Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Best portable pizza ovens

Decide what “portable” has to mean first. If it means carrying the oven from a shed to a patio table twice a summer, every oven on this page qualifies and you should pick on how it cooks. If it means putting it in a car and lighting it somewhere with no power and no propane tank waiting, exactly one oven here does that without a second purchase: the Ooni Karu 12, because it burns wood and charcoal out of the box. Everything else needs a tank or a wall socket, and neither travels for free.

The word is on almost every listing in this category, attached to machines that weigh anywhere from 20.2 to 48.5 pounds. It is doing no work at all as a filter. What follows is the version that does.

“Portable” is the least informative word on these listings

We read the live Amazon listing for eight ovens on 29 August 2026 and looked for two things: where each one claims portability, and what its own “Item Weight” field says. 7 of the eight claim it somewhere — in the title, in “Special Feature”, in “Additional Features”, or buried in the field Amazon calls “Item Type Name”. The only listing that never uses the word is the Piezano XL 14 inch, a countertop electric, which is the one machine here honest enough not to.

Then the weights. They are published in two different units, sometimes by the same brand on adjacent listings, which means the figure you are shown cannot be compared to the one next to it without doing the arithmetic yourself.

SpecOoni Koda 12Ooni Karu 12Gozney TreadNinja Woodfire Oven & SmokerOoni Koda 16Gozney Roccbox
“Item Weight”, verbatim20.2 pounds12 kg29.7 pounds32.4 pounds18.2 kg21.98 kg
That in pounds20.2 lb26.5 lb29.7 lb32.4 lb40.1 lb48.5 lb
Where it says “portable”Title + “Special Feature”Title“Additional Features”“Item Type Name”TitleTitle + “Additional Features”
Fuelgas, propanecharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, woodelectric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)gas, propanegas, wood
Each listing's own "Item Weight" field, read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 and ordered lightest to heaviest. Pounds are converted from the published figure at 2.20462 lb/kg, not looked up separately.

Ooni publishes the Koda 12 in pounds and the Karu 12 and Koda 16 in kilograms. Gozney publishes the Tread in pounds and the Roccbox in kilograms. Four listings, one brand each, two units. Sorted properly the range runs from 20.2 lb to 48.5 lb — the heaviest oven here is nearly two and a half times the lightest, and both listings call themselves portable in the product title.

2 of the eight publish no weight at all: the Solo Stove Pi Prime, whose title is literally “Portable Outdoor Gas Pizza Oven”, and the Piezano XL 14 inch. Claiming portability in the title while leaving the weight field empty is not a lie, but it is the one number that would let a buyer check the claim.

Ooni Koda 1220 lbOoni Karu 1226 lbGozney Tread30 lbNinja Woodfire Oven & Smoker32 lbOoni Koda 1640 lbGozney Roccbox48 lb
Circle AREA is proportional to published weight, so a circle twice as wide is four times the mass. Weights are each listing's own figure, converted to pounds where the brand published kilograms. Read 29 August 2026.

Gozney’s listing copy for the Tread calls it “the world’s most portable pizza oven, 33% lighter than Roccbox”. Taking both brands’ own published weights at face value — 29.7 pounds against 21.98 kg — the gap works out nearer 39%. The two are published in different units and may describe different configurations, so we are not calling it wrong. A marketing percentage is not a spec.

The second test: what has to come with it

Weight is half the question. The other half is what the oven cannot run without, and it sorts this category into three groups that behave completely differently away from the house.

Carries its own fuel. The Karu 12 burns wood and charcoal straight out of the box; gas is an option only if you buy Ooni’s burner separately. Fuel for it fits in a bag. This is the only oven on this page that lights at a campsite with nothing bought in advance except firewood.

Needs a propane tank. The Koda 12, Koda 16, Roccbox, Pi Prime and Tread all do. The tank is a second object and it is not counted in any weight above, because it is not the oven maker’s to publish. A 26-pound oven plus a tank is not a 26-pound trip. If you already keep propane for a grill, that is a non-issue in the garden and a real one in the car.

Needs a wall socket. The Ninja Woodfire draws 1,760 watts at 120 volts and the Piezano XL draws 1,200 watts. Both are extremely easy to lift onto a table and completely immobile without mains power. The Ninja’s listing files the word “portable” inside its Item Type Name anyway.

One contradiction worth flagging rather than resolving: the Solo Stove Pi Prime is titled a Propane pizza oven, while the “Fuel Type” field in the same listing’s spec table reads Natural Gas. Those are not interchangeable supplies. We have not established which is right and will not guess — check with the seller before buying it for a specific hookup.

Five ovens that cover the spread

Multi-fuel, gas-only, gas-and-wood, electric-with-wood-smoke, and plain countertop electric. Once the fuel is settled the rest of the decision shrinks a lot, which is the same argument the main outdoor pizza oven guide makes at more length.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 12Gozney RoccboxNinja Woodfire Oven & SmokerPiezano XL 14 inch
Price (snapshot)$248.95$298.95$399.00$279.99$139.99
Fuelcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, propanegas, woodelectric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)electric
Max temp932 °F950 °FNot stated700 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field800 °F
PowerNot statedNot statedNot stated1760 W1200 W
Amazon rating4.6 (644)4.4 (1,132)4.7 (1,905)4.5 (845)4.2 (4,342)
Bought last month900+50+Not badged300+300+
Amazon snapshot, 29 August 2026; prices and sales figures move. "Not badged" means Amazon published no bought-last-month figure, which is not the same as no sales.

Two notes on the blank cells, because they are the listings’ silence rather than ours. The Roccbox states no peak temperature in any structured field, and its wattage field returns junk — a gas oven has no meaningful wattage, so “Not stated” is the correct reading rather than a gap. The Ninja Woodfire Oven & Smoker is stranger: it publishes no Temperature Range field at all, and states its 700 °F only in the product title. Our table carries that figure but labels where it came from, because a title is marketing copy and a spec field is a spec. Both numbers are the manufacturer’s; only one of them sits somewhere a comparison can reliably read.

The best oven here is the worst one to carry

The Gozney Roccbox holds 1,905 Amazon ratings at 4.7★, the strongest record of any oven on this page, and it weighs 48.5 lb — the heaviest thing here by a clear margin. That is not a design failure. The mass is insulation, and insulation is why it holds heat through a run of pizzas. The two things trade directly against each other.

What buyers report — Gozney Roccboxpatterns across 1,905 Amazon reviews · 4.7★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, computed rather than read from Amazon’s own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports it as a single digit. Nothing here crosses 1,000, so both agree — we compute it the safe way regardless. Patterns are summarised from the corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

The 30-to-45-minute preheat is the honest cost of that insulation and it is the thing to weigh, not the weight. It also makes the Roccbox a poor fit for spontaneous use: an oven you have to decide on three quarters of an hour in advance is a planned dinner, not a quick one. Full write-up in the Gozney Roccbox review.

Gozney Roccbox
If it moves twice a summer and cooks every weekend

Gozney Roccbox

Best-rated oven on this page, and the heaviest. Build quality is near-unanimous in its review corpus; the preheat is long.

View on Amazon

$399.00 · 1,905 reviews

The one that actually goes in the car

The Ooni Karu 12 is 26.5 lb by its own listing, folds to 31.5 × 15.8 × 30.3 inches with the legs out, and burns wood or charcoal without any accessory. It carries 900+ bought in the past month on this snapshot — the highest figure of any oven we track, better than two to one over the Koda 16 — on a small corpus of 644 ratings at 4.6★. Velocity and review count tell different stories: one reflects this month, the other reflects years.

The catch is the one every multi-fuel oven has: a fire is a thing you tend. Its review corpus has a topic Amazon labels “Burning options”, and it is the only evenly split topic on that listing — 6 positive against 6 negative. If you want a dial rather than a fire, the gas-only Koda is the honest answer, and Ooni Karu vs Koda takes that pair apart properly. The single-oven view is in the Ooni Karu 12 review.

Ooni Karu 12
The only one that lights with nothing bought in advance

Ooni Karu 12

Wood and charcoal out of the box, gas with a separately-sold burner. 26.5 lb by its own listing, and the highest bought-last-month figure here.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

Two corpora out of eight actually mention portability

Amazon groups a listing’s reviews into topics. Across the eight ovens we read, only two surface a topic called Portability at all: the Solo Stove Pi Prime with 6 mentions out of 230 ratings, and the Gozney Tread with 5 out of 61. Both are entirely positive. Nobody else’s reviewers raise the subject in numbers Amazon considers a theme — including the 1,905 people who reviewed an oven whose title is built on the word.

The reading we would take from that is not that these ovens are hard to move. It is that portability is a purchase-time claim rather than an ownership experience. Most people buy a portable pizza oven, put it where it is going to live, and never move it again — so weight quietly stops mattering the week it arrives. If that is you, buy the oven that cooks best in your space and ignore this whole page.

What buyers report — Solo Stove Pi Primepatterns across 230 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, computed rather than read from Amazon’s own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports it as a single digit. Nothing here crosses 1,000, so both agree — we compute it the safe way regardless. Patterns are summarised from the corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

The Pi Prime is the one oven whose buyers actually talk about taking it somewhere, and its corpus of 230 ratings is thin enough that a handful of reviews moves it. Treat the crust-quality reports as a thing to watch rather than a finding. More on it in the Solo Stove Pi review.

What we would not buy for portability

The Gozney Tread, yet. On paper it is the interesting entrant: 29.7 lb, roof-rack handles in the listing copy, and 4.8★ — the highest average we track. It also has 61 ratings. That is a corpus small enough to move several tenths in either direction on a bad month, and it is not enough evidence to spend this much on. Nothing here says it is a bad oven. Let the corpus fill out.

The Ninja Woodfire Oven & Smoker, if travel is the point. 32.4 lb and a mains cord is the worst combination on this page for actually going anywhere. It is a good machine for a yard that already has a grill and no room for two more appliances — it does pizza, smoke and air-fry in one shell — but the word “portable” in its spec table is doing nothing for a buyer.

The Ooni Koda 16, if you are lifting it alone. At 40.1 lb it is the second-heaviest here and its title still says portable. It is a fine gas oven and a two-hand lift onto a table. If a 16-inch stone is what you want, buy it for the stone and plan on it staying put — see best gas pizza ovens.

Any of them, if you have no outdoor space. Gas, wood and charcoal ovens vent an open flame, and plenty of leases and municipal fire codes prohibit that on a balcony. Check yours before you buy anything on this page. If the answer is no, the whole category closes and the electric ovens are the shortlist.

Who should buy something else

Where this leaves you

Genuinely taking it somewhere? This is the short list of one

  • Burns wood and charcoal out of the box, so it lights with no tank and no socket. Gas needs Ooni's separately-sold burner.
  • The listing gives 12 kg — 26.5 lb — and 31.5 × 15.8 × 30.3 inches with the legs out.
  • 900+ bought in the past month on this snapshot, the highest figure of any oven we track.
  • Warranty is stated on the listing as one year, manufacturer limited.
  • Not the pick if you want push-button heat and no fire to manage. That is the gas-only Koda.

We do not cook on these ovens and never claim to. Weights, dimensions and warranty come from the manufacturers' own Amazon listings, read 29 August 2026; ratings and sales figures are Amazon's.

Ooni Karu 12
Ooni

Karu 12

$248.95

View on Amazon

900+ bought last month

Where a listing does not publish something — the Pi Prime’s weight, the Roccbox’s peak temperature — the tables above say “Not stated” rather than filling the gap. Two spec fields contradict their own product titles, and both are reported rather than quietly reconciled. Our full editorial policy is in about this site.