Best wood-fired pizza ovens
Buy the Ooni Karu 12 if you want to cook over a fire, and buy nothing here if you only want dinner. Its review corpus has a topic called Flavor running 24 positive mentions against zero negative. It also has a topic called Burning options splitting exactly 6 positive to 6 negative. Those are the same fire, described twice by the same owners, and the second number is the one buyers ignore.
Wood is the one argument in this category that survives contact with the evidence. The other claimed advantages — hotter, faster, more authentic — either do not hold or are not published anywhere you can check. Flavour holds. The cost is that you build and tend a fire before every pizza, and about half the owners who write about that are not enjoying it.
The unanimous topic, and the dead-even one
Amazon groups a listing’s reviews into topics and reports how many mentions of each lean positive and how many lean negative. On the Karu 12, across 265 mentions in eight topics, one topic has no dissent at all. It is Flavor: 24 up, zero down. Nothing else on this page is unanimous, and it is not obvious that anything should be — the same corpus argues about preheat, about price and about heat control.
The counterweight is one row further down. Burning options comes to twelve mentions, six positive and six negative, and Amazon’s own description of it covers both sides in one sentence: owners who like the versatility, and owners reporting the flame cutting out and food charring on one side. An exactly balanced topic is unusual enough to be worth stopping on. It says the fire is not a settled pleasure even among people who chose it.
Read the two together and the recommendation writes itself. Wood delivers the one thing it promises, and charges for it in attention, every time, in a way no spec row shows.
flavour or taste mentions per 100 Amazon ratings
The shape of that chart is the finding. The two cheapest wood ovens here have a flavour topic; the two most expensive do not. The Gozney Roccbox has the largest corpus on this page at 1,905 ratings and Amazon published no flavour or taste topic for it at all. That is not a verdict on how a Roccbox pizza tastes. It is a signal about what its owners are doing with it, which the next section explains.
Four ovens can burn wood. Only two arrive ready to
Start with what our data file holds, then read the listings behind it. The fuel row is the trap: it lists every fuel an oven can burn, never what comes in the carton.
| Spec | Ooni Karu 12 | Ooni Karu 2 | Ooni Karu 2 Pro | Gozney Roccbox |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $248.95 | $448.95 | $849.00 | $399.00 |
| Fuel | charcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood | charcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood, wood and gas | charcoal, gas, multi-fuel, wood, wood and gas | gas, wood |
| Max temp | 932 °F | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Power | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.6★ (644) | 4.5★ (209) | 4.4★ (150) | 4.7★ (1,905) |
| Bought last month | 900+ | 100+ | 100+ | Not badged |
Two things in that table deserve more than a glance. The first is the sales row: the Karu 12 carries 900+ bought last month, more than the other three combined, on the smallest price of the four. It is the velocity leader of this whole site, not just this page. The second is that only one of these four publishes a peak temperature in a spec field at all.
And that one contradicts itself. The Karu 12’s “Temperature Range” field reads 500 °C, which is 932 °F; its product title and its feature bullets both say 950 °F. We are not going to resolve that for you, because we cannot — both figures are on the same page of the same listing, published by the same brand, and we have measured neither. Our data file records the spec field and flags the listing as disputed. Treat the difference as noise about a number nobody should be buying on anyway; the gas versus wood comparison works through why peak temperature does not separate these ovens.
🔴 The gas burner is a separate purchase on every Karu
All three Ooni Karu ovens are sold as multi-fuel. On all three, the gas burner that makes them multi-fuel is not included, and each listing says so in different words in a different place. The Karu 12 calls it the Ooni Gas Burner attachment. The Karu 2 calls it “a gas burner”, unnamed. The Karu 2 Pro names a Karu 2 Pro Gas Burner, implying a part specific to that oven. Three phrasings, one structure: wood and charcoal in the box, gas as a second transaction.
We are not going to tell you what that burner costs. There is no listing for it in our data, so any figure here would be invented, and an invented accessory price is exactly the kind of number that quietly turns a $249 oven into a $400 one in a reader’s head. Look it up before you order, and look up the one that matches your model rather than assuming the burners interchange — the Karu 2 Pro listing goes out of its way to name its own.
| Spec | Ooni Karu 12 | Ooni Karu 2 | Ooni Karu 2 Pro | Gozney Roccbox |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fuel in the box | Wood or charcoal, “straight out the box” | Wood or charcoal in the fuel tray | Wood or charcoal “right out of the box” | Gas — see the Included Components row |
| Gas, in the listing’s own words | “use with the Ooni Gas Burner attachment (sold separately) to cook with gas” | “attach a gas burner (sold separately)” | “use gas with the Ooni Karu 2 Pro Gas Burner – sold separately” | “optional wood burner attachment” |
| “Included Components” field | “Rawlings Bat” | “Pizza oven and stone” | Not stated | “ROCCBOX GAS BURNING BLACK” |
| Temperature as a spec | “Temperature Range” = 500 °C | No temperature field | No temperature field | No temperature field |
| Temperature as marketing | Title and bullets both say 950 °F | Bullet says “top temperature of 950 °F” | Bullet says “reaches 950°F (500°C) in 15 minutes” | Bullet says “60 SECONDS AT 950 DEGREES” |
| Time to temperature | “ready to cook in 15 minutes” | “in as little as 15 minutes” | “in 15 minutes” | No preheat time in the bullets |
| “Item Weight” field | 12 kg; the bullet says 26.4 lb | 15.3 kg | 15.3 kg | 21.98 kg |
| Warranty stated | One Year Mfg. Limited | 1 Year | Not stated | Not stated |
| Best Sellers Rank | #8,531 in Patio, Lawn & Garden | #75,875 in Patio, Lawn & Garden | #71,628 in Kitchen & Dining | #94,113 in Patio, Lawn & Garden |
The Included Components row is where a buyer would sensibly check what arrives, and it is close to useless. The Karu 12 fills it with “Rawlings Bat” — a baseball bat, which is not in the box and was never going to be. The Karu 2 says “Pizza oven and stone”, which is at least true and still does not answer the burner question. The Karu 2 Pro leaves it blank. Only the Roccbox actually names what you get, and what it names is gas.
Two quieter findings sit in that table. The Karu 2 and the Karu 2 Pro publish the same 15.3 kg item weight despite the Pro being the larger 16-inch oven, so one of them is wrong. And the Karu 2 Pro, the most expensive oven here, publishes no warranty at all, while the cheapest publishes one. Price buys size and a glass door. It does not buy a better-documented listing.
The Roccbox is a gas oven that can take wood
This is the inverse of the Karu structure and it catches people out. Gozney’s own feature bullet describes an “optional wood burner attachment” — optional is their word, not ours. The Included Components field and the Item Type Name both read “ROCCBOX GAS BURNING BLACK”. So the listing that reads “gas, wood” in our fuel row is the one arriving set up for gas, and the wood is the upgrade.
We will not assert what ships in any particular Roccbox bundle — sellers change bundles, and listing text is the only thing we can stand behind. But if you are buying a Roccbox for wood, check that with the seller before you order, not after. The review corpus is consistent with most owners never doing it: no flavour topic and no taste topic across 712 topic mentions.
- Praised: Flavor is a topic of its own and runs 24 positive against zero negative — every mention Amazon grouped under it leans the same way. — unanimity is rare in a corpus this size, and it lands on the exact thing wood is bought for
- Mixed: Burning options splits exactly 6 positive to 6 negative, its description covering both the versatility owners like and the flame cutting out and food charring on one side. — the fire is the feature and the chore in a single topic, and owners are split down the middle
- Mixed: Heat output runs 16 positive to 6 negative, and its description says managing wood and charcoal takes practice, with pizzas that look done outside before they are cooked through. — this is the specific way a first wood-fired pizza goes wrong
- Mixed: Heating speed is 31 positive to 10 negative of 41, with about 15 minutes attached to it — the same figure the listing's own bullet claims. — roughly a quarter of the people who raise preheat are not satisfied with it
- Praised: Performance is the largest topic at 91 mentions, 84 of them positive, and its description reports pizzas cooking in one to one and a half minutes.
Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, computed rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports the abbreviation as a single digit. Every topic here is under 1,000 and the two figures agree, but the arithmetic is free so we do it everywhere. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and we have not cooked on any of these ovens.

Ooni Karu 12
Wood or charcoal out of the box, a listed 15 minutes to temperature, a unanimous flavour topic, and the highest bought-last-month figure of any oven we track. The gas burner is a separate purchase.
$248.95 · 644 reviews
What you are signing up for
Wood and charcoal need lighting, feeding, and a judgement call about when the stone is ready. There is ash afterwards — the Karu 12’s own bullet sells its fuel tray on “no excess ash to clean”, which is a claim about how much, not a claim that there is none. None of that appears in a spec row, and it is the entire difference between owning one of these and owning a gas oven.
The corpus is specific about how it goes wrong the first few times. Heat output describes managing wood and charcoal as taking practice, and pizzas that look finished outside before they are cooked through. Burning options describes the flame cutting out and charring on one side. Both are learnable; neither is a defect. But if you read that and think “I want pizza, not a hobby”, believe yourself — that is the correct reaction, and best gas pizza ovens is the page you want.
Worth noting where the corpora do not divide neatly. On the Karu 2 Pro, Value for money also lands at exactly 6 positive to 6 negative, so a dead-even topic is not unique to the fire. And the Karu 2’s Ease of use runs 6 positive to 4 negative, which is the same tension in a milder form. Multi-fuel ovens ask something of their owners, and a consistent minority say so.
- Mixed: There is no Flavor topic and no Taste topic, on the largest review corpus of any wood-capable oven here. — consistent with an oven most owners run on the gas burner it ships with, rather than the optional wood one
- Mixed: Heat output is the most contested topic at 42 positive to 20 negative, its description reporting 30 to 45 minutes to temperature for some owners and poor temperature regulation. — roughly double the preheat any Ooni listing on this page claims
- Praised: Build quality runs 50 positive to 4 negative, described as feeling commercial-grade. — it is also the heaviest oven here by a wide margin, and those two facts are related
- Mixed: Value for money is 49 positive to 22 negative — the clearest split in the corpus.
- Praised: Ease of use is 87 positive to 19 negative across 106 mentions.
Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, computed rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports the abbreviation as a single digit. Every topic here is under 1,000 and the two figures agree, but the arithmetic is free so we do it everywhere. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and we have not cooked on any of these ovens.
The Roccbox corpus is worth reading against the Karu 12’s even if you never buy one. It is the biggest record here, overwhelmingly positive on performance and build, and the topic wood buyers care most about is simply absent from it. It is also the heaviest oven on this page at 21.98 kg, roughly double the Karu 12, which matters if it has to move. If the brand question is what you are stuck on, that is Ooni vs Gozney; the machine on its own is covered in our Roccbox review.
Outdoors only, and wood makes that stricter
🔴 Every oven on this page is an outdoor appliance. Our data file marks all four as not indoor-capable, and burning wood, charcoal or propane produces carbon monoxide, which has no smell and gives no warning. Never run one indoors, in a garage, under an awning, in a tent, or on a covered balcony. No amount of ventilation converts an outdoor oven into an indoor one.
Wood and charcoal make this more acute, not less. Solid fuel smoulders after you stop cooking, so it keeps producing carbon monoxide exactly when people think the oven is finished and start moving it somewhere sheltered. Let it burn out where it stood. If you have nowhere outdoors, this category is closed to you and best indoor pizza ovens is the honest starting point.
Who should buy which — and who should buy none of these
- You want the flavour and you accept the fire. The Karu 12. It is the cheapest of the four, the one people are actually buying, and the only one whose corpus contains a unanimous flavour topic. Buy the burner later if you ever want gas.
- You want the same thing with a door and a thermometer. The Karu 2 adds a glass door and an integrated thermometer, and its corpus is positive but thin at 209 ratings. The upgrade is real; the evidence for it is early.
- You need 16 inches. The Karu 2 Pro is the only one here that takes a 16-inch pizza. It publishes no warranty and no temperature spec, and its evidence base is the smallest on the page at 150 ratings. Buy it for the size, knowing the listing tells you less than the cheap one does.
- You are buying a Roccbox to burn wood. Confirm the burner with the seller first. On the listing text alone, this is a gas oven with a wood option.
- You will cook twice a month on a weeknight. Buy none of these. An oven that needs a fire built before dinner stays in the shed on a Tuesday, and this is the single most common way people buy the wrong pizza oven. Gas or electric will get used; start at best electric pizza ovens if there is a roof involved.
- You are shopping to a number rather than a fuel. Best pizza ovens under $500 sorts the field that way instead, and three of these four sit inside it.
Where this leaves you
Wood-fired is the one thing in outdoor cooking where the romantic claim and the evidence point the same way, and it is still not the right buy for most people. Twenty-four owners agreed about flavour and none disagreed. Twelve owners talked about running the fire and split evenly. Both of those are true about the same oven on the same day, and which one describes your next two years depends on whether you enjoy standing over a fire, not on anything a manufacturer publishes.
If you are still weighing it, count evenings rather than features. Work out honestly how many times a year you will light this thing. Below about twice a month the fire loses to convenience and the oven gathers dust; above it, the ritual is the point and pays for itself. Check the Karu 12 on Amazon, or read our Karu 12 review for the machine on its own.
Where this leaves you
The wood-fired oven to buy, if you have read the downside
- Wood or charcoal straight out of the box — the gas burner is a separate purchase on every Karu.
- Flavor runs 24 positive mentions and zero negative, the only unanimous topic on this page.
- Burning options splits exactly 6 to 6. Owners are divided about tending the fire, and that is the trade.
- Ooni's bullet claims 15 minutes to temperature; the review corpus attaches roughly the same figure.
- Outdoors only. Carbon monoxide, and solid fuel keeps producing it after you stop cooking.
Specs and review topics come from this product's own Amazon listing, read 29 August 2026. Its temperature spec field and its title disagree, and we report both rather than picking one. Prices are a dated snapshot and move. Ratings and sales badges are Amazon's, not ours, and we have not cooked on this oven.