy says gas costs extra. Both are on the same page.

That contradiction reaches this site too, and it is worth showing rather than quietly cleaning up. The fuel row in the table below reads charcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood for the Karu 12, because those are the words the listing itself uses. Our own data pipeline believed the listing. So will a buyer.

Why this changes the Koda comparison

The comparison almost everyone makes is Karu 12 against Koda 12. Same brand, same 12-inch ceiling, same portable format, and on the 29 August 2026 snapshot the Karu lands $50.00 below the Koda — $248.95 against $298.95. Read like that, the Karu does more for less, and the decision looks obvious.

It is not a like-for-like comparison. The Koda 12 is a gas oven and the gas is the oven; there is no second purchase, because there is nothing to attach. The Karu 12 at that price is a wood and charcoal oven. To make it do the thing the Koda does out of the box you buy the burner, and whatever the burner costs on the day, it comes off the $50.00 gap first.

This site has not scraped the burner’s listing, so you will not find a number for it here. That is deliberate: guessing it would be exactly the kind of invented spec the rest of this page is complaining about. Look it up before you buy, and do the subtraction yourself, because the answer decides the purchase.

The durable version of the point survives any price move. The Karu 12’s advertised price buys you live fire. The Koda 12’s advertised price buys you a knob. If a knob is what you actually want, you are looking at the wrong oven, and the Karu vs Koda comparison is the page that takes that apart properly.

There is a version of this where the Karu still wins on gas, and it is worth naming fairly. If you want both fuels eventually, one Karu plus a burner is one oven that does two jobs; a Koda plus a wood oven is two ovens. Buying into multi-fuel in stages is a real strategy. Buying into it by accident is not.

Karu 12900+Koda 16400+Koda 1250+
Amazon's "bought in past month" badge for three Ooni ovens, read 29 August 2026. Circle diameter is drawn in proportion to the badge number itself, not its area. The Karu 12 outsells its own gas-only twin roughly eighteen to one on these badges, and outsells the larger Koda 16 more than two to one — despite having fewer reviews than either. Badge numbers are Amazon's, rounded by Amazon, and they move.

The best-selling oven here, and it is not close

Of the fifteen ovens and accessories this site tracks, the Karu 12 carries the highest sales badge Amazon shows: 900+ bought in the past month. The Koda 16, which costs roughly twice as much and has nearly double the reviews, badges 400+. The Koda 12 — the direct rival, the same size, fifty dollars dearer — badges 50+.

Review counts tell the opposite story, and the gap between the two signals is the interesting part. The Karu 12 has 644 reviews against the Koda 12’s 1,132 and the Koda 16’s 1,254. Reviews accumulate over a listing’s whole life; the sales badge is a snapshot of one month. A listing with fewer reviews and a much larger badge is one that is selling harder now than it has historically. Ooni also holds the buy box directly here — the listing shows one seller, Ooni USA, and an Amazon’s Choice badge.

Both figures are Amazon’s, not ours, and neither is a quality measurement. A badge counts purchases, and purchases happen before anyone has cooked anything. What the badge does establish is that the multi-fuel-at-the-lower-price framing is working on a lot of people, which is precisely why the sold-separately clause is worth a paragraph rather than a footnote.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 12Gozney Roccbox
Price (snapshot)$248.95$298.95$399.00
Fuelcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, propanegas, wood
Max temp932 °F950 °FNot stated
PowerNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (644)4.4 (1,132)4.7 (1,905)
Bought last month900+50+Not badged
The Karu 12 against the gas-only Ooni at the same 12-inch size and the premium end of the portable market. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon's own, captured 29 August 2026, and they move. Two rows need reading carefully: the Karu's fuel row lists gas and propane because the listing does, not because the burner is included; and "Not badged" for the Roccbox means Amazon did not show a sales badge on that listing, which is not the same as no sales.

What the listing actually publishes

Peak temperature is the number this whole category advertises on, and the Karu 12’s listing publishes it twice, in two units, with two different answers. The product title says 950 °F. The structured Temperature Range field says 500 °C, which converts to 932 °F. We are not going to pick one. Both are Ooni’s numbers on Ooni’s own listing, eighteen degrees apart, and the honest reading is that the title rounds to a friendlier figure. Our table carries 932 because that is the value stated in a field meant to hold a specification.

The rest of the spec block is more solid than that makes it sound. Ooni states an oven of 31.5 by 15.8 by 30.3 inches — a tall object once the chimney is on, not a countertop box — at 12 kg, which the marketing copy independently gives as 26.4 lb. Those two agree, which is more than temperature manages. Capacity is 12 inches. Materials are aluminium and stainless steel. Warranty is stated as one year, manufacturer limited, with Amazon’s usual 30-day return window on top. The listing ranks #571 in Outdoor Cooking and #8,519 in Patio, Lawn & Garden.

One field is simply broken. Under Included Components, the Karu 12’s listing reads Rawlings Bat — a baseball bat, in the box, with a pizza oven. It is Amazon field corruption rather than anything Ooni intended, and the only reason to mention it is the lesson: structured listing fields are typed in by humans and are wrong often enough that a page built on them without checking will be wrong too. It is the same failure mode as Power Source reading Gas-Powered.

Where 932 °F lands for pizza932 °F
400 °F1000 °F

Usable. Neapolitan territory — the 60-to-90-second bake the listing advertises.

Plotted at 932 °F, the figure in Ooni's structured Temperature Range field (500 °C). The 950 °F in the product title sits so close that on this scale the two numbers are inside the width of the marker — which is the point. The gap between Ooni's two published figures does not change what the oven can cook. Neither number is measured by this site.

Ooni Karu 12
If live fire is the reason you want it

Ooni Karu 12

Wood and charcoal out of the box, 12-inch stone, 15 minutes to temperature by Ooni's own claim. The gas burner is a separate purchase — check its price before you decide this is the cheaper oven.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

What buyers report

The Karu 12 has 644 Amazon reviews at 4.6 stars, and Amazon’s topic extraction pulls eight themes out of them. That is a corpus big enough to say something with, unlike most of this category. The shape of it is lopsidedly positive: seven of the eight topics lean praise, and the sole exception splits down the middle.

The exception is the one worth your attention, because it is about fire. Amazon files it as “burning options”, twelve mentions, six positive and six negative, and the negative half is about the flame going out and food charring on the outside. That is what tending a live fire looks like when it goes wrong, and it is the tax you pay for the flavour topic being the only one in the corpus with zero complaints. A gas oven trades the second away to avoid the first.

What buyers report — Ooni Karu 12patterns across 644 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the biggest topic in the corpus by a wide margin — 91 mentions, 84 positive against 7 negative.the strongest positive ratio of the eight topics Amazon pulled out
  • Praised: Heating speed draws 41 mentions, 31 positive to 10 negative, and Amazon's summary of that topic puts warm-up at about 15 minutes with bakes of one to one and a half minutes — the same figures the listing advertises.roughly a quarter of that topic still leans negative, so it is not unanimous
  • Mixed: Burning options is the one topic Amazon labels mixed, and it splits exactly even at 6 positive and 6 negative across 12 mentions, with the negative side describing the flame cutting out and food charring on the outside.twelve mentions is thin, so read it as a flag to watch rather than a fault
  • Praised: Value for money runs 26 positive to 9 negative across 35 mentions, and Amazon's own description of that topic names the gas adapter as something a buyer thought worth investing in.the separate burner turns up inside the value conversation, not outside it
  • Praised: Flavour is the only topic with no negative side at all — 24 mentions, all 24 positive.consistent with live fire being the reason to pick this over a gas-only oven

644 reviews and 8 extracted topics, read 29 August 2026. Every total above is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates above a thousand and misparses — all eight topics here are under a thousand so the field happens to agree, but the computed total is the one we trust anywhere. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus; nothing is quoted from an individual review, and none of it comes from this site cooking on the oven, which we have not done.

What it gives up

Twelve inches, permanently. The stone takes a 12-inch pizza and that is the ceiling. It is the standard home size and most people never want more, but if you are cooking for a table of six you will be cooking six times, and the four-inch step up to a 16-inch oven is a bigger practical difference than it sounds.

A fire needs attention. Wood and charcoal do not hold a set point. The listing’s own claim is 15 minutes to temperature, and after that the oven does what the fuel does — which is the whole content of the mixed review topic above. If the appeal of an outdoor oven to you was that it would be simpler than the kitchen, this is the oven that is not.

It is not small. At 30.3 inches tall on the listing’s own figures it is a chimney-topped object that needs somewhere to live, and at 26.4 lb it is carryable rather than light. The legs fold and the chimney comes off, which is the portability claim; treat it as boot-of-a-car portable, not backpack portable. The portable pizza oven guide covers what genuinely travels.

The specification you would most like to trust is the shakiest. Peak temperature disagrees with itself, power source is wrong, and the included-components field lists sporting goods. None of that makes the oven worse. It does mean that if a single number is going to decide your purchase, this listing is not where you should settle it.

Who should buy something else

Anyone who wants gas and only gas. Buying a Karu 12 plus a burner to arrive at a gas oven is the long way round to something the Koda 12 already is. Its 4.4-star average sits below the Karu’s 4.6, which is worth weighing, but it needs no attachment and no fire-lighting. The Karu vs Koda page is the direct version of that argument.

Anyone who wants the oven to hold heat rather than sprint. The Gozney Roccbox is the other end of this market — 4.7 stars across 1,905 reviews, the highest rating and the deepest corpus of the three in the table, at a price that reflects it. Its listing lists gas and wood as well, and after the Karu the obvious question to ask is which of those ships in the box; that is exactly the ground the Ooni vs Gozney comparison covers.

Anyone without outdoor space. A wood and charcoal oven with a chimney is not a balcony appliance in most buildings and is not an indoor appliance anywhere. Electric is the category that solves this, and the electric pizza oven guide is where to start rather than here.

Anyone who arrived from a search for a griddle-based oven. If you got here comparing against a Blackstone conversion, read what a Blackstone pizza oven actually is first — the answer changes the shortlist.

For everyone else, the Karu 12 is a straightforward recommendation with one condition attached. It is a well-rated live-fire oven at the accessible end of the category, selling faster than anything else here, from a listing that tells you the truth about gas if you read the whole bullet. Read the whole bullet.

Where this leaves you

The cheapest way into live fire, with one thing to check first

  • Burns wood or charcoal out of the box; the Ooni Gas Burner is sold separately, per the listing.
  • Ooni's title claims 950 °F and its specification field says 500 °C — both are Ooni's numbers, not ours.
  • 900+ bought in the past month, the highest sales badge of any oven this site tracks.
  • 644 reviews at 4.6 stars, with flavour the one topic drawing no complaints at all.
  • Takes a 12-inch pizza. Ooni states 15 minutes to temperature and a 60-second bake.

Amazon's price, rating and sales badge, read 29 August 2026. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.

Ooni Karu 12
Ooni

Karu 12

$248.95

View on Amazon

900+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASIN B0CHS69P48, with comparison figures for B07PN5R5WY and B0D6PQJ2PF from the same snapshot. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon’s own and change without notice. No price is stated here for the Ooni Gas Burner attachment because this site has not read its listing. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.