Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Comparison · updated 29 August 2026

Blackstone vs Ooni is not the fight it looks like

For almost everyone typing this, the answer is the Ooni. Not because Ooni is beloved, but because there is no Blackstone pizza oven to put opposite it. Blackstone makes griddles. The oven-shaped thing is a third-party hood by Stanbroil that bolts onto a griddle you must already own. If you own that griddle, it is a reasonable add-on. If you do not, the comparison is a dedicated oven against a griddle plus a hood, and it stops being close.

One side of this is missing

Ooni sells ovens. Blackstone sells flat-top propane griddles and, on the pizza side, accessories — peels and tool kits. It does not sell an oven on Amazon, so this cannot be brand against brand.

What people are actually choosing between is the Stanbroil Pizza Oven Attachment for Blackstone 22 & 28 Inch Griddles and a real Ooni. Stanbroil is a separate company making a fitted accessory, the way a case maker is not the phone company. What that attachment is, in detail, is the Blackstone pizza oven guide. This page is about which side you should land on.

Amazon has already filed its verdict

Before any argument about cooking, look at where the retailer that sells all four puts them. Read 29 August 2026, the Koda 16 sits at #3 in Outdoor Ovens and the Koda 12 at #6 in the same chart. The Karu 12 ranks #572 in the far broader Outdoor Cooking category. The Stanbroil attachment appears in Pizza Grilling Stones and does not appear in Outdoor Ovens at all. That is not an opinion about quality — it is a taxonomy agreeing with a physical description. A stone with a lid on it gets shelved next to stones.

The sales badges say something else, and it is the most interesting number here. The Karu 12 carries a 900+ bought in the past month badge — more than double the Koda 16’s 400 and roughly eighteen times the Koda 12’s 50, despite the Koda 12 holding nearly twice the Karu’s lifetime review count. Review counts are history; the badge is now. The Stanbroil carries no badge, which means Amazon did not badge it, not that nobody bought one.

SpecStanbroil Blackstone Pizza Oven AttachmentOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 12Ooni Koda 16
Price (snapshot)$164.99$248.95$298.95$498.00
Fuelgas, propanecharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, propanegas, propane
Max tempNot stated932 °F950 °F950 °F
PowerNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.2 (76)4.6 (644)4.4 (1,132)4.6 (1,254)
Bought last monthNot badged900+50+400+
The attachment against the three Ooni ovens in this set. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon's own, read 29 August 2026, and all of them move. The Koda 16's listing separately publishes "Wattage: 1450 watts" — on a propane oven, which has no meaningful wattage — so the power row reads Not stated rather than repeating a junk field.

The decision is where the heat comes from

Read the Stanbroil listing end to end and there is no burner in it. The features describe a powder-coated steel hood, a stainless base, a removable cordierite stone of 17.3 by 11.8 inches and a built-in temperature gauge. No igniter, no gas inlet, no fuel of its own. Amazon’s structured “Power Source” field says Gas Powered, which is true in the sense that matters least: the gas belongs to the griddle underneath. All of the attachment’s heat arrives up through the griddle plate from below.

An Ooni is built the other way round. The Karu 12’s fuel tray sits inside the chamber and Ooni describes it as delivering a blast of searing flame; the Kodas run a gas flame along one side of the same chamber. Heat reaches the top of the pizza directly, not only through the floor. That is the mechanism behind the 60-second pizza all three Ooni listings advertise, and the attachment has no version of it.

Its own review corpus describes the consequence. Amazon extracts exactly two topics from the attachment, and summarises the negative side of both as heat behaviour — bases cooking while tops do not, and the chamber not holding enough heat to finish toppings. Nothing in that corpus concerns fit or whether the hood sits on the griddle properly.

The second structural limit is the stone. At 17.3 by 11.8 inches it is a rectangle, so a round pizza is capped by the short side at 11.8 inches — fractionally under the Karu 12 and Koda 12 at 12, well under the Koda 16 at 16. Size is not the reason to skip it. The geometry of the heat is.

The arithmetic nobody does

The attachment is not a purchase. It is an upgrade, and it only functions on a 22 or 28-inch Blackstone propane griddle station — the listing names those two widths and no others, and Blackstone sells griddles in other sizes.

That dependency is the whole comparison. If the griddle is already there, the attachment adds pizza to a machine you own. If it is not, the true cost of this side is a griddle plus a hood, for a chamber heated from one direction. Check the table figures live — they are a dated snapshot, not a promise. The recommendation does not rest on them. It rests on one side requiring a second appliance and the other not.

One thing the attachment genuinely wins is storage. The hood is 5.3 inches tall and 7.66 kg, about 17 lb, per its listing, and it goes flat on a shelf. The Koda 12 is 11.7 inches and 20.2 lb; the Koda 16 is 14.7 inches and 18.2 kg, around 40 lb; the Karu 12 stands 30.3 inches with chimney and legs. If your constraint is that there is nowhere to put another object, that is a real argument — and the only one on this side that does not depend on already owning the griddle.

Ooni Karu 12
If you do not already own a Blackstone griddle

Ooni Karu 12

Burns wood or charcoal out of the box; Ooni's gas burner is sold separately. Flame inside the chamber, so heat reaches the top of the pizza. Amazon badges it 900+ bought in the past month.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

How much evidence each side has

Both sides have public review corpora and they are not remotely the same size. Worth seeing before anyone quotes a rating at you.

Stanbroil Blackstone Pizza Oven Attachment76Ooni Karu 12644Ooni Koda 121,132Ooni Koda 161,254
Amazon review counts, drawn to scale, read 29 August 2026. The attachment's 76 reviews are not a small version of the Ooni corpora — they are a different kind of evidence. Amazon's topic extraction pulls two topics and 14 total mentions from the Stanbroil corpus, against 265 mentions across eight topics on the Karu 12 and 443 across eight on the Koda 12. Every total is positive plus negative, never Amazon's mentions field.

Fourteen topic mentions is not a pattern. It is a table of people, and on both topics they split four to three. A 4.2 rating computed from 76 reviews and a 4.6 from 644 are not comparable quantities, and a page that lines them up in a column without saying so is misleading you. Here is what the Ooni corpora, which are large enough to state patterns from, actually contain.

What buyers report — Ooni Karu 12patterns across 644 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic and the most lopsided: 91 mentions, 84 positive against 7 negative.on 644 reviews that is a pattern, not a handful of people
  • Praised: Heating speed runs 41 mentions, 31 positive to 10 negative — the positive side matching Ooni's own claim of about 15 minutes to temperature.a quarter of that topic still reports slower than advertised
  • Praised: Flavor is the only topic with no negative side at all: 24 mentions, 24 positive, 0 negative.consistent with a chamber burning real wood or charcoal
  • Mixed: Burning options splits evenly — 12 mentions, 6 positive to 6 negative — with Amazon summarising it as some owners getting good results and others burning pizzas.a 950 °F chamber punishes a slow hand; that is a skill cost, not a defect
  • Mixed: Value for money runs 35 mentions, 26 positive to 9 negative, and Amazon's summary of it includes owners noting the gas adapter is a further purchase.the multi-fuel claim is true, but gas costs extra

Eight topics, 265 total mentions, computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field — that field abbreviates above a thousand and misparses, and doing the arithmetic everywhere removes the judgement call. Themes summarise the public corpus; they are not quoted from it and not from our own cooking, because this site does not cook on these ovens. Read 29 August 2026.

Where the Ooni case gets weaker

A page that recommends one side and reports no cost is not worth reading. The strongest complaint sits on the Koda 12, whose Heat distribution topic runs 35 mentions and splits 8 positive to 27 negative — the most negative-leaning topic on any of these four listings. Amazon summarises it as pizzas burning even on the lowest setting, and heat escaping through the mouth of the oven.

The Koda 16 has two of its own. Heat output runs 32 mentions at 15 positive to 17 negative, with Amazon noting it cooks extremely hot but offers very little temperature control. Durability is smaller but worse in direction: 14 mentions, 4 positive to 10 negative, with owners reporting stones cracking within a few uses. Its learning-curve topic splits 3 to 8.

So the honest shape is this. The attachment’s complaint is that heat only comes from below, which is a design fact you cannot practise your way out of. The Ooni complaint is that a 950 °F chamber with one flame is fierce and uneven, which you largely can — turning the pizza is the skill, and it is why the Karu 12’s Burning options topic splits evenly rather than badly. One of those is a ceiling. The other is a first weekend.

Which Ooni, if it is going to be one

The Karu 12 is where most people arriving from this search should start. It burns wood or charcoal straight out of the box — the thing a griddle attachment structurally cannot do — and it leads the badge. One caveat the marketing glides over: it is sold as multi-fuel, but running it on gas needs Ooni’s burner attachment, which the listing states is sold separately, and its own review corpus contains owners saying exactly that.

The Koda 16 is the one to reach for if the reason you wanted a griddle-mounted oven was surface area. Sixteen inches is the widest stone here by some distance, it is the only oven in this set whose listing publishes a real warranty term — one year as standard, five when registered with Ooni — and it is the highest-ranked of the four in Outdoor Ovens. It is also the heaviest, and the one whose corpus complains about cracked stones.

The Koda 12 is the odd one out: gas only, 12 inches, the longest review history of the three and by far the smallest current badge. Whether the Karu’s fuel flexibility is worth the ash is the whole question, and we take it apart in Ooni Karu vs Koda. If you have decided you never want to light anything, start with the gas pizza oven guide; if budget is the binding constraint, the pizza ovens under $500 shortlist is where this market gets interesting.

A note on trusting any of these specs

Peak temperature is the number this category advertises on, and Ooni publishes the same claim three ways across three listings read on the same day. The Koda 16’s structured field reads 950 °F. The Koda 12’s reads 9.5E+2 °F — the identical number, mangled into scientific notation. The Karu 12’s reads 500 °C, which is 932 °F, while its own title says 950 °F. One brand, one claim, three encodings and an eighteen-degree internal disagreement.

The Stanbroil publishes no peak temperature anywhere — not the title, not the features, not the spec table. It ships a gauge so you can find out yourself. Treat any page that gives you a confident temperature for it as invented.

Seller-filled fields are worse. The Karu 12’s “Included Components” on the day we read it said Rawlings Bat. The Stanbroil’s said Grill. The Koda 16 declares 1,450 watts on an oven that runs on propane. None of this is conspiracy; it is busy people filling in forms. It is also why this site reports what a listing states and says plainly when it states nothing.

The short version

Buy the attachment if you already own a 22 or 28-inch Blackstone, already cook on it, and want to find out whether backyard pizza is a hobby you keep. It stores flat and uses fuel you have plumbed in already. Expect a base that browns faster than the top, and work around it.

Buy an Ooni in every other case. If you do not own the griddle, if the pizza in your head is the 60-second one with a blistered top, or if you want to cook with wood, the attachment has no mechanism to give you those and no technique will supply one. That is not a knock on Stanbroil, which built a competent accessory and files it as one. It is a knock on the search result that put the two side by side.

Where this leaves you

For most people asking this question, this is the answer

  • Wood or charcoal out of the box; Ooni's gas burner is a separate purchase.
  • Flame inside the chamber, so the top of the pizza gets heat the attachment cannot deliver.
  • Amazon badges it 900+ bought last month — more than the Koda 16 and Koda 12 combined.
  • 84 of 91 mentions on its largest review topic are positive, across 644 reviews.

Amazon's price, rating and sales badge, read 29 August 2026, and they change without notice. We do not cook on these ovens and do not claim to.

Ooni Karu 12
Ooni

Karu 12

$248.95

View on Amazon

900+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASINs B0BL7F7RLB, B0CHS69P48, B07PN5R5WY and B085LGV57D. Review-topic totals are computed as positive plus negative mentions. Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon’s own, not ours, and change without notice. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.