Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Best outdoor pizza ovens

Fuel decides this, not price. If the oven has to live on a balcony or a kitchen counter, most of this category is closed to you and the shortlist is two or three electric models. If you have a yard, the question is whether you want to feed a fire or turn a dial. Stone size, weight and badge are all smaller decisions than that one — and that one is what most shortlists skip straight past.

The default answer to this search is an Ooni. Ooni makes good ovens, and one of them is the fastest-selling oven here. But Ooni is the default because Ooni advertises, and the brands that do not advertise are not automatically worse: the largest review corpus on this page belongs to a countertop electric most lists never mention.

Where the oven has to live settles most of it

Gas, wood and charcoal ovens produce an open flame and vent hot exhaust, and every one of their listings describes an outdoor appliance. If you live in an apartment that often ends the conversation before it starts: plenty of leases and municipal fire codes prohibit open-flame cooking on a balcony. Check yours. We cannot check it for you, and it is not a thing to discover afterwards.

If the answer is no, what remains is the electric shelf — the Piezano XL, the Piezano Crispy Crust, the Ninja Artisan and the Ooni Volt 2. These run off a wall socket and their listings describe countertop use. Smaller category, much better behaved. We go through it in best electric pizza ovens and best indoor pizza ovens.

With outdoor space, the fork is whether you want to tend a fire. A gas oven is a dial: turn it, wait fifteen or twenty minutes, cook. A wood or charcoal oven is a fire you manage between pizzas. The flavour argument is real, and so is the argument that a fire you have to build is one you build four times a summer rather than forty. Multi-fuel postpones that choice rather than removing it.

Five ovens that cover the actual spread

Not the five highest-rated ovens on Amazon. Five that sit in genuinely different places — multi-fuel, gas-only, electric-with-wood-smoke, plain countertop electric, and gas in a design-led shell — because once you pick the fuel the rest of the decision gets much smaller.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 16Ninja Woodfire Oven & SmokerPiezano XL 14 inchSolo Stove Pi Prime
Price (snapshot)$248.95$498.00$279.99$139.99$359.99
Fuelcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, propaneelectric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)electricgas, propane
Max temp932 °F950 °F700 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field800 °FNot stated
PowerNot statedNot stated1760 W1200 WNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (644)4.6 (1,254)4.5 (845)4.2 (4,342)4.6 (230)
Bought last month900+400+300+300+50+
Amazon snapshot, 29 August 2026; prices and sales figures will move. "Not badged" means Amazon published no bought-last-month figure — which is not the same as no sales.

Every blank cell there is the listing’s silence, not ours. 3 of the five publish no wattage — Ooni Karu 12 and Ooni Koda 16 and Solo Stove Pi Prime — which is fair enough for a propane oven and less so for the Karu 12, whose gas burner is sold separately. And 1 publish no peak temperature at all. That second gap is the interesting one.

The number this category sells on is the one you cannot look up

Peak temperature is the entire pitch for outdoor pizza ovens. 950 °F. 800 °F. Twice what a domestic oven does. It is on the box, in the first bullet of nearly every listing, and usually in the product title.

It is also the spec this category is worst at actually publishing. 6 of the 15 listings we track state no peak temperature in a structured field at all — and the ones that do state it do not agree on how. We pulled three live listings on 29 August 2026 to see what is really inside the box marked Temperature Range.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 16Piezano XL 14 inch
“Temperature Range” field500 °C950 °F8E+2 °F
What that is in °F932 °F950 °F800 °F
Same claim in the copy950 °F, in the title950 °F, in bullet one800 °F, in bullet two
Sortable as published?No — three formatsNo — three formatsNo — three formats
Verbatim contents of each listing's own "Temperature Range" field, read from Amazon on 29 August 2026.

Three ovens, three formats, no way to sort them. Ooni’s own two listings cannot agree on a unit — and the Karu 12’s field says 500 °C, which is 932 °F, while the title of that same listing says 950 °F. The Piezano’s value is right but written as 8E+2, which is what a spreadsheet column looks like when it is exported without anyone reading it.

The same Karu 12 listing gives its Included Components as “Rawlings Bat”. That is a baseball bat. It is not included.

None of this makes the ovens bad, and the numbers are recoverable once you know to expect Celsius and scientific notation in the same column. It does mean these spec fields are filled in by whoever filled them in, and a comparison built on them without reading them is built on nothing. Read “reaches 950 °F” as a marketing ceiling under ideal conditions, not a working temperature — and note that for Solo Stove Pi Prime there is still no published figure to read at all.

What people are actually buying

Amazon badges some listings with a rough count of units sold in the past month, and not others. Where it appears it is the closest thing to a sales figure anyone outside Amazon gets.

On this snapshot the Ooni Karu 12 carries 900+ bought in the past month. The Koda 16 — nearly twice the ratings, and the oven most shortlists put first — carries 400+. The multi-fuel oven is outselling the gas-only one better than two to one, which suggests buyers value keeping the option open more than the coverage implies. Review corpora say something different, because they accumulate over years rather than reflecting this month.

Piezano XL 14 inch4,342Gozney Roccbox1,905Ooni Koda 161,254Ninja Woodfire Oven & Smoker845Ooni Karu 12644
Circle AREA is proportional to the number of Amazon ratings, so a circle twice as wide is four times the corpus. Snapshot 29 August 2026; the ratings are Amazon's, not ours.

The largest corpus here belongs to the Piezano XL, a countertop electric, with 4,342 ratings — more than any Ooni on this page and more than three times the Karu 12. The Gozney Roccbox has 1,905 ratings at 4.7★ and no bought-last-month badge at all. That is the trap: read the missing badge as zero and you would conclude one of the best-reviewed portables on the platform is not selling. It is not a sales figure of zero. It is a missing sales figure.

What Koda 16 owners actually report

The gas-only Koda 16 is the oven most people end up on, and its 4.6★ average across 1,254 ratings is a strong record. Amazon’s own review-topic breakdown underneath that average is more mixed than the stars suggest, and the mix is the useful part.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 16patterns across 1,254 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, never Amazon’s own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and reports it as a single digit. Nothing here crosses 1,000, so both agree — we compute it the safe way regardless. Patterns are summarised from the corpus, never quoted from it.

None of that makes it a bad oven. But limited temperature control and a stone that cracks early are the two things a manufacturer’s own page will never lead with, and they are the two worth knowing before committing to a single-fuel oven at this level. Gas buys convenience and takes away a lever. If you are weighing it against the multi-fuel Karu, we take that exact pair apart in Ooni Karu vs Koda.

Ooni Karu 12
The one most buyers are choosing

Ooni Karu 12

Wood or charcoal out of the box, gas with the separately-sold burner. Highest bought-last-month figure on this page.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

The countertop electric nobody puts first

The Piezano XL is a 14-inch electric countertop oven. Its listing’s spec table gives 1,200 watts and an 800 °F ceiling, with a ceramic stone and peels in the box. On this snapshot it is number two in Amazon’s Countertop Pizza Ovens category and holds the largest review corpus on this page. It is also the only oven here a renter with no outdoor space can definitely use — which should put it in the comparison, not on the budget-alternative line at the bottom of it.

What buyers report — Piezano XL 14 inchpatterns across 4,342 Amazon reviews · 4.2★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, never Amazon’s own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and reports it as a single digit. Nothing here crosses 1,000, so both agree — we compute it the safe way regardless. Patterns are summarised from the corpus, never quoted from it.

That heat-output split is the honest reason not to expect an Ooni out of it. A 1,200-watt element on a household circuit cannot do what a propane burner does, and about half the people who raise the subject say so. What the corpus does support is a crisp stone-baked pizza in roughly five minutes, on a kitchen counter, where the alternative was a takeaway. Full write-up: Piezano pizza oven review.

Piezano XL 14 inch
If there is no outdoor space

Piezano XL 14 inch

Countertop electric, 14-inch stone. Largest review corpus on this page, and the widest split on heat.

View on Amazon

$139.99 · 4,342 reviews

One box, four jobs

The Ninja Woodfire Oven & Smoker earns its place for being the odd one out: mains electricity at 1,760 watts with a wood-pellet box for smoke, sold as pizza oven, smoker and air fryer in one shell. 845 ratings at 4.5★, 300+ bought last month.

The argument for it is a yard that already has a grill and no room for two more appliances. The argument against is plain: if you only want pizza, you are paying for three functions you will not use, and a dedicated oven beats it at the one you do. Ninja vs Ooni works through that trade properly.

What we would not buy right now

The Ooni Volt 2. The most expensive electric in our file, carrying the lowest average rating of any oven we track — 3.8★, on only 60 ratings. That corpus is thin enough to move either way, so this is not a verdict on the machine. It is a verdict on buying at that price on that much evidence. Let the corpus fill out.

The Ooni Digital Infrared Thermometer, as a first purchase. An infrared thermometer is genuinely useful once you are chasing a specific stone temperature. Nobody needs one for their first twenty pizzas, and adding it on day one is the easiest way to overspend on an oven you have not used yet.

A Blackstone pizza oven, because there is no such thing. Roughly 22,000 people a month search for one and Blackstone does not sell a standalone pizza oven on Amazon. What exists is a third-party Stanbroil attachment that converts a Blackstone griddle. Already own the griddle and it is a reasonable option; if not, buying a griddle to convert is a worse deal than buying an oven. What searchers are really looking at: the Blackstone pizza oven guide.

Who should buy something else

Where this leaves you

Outdoor space, no strong feeling about fuel? Start here

  • Burns wood or charcoal out of the box and takes gas with a separately-sold burner, so you can change your mind later.
  • Highest bought-last-month figure of any oven on this page, by better than two to one.
  • The listing gives 26.4 lb and a 31.5 × 15.8 × 30.3 inch footprint with the legs out.
  • Not the pick if you want push-button simplicity and no fire to manage. That is the gas-only Koda.

We do not cook on these ovens and never claim to. Specs come from the manufacturers' own Amazon listings; ratings and sales figures are Amazon's.

Ooni Karu 12
Ooni

Karu 12

$248.95

View on Amazon

900+ bought last month

Where a listing does not publish something, the tables above say “Not stated” rather than filling the gap — which is why the max-temperature row is empty across the board. Our full editorial policy, including what we can and cannot demonstrate, is in about this site.