Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Best gas pizza ovens

Gas is the fuel for people who will actually cook on a Tuesday. Turn a dial, wait a quarter of an hour, cook. Nothing to split, nothing to feed, nothing to sweep out afterwards. But the review data complicates the easy story, and it is worth leading with rather than burying. On the Ooni Koda 16 — the default answer in this category — the most contested topic on the whole listing is Heat output, at 15 positive against 17 negative, and Amazon’s own summary of that topic says the oven has “very little temperature control”.

That is the page in one line. Gas is convenient, not easy. What you buy is the removal of fire-tending. What you get in exchange is a fixed hot spot you cannot move, and you learn to work around it.

The trade is fire-tending for a hot spot

A gas burner sits in one place and fires in one direction. Ooni puts it across the back of the Koda 16; Gozney’s Tread listing advertises a “lateral gas burner” down one side. Either way the flame does not move, so one part of the stone is always hotter than the rest, and the only variable you control is how hard the burner runs. That is the whole mechanism behind the complaint.

The Koda 16’s corpus carries two more topics that follow directly from it. Durability runs 4 positive against 10 negative, almost entirely on the cooking stone cracking in the first few uses. Learning curve is 3 against 8, and it exists as a named topic at all. The multi-fuel Ooni Karu 12 — the oven you have to light and feed — carries neither topic on its listing, and its Heat output topic runs 16 positive against 6 negative rather than 15 against 17.

Read those two side by side and the easy story inverts. The oven that made you tend a fire has a corpus that is calmer about heat than the oven that replaced the fire with a dial. Convenience moved the difficulty; it did not remove it.

None of that makes it a bad oven. Pizza quality on the same listing is 44 positive of 48, Heating speed 30 of 35, Entertaining 23 of 23. It makes it an oven with a shape you should know before you spend on it. Buy a spare stone, turn the pizza every twenty seconds, and stop expecting a thermostat.

SpecOoni Koda 16Gozney RoccboxOoni Koda 12Solo Stove Pi PrimeGozney Tread
Preheat the maker publishes20 minutesNot stated15 minutes15 minutes15 minutes
Where the peak temp comes from950 °F, spec fieldNot stated950 °F, spec fieldNot stated950 °F, product title
“Warranty Description” field1 year as standard, 5 years when registered at Ooni.comNo such fieldNo such fieldNo such fieldNo such field
“Control Type” fieldButton ControlNot statedKnob ControlNot statedNot stated
“Installation Type” fieldNot statedFreestandingNot statedCountertopCountertop
Amazon returns30-day refund / replacementNon-returnable — hazardous-materials shippingFREE 30-day refund/replacementFREE 30-day refund/replacementNon-returnable — hazardous-materials shipping
Surface it stands on580 sq in409 sq in378 sq in420 sq in241 sq in
Published weight40.1 lb48.5 lb20.2 lbNot stated29.7 lb
Rank in Outdoor Ovens#3#34#6#22#35
Each listing's own fields, read from Amazon on 29 August 2026. Preheat is the manufacturer's own bullet figure, which its "60-second pizza" headline excludes. Surface area is computed from published measurements — for the Roccbox from its Size field, because its "Item Dimensions" field reads 1″ × 1″ × 1″. Weights are converted where the listing published kilograms.

Three things fall out of that table, and none of them is price. The first: 4 of the five publish no warranty field at all. The Koda 16 is the only oven on this page — and the only listing anywhere on this site — that states more than a year in a structured field: “1 year as standard, 5 years when registered at Ooni.com”. Ooni runs the same feature bullet on the Koda 12, but there it lives only in marketing copy, with no spec field behind it. A bullet and a field are not the same evidence, and we are not going to treat them as one.

The second: 2 of the five cannot be returned. Both Gozneys ship under hazardous-materials rules and Amazon marks them non-returnable outright. The two Oonis and the Solo Stove Pi Prime carry the ordinary 30-day window. Same fuel, same propane hose, opposite outcome if the thing arrives wrong — which on a 48-pound oven is not a small difference.

The third is the wattage row you will not find here. Every one of these publishes no wattage, because a gas oven has no plug and no meaningful wattage. Where the listings fill that field anyway they fill it with nonsense: 1450 watts on the propane Koda 16, 1 on the Roccbox, 50 on the Tread. “Not stated” is the correct reading of that row, not a gap in our data.

“Countertop” is the most dangerous word on these listings

Every oven on this page burns propane, and propane produces carbon monoxide. All five are outdoor ovens. Not a garage with the door up, not a covered patio, not a screened porch. Four of the five are recorded as not indoor-capable from their own titles and item-type fields. The fifth, the Tread, records nothing either way, because its listing states no placement in either field — which is an absence, not a permission.

The problem is that Amazon’s structured fields say something else. The Tread and the Pi Prime both publish “Installation Type: Countertop”. The Roccbox’s field says Freestanding, but its own first feature bullet calls it a “versatile countertop pizza oven” and its fourth says it is “designed for both home and outdoor use”. To anyone reading quickly, countertop means kitchen. On a propane appliance it means a work surface that happens to be outside.

If the oven genuinely has to live indoors, nothing on this page qualifies and no amount of ventilation changes that. The category that can is electric, and even there two of the five are outdoor ovens with a plug.

How much evidence is actually behind each verdict

These five listings carry 1,559 topic mentions between them, and they are not distributed anything like evenly. The Gozney Roccbox holds 712 of them on its own — 1,905 ratings at 4.7★, the largest single-oven corpus anywhere on this site. The Tread holds 31. Both are Gozneys, both are gas, and one of them can support a conclusion.

Ooni Koda 16217Gozney Roccbox712Ooni Koda 12443Solo Stove Pi Prime156Gozney Tread31
Circle AREA is the number of review-topic mentions on each listing, computed as positive plus negative and never read from Amazon's own mentions_count. A circle twice as wide carries four times the evidence. Read 29 August 2026.

Read across all five and one pattern holds. 5 topics in the whole gas set lean net negative, and 4 of them are on the two Ooni ovens. Neither Gozney has a single net-negative topic — the Roccbox across 712 mentions, which is a finding, and the Tread across 31, which is not.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 16patterns across 1,254 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, added up rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports the abbreviation as a bare integer. Every topic here is under 1,000, so the two agree — we compute it the safe way regardless, because the failure is silent when it happens. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

Taken whole, the Koda 16 is legible and still the sensible default for most people buying gas. It sits at #3 in Amazon’s Outdoor Ovens chart, it moves 400+ units a month, it takes a 16-inch pizza where most of this category tops out at 12, and it is the only oven here whose listing publishes a warranty longer than a year. What it does not give you is a temperature you can place. The single-oven write-up is in the Ooni Koda 16 review, and the choice against Ooni’s multi-fuel line is in Karu vs Koda.

Ooni Koda 16
The default, with its shape stated plainly

Ooni Koda 16

16-inch stone, 950 °F in a spec field, a 20-minute preheat and the only warranty field on this page. Heat output is the topic its own reviewers split on, and its stones crack.

View on Amazon

$498.00 · 1,254 reviews

The best-behaved corpus in the category is the one you cannot send back

The Gozney Roccbox holds 4.7★ across 1,905 ratings and does something no other oven here manages: not one of its eight review topics leans negative. On a corpus this size that is a pattern rather than a small-sample artefact. Build quality alone runs 50 positive of 54, on repeated descriptions of a commercial-grade shell.

Two things sit against it, and both are real. It is the heaviest oven on this page at 48.5 pounds — half again the Koda 12 — and it is non-returnable. And it publishes no preheat figure at all, while its own Heat output topic cites owners waiting 30 to 45 minutes to reach temperature. Every other oven here publishes 15 or 20 minutes. The one that stays quiet is the one whose reviewers report the longest wait, which is not a coincidence worth being polite about.

It also publishes no peak temperature in a spec field, so the table above reads “Not stated”. Its feature bullet claims 950 degrees and its reviewers describe reaching 900. Neither of those is a spec field, and we are not going to promote a bullet into one.

What buyers report — Gozney Roccboxpatterns across 1,905 Amazon reviews · 4.7★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, added up rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports the abbreviation as a bare integer. Every topic here is under 1,000, so the two agree — we compute it the safe way regardless, because the failure is silent when it happens. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

If you will cook on it often, accept a longer warm-up, and are not going to change your mind after it arrives, this is the strongest oven in the category on the evidence available. If any of those three is shaky, the non-returnable line makes it the wrong first oven. The full head-to-head is in Ooni vs Gozney, and the single-oven write-up is the Gozney Roccbox review.

Gozney Roccbox
If you will use it weekly and won’t change your mind

Gozney Roccbox

712 topic mentions and not one net-negative topic. Also the heaviest here, with no published preheat, and Amazon marks it non-returnable under hazmat shipping.

View on Amazon

$399.00 · 1,905 reviews

What we would not buy

The Ooni Koda 12, unless 12 inches is the point. It has the same architecture as the Koda 16 in a smaller box, and the smaller box concentrates the problem. Heat distribution is the single most one-sided topic across every gas oven on this page: 27 negative against 8 positive. Ease of use splits 43 to 28. Reliability, 30 to 15. It is the cheaper Ooni and the harder one to cook on.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 12patterns across 1,132 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, added up rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports the abbreviation as a bare integer. Every topic here is under 1,000, so the two agree — we compute it the safe way regardless, because the failure is silent when it happens. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

The Solo Stove Pi Prime, until its listing agrees with itself. Its title says Propane. Its structured “Fuel Type” field says Natural Gas. Those are not interchangeable — different pressure, different orifice — and connecting an oven to the wrong one is not a preference, it is a fault. Its bullets say propane, which suggests the field is the error, but we are not going to resolve a fuel-supply question on a combustion appliance by picking the reading we like. Ask Solo Stove before you buy a hose. Separately, its “PRECISION TEMPERATURE CONTROL” bullet promises “professional-grade precision”, while its own corpus splits Temperature control 13 to 9 and rates Crust quality 1 positive against 4 negative. Detail in the Solo Stove Pi review.

The Gozney Tread, yet. 61 ratings at 4.8★, no negative topic anywhere, 31 topic mentions in total. That is not a clean record, it is an empty one — three or four unhappy owners would reverse it. It is also non-returnable, and its 950 °F comes from the product title rather than a spec field. On the listing’s own published weights it is 39% lighter than the Roccbox, which is more than the 33% Gozney claims in its own bullet; the numbers here happen to favour the product. Give it six months of reviews.

Any of them, if what you want is the flavour. Gas is combustion without smoke, and smoke is the thing wood buyers are paying for. Nothing on this page produces it. That argument gets its own page in gas vs wood-fired.

SpecOoni Koda 16Gozney RoccboxOoni Koda 12Solo Stove Pi PrimeGozney Tread
Price (snapshot)$498.00$399.00$298.95$359.99$499.99
Fuelgas, propanegas, woodgas, propanegas, propanegas, wood
Max temp950 °FNot stated950 °FNot stated950 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field
PowerNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (1,254)4.7 (1,905)4.4 (1,132)4.6 (230)4.8 (61)
Bought last month400+Not badged50+50+Not badged
Amazon snapshot, 29 August 2026; prices and sales figures move. 3 of the five publish no peak temperature in a structured spec field — the Tread's 950 °F is from its product title, and the Roccbox and Pi Prime state one only in feature bullets. Power reads "Not stated" on all five because a gas oven has no wattage; where these listings fill the field they fill it with 1, 50 or 1,450 watts. "Not badged" means Amazon published no bought-last-month figure, which is not the same as no sales.

Who should buy something else

Where this leaves you

Outdoor space, weeknight cooking, eyes open about the hot spot

  • 16-inch stone where most of this category tops out at 12, and 950 °F in a structured spec field rather than a marketing bullet.
  • The only listing on this site publishing more than a year: 1 year as standard, 5 years when registered with Ooni inside 60 days.
  • 20-minute preheat, published by Ooni itself — the figure its 60-second-pizza headline leaves out.
  • Returnable on Amazon's ordinary 30-day window. Both Gozney ovens here are non-returnable under hazmat shipping.
  • Heat output is its most contested topic: 17 negative against 15 positive, and Amazon's summary says 'very little temperature control'.
  • Durability runs 4 positive to 10 negative on stones cracking early. Budget for a spare and treat it as a consumable.
  • Propane means carbon monoxide. Outdoors only — never a garage, a covered patio or a screened porch.

We do not cook on these ovens and never claim to. Preheat figures, warranty text, control and installation fields, dimensions, weights and returns policy come from the manufacturers' own Amazon listings, read 29 August 2026; ratings, review counts, review topics and sales figures are Amazon's.

Ooni Koda 16
Ooni

Koda 16

$498.00

View on Amazon

400+ bought last month

Where a listing publishes nothing — the Roccbox’s preheat, the Pi Prime’s weight, 4 of five warranty fields, 3 of five peak temperatures in a spec field — the tables say so rather than filling the gap. Two claims here contradict something else on the same listing and are reported rather than quietly resolved: the Pi Prime’s propane title against its natural-gas fuel field, and the Koda 16’s “Button Control” field against a feature bullet describing “the turn of a dial”. Our full editorial policy is in about this site.