Review · updated 29 August 2026
Gozney Roccbox: the object, and the argument about the price
Buy the Roccbox if you have decided where the oven is going to live and you want the sturdiest thing to put there. Do not buy it if you need to carry it far, or if you want the listing to state a peak temperature, a warranty or what is in the box. It holds 1,905 Amazon reviews at 4.7★, the deepest record of any single oven here, and what that corpus argues about is not the oven. It is the money.
A review topic that Ooni’s ovens do not have
Amazon extracts topics from a product’s reviews and reports how many mentions fall on each side. It is a crude instrument and it is Amazon’s, not ours. The useful part is that the topics it picks differ from listing to listing.
The Roccbox has eight, and one of them is Build quality — 54 mentions, 50 positive, 4 negative. Neither Ooni oven in the table below has a topic of that name. The Karu 12’s eight are performance, heating speed, value, cooking performance, flavour, heat output, game-changer and burning options: seven about what the oven does, one about what it costs, none about what it is.
Do not over-read it. Topic extraction depends on corpus size, and 1,905 reviews will surface themes that 644 will not. But it is the honest short version of this oven: the people who buy it rate the object highly and then argue about the price. That is a different failure mode from a cheap oven, where the argument is about whether the thing works at all.
Where the weight goes
The build-quality topic has a physical form, and it is heavy. Gozney’s listing states an item weight of 21.98 kg, which is 48.5 lb. The Koda 16’s listing states 18.2 kg and the Karu 12’s states 12 kg. Of the three ovens whose weights this site has read from a listing, the Roccbox is the heaviest by some margin — and it is the smallest of the three in external dimensions, at 24.8 by 16.5 by 14.6 inches against the Koda 16’s 25 by 23.2 by 14.7 and the Karu 12’s 31.5 by 15.8 by 30.3 with its chimney up.
Smaller and much denser is the whole design. The material field reads stone interior, stainless steel and cast iron exterior, where the Koda 16’s reads stainless steel and the Karu 12’s reads aluminium and stainless steel. Mass and insulation are how an oven holds temperature between pizzas instead of dropping after the first, which is what the corpus means by commercial-grade.
It is also the cost. Forty-eight pounds is a two-handed lift and a decision about where it lives, and the marketing bullet about camping trips should be read with that number beside it. If the oven has to travel, weight outranks every other spec, and the portable pizza oven guide works that trade through properly.
| Spec | Gozney Roccbox | Ooni Karu 12 | Ooni Koda 16 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $399.00 | $248.95 | $498.00 |
| Fuel | gas, wood | charcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood | gas, propane |
| Max temp | Not stated | 932 °F | 950 °F |
| Power | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.7★ (1,905) | 4.6★ (644) | 4.6★ (1,254) |
| Bought last month | Not badged | 900+ | 400+ |
What the listing does not publish
Peak temperature is the number this entire category advertises on, and the Roccbox’s structured detail table does not contain it. There is no Temperature Range field. The figure appears once, inside a marketing feature bullet — cooks pizza in 60 seconds at 950 degrees — and a bullet is copywriting, not a specification. That is why the row above reads Not stated while the Koda 16’s reads 950 °F: Ooni put the number in a field meant to hold a number. Amazon’s summary of the Roccbox corpus separately reports buyers saying it reaches around 900 degrees, which is not a measurement anyone here made either.
There is no warranty field either. The Koda 16 states one year as standard and five when registered with Ooni. The Karu 12 states one year, manufacturer limited. The Roccbox states nothing. Gozney publishes warranty terms elsewhere; they are not on this listing, so they are not something this page can state as fact.
The returns field is the one that would actually catch someone out. The Koda 16 reads 30-day refund / replacement. The Roccbox reads non-returnable, transportation of this item is subject to hazardous materials regulation. That is Amazon’s field, verbatim, read 29 August 2026. It may reflect the gas hardware rather than the oven, and return terms change without notice — but if you are buying on the assumption that you can send it back, check that line yourself on the day.
Nor does it publish the one dimension a pizza cook wants. No field on the listing gives the stone diameter or the largest pizza it takes, and we are not going to guess.
And what it publishes wrongly
Four fields in the detail table are junk, and they are worth naming because anyone building a comparison out of Amazon fields without reading them will publish the junk as fact. Item Dimensions D x W x H reads 1"D x 1"W x 1"H — a one-inch cube — while the Size field on the same listing gives the real 24.8 by 16.5 by 14.6 inches. Wattage and Voltage both read 1, which is meaningless on a propane oven; anything under 500 W is discarded here rather than printed, so the power row reads Not stated, which for a gas oven is the correct answer rather than a missing one. Capacity reads 16 ounces, a volume for a drink, and is not used anywhere here.
The fourth is the interesting one. Included Components — the field that should tell you what arrives — reads ROCCBOX GAS BURNING BLACK, and the Item Type Name field repeats the same string. That is a merchandising label, not a contents list. For contrast, the Koda 16 fills the same field with Gas Hose and Regulator, which is an actual answer to an actual question.
None of this makes the oven worse. It does mean that if one number is going to decide your purchase, this listing is not where to settle it. Ooni is no better — the Karu 12 lists a Rawlings baseball bat among its included components — and the Ooni vs Gozney comparison puts both brands’ spec fields side by side with the junk left visible.
Gas, wood, or gas and wood?
The product title says Gas & Wood Fired. The Heating Method field says Gas, Wood. Our fuel row says gas, wood, because the listing does. All of that describes what the oven can burn over its life. None of it describes what is in the box.
The listing does not resolve it. The Fuel Type field reads Liquefied Petroleum Gas and nothing else. The Included Components field is the merchandising string above, which contains the words gas burning and no mention of wood. And the fourth feature bullet describes wood-fired flavour from its optional wood burner attachment — Gozney’s own word, optional, in Gozney’s own copy. Those three point one way, but the listing never states plainly what ships, so neither will this page. If wood is the reason you want this oven, confirm it on the product page before you order: a second purchase changes the arithmetic.
It is the same trap the Karu 12 sets from the other direction, where gas is the separate purchase. Whether you actually want to tend a fire is the question underneath both, and gas vs wood-fired argues it out.

Gozney Roccbox
Stone floor, cast iron and steel shell, 48.5 lb of it, and the deepest review record of any oven on this site. Check the current returns and warranty terms on the listing before you order — neither is stated in its spec table.
$399.00 · 1,905 reviews
No sales badge is not a sales figure
Amazon tags some listings with a rough count of units sold in the past month and leaves others untagged. The Roccbox has no such tag, and neither does the Gozney Tread: 0 of Gozney’s 2 ovens carry one, against 6 of Ooni’s 6.
It would be easy, and wrong, to read that as nobody buying the Roccbox. Badge coverage varies by price tier, by category and by nothing anyone outside Amazon can see; it is not a switch that flips off when sales stop. All the pattern establishes is that we have a monthly sales proxy for one brand and none for the other.
The bestseller ranks argue against the zero-sales reading directly. The Roccbox gives #34 in Outdoor Ovens; the Koda 16 — which does carry a badge, at 400+ bought in the past month — gives #3 in Outdoor Ovens. Same category, so for once the two can be compared: the Koda is selling faster, and 34th out of everything Amazon files under outdoor ovens is not where an unsold product sits.
What buyers report
1,905 reviews at 4.7★ is the largest corpus behind any single oven here, and Amazon’s topic extraction pulls 8 themes and 712 mentions out of it. Six lean positive. Two are mixed, and those are the two worth your attention.
- Praised: Build quality is a topic in its own right — 54 mentions, 50 of them positive — and Amazon’s summary of it reports buyers describing the oven as commercial-grade and very stable. — no topic of that name appears in the Karu 12 or Koda 16 corpora at all
- Praised: Performance is the largest topic by a distance: 245 mentions, 226 positive against 19 negative. — about one negative mention in thirteen, the cleanest ratio of the eight
- Praised: Cooking speed runs 66 positive of 74 mentions, and Amazon’s summary of that topic attaches roughly 30 minutes of preheat to the 90-second bake. — fast pizzas, slow start — the mass that holds the heat has to be heated first
- Mixed: Heat output is one of two mixed topics, 42 positive against 20 negative of 62 mentions, and the negative side describes 30 to 45 minutes to temperature and poor temperature regulation. — the same preheat that reads as patience above reads as a fault here
- Mixed: Value for money is the most negative-leaning topic in the corpus — 22 of its 71 mentions are negative, and Amazon’s summary of it says some buyers consider the oven a waste of $400. — roughly one in three people who raise price at all are unhappy about it
- Praised: Fun is the only topic with no negative mentions at all: 35 of 35, about family gatherings and dinner parties.
1,905 reviews and 8 extracted topics, read 29 August 2026. Every total above is computed as positive plus negative mentions rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and misparses it as a single digit — all eight topics here are under a thousand so the field agrees this time, but the computed total is the one we trust everywhere. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus; nothing is quoted from an individual review, and none of it comes from this site cooking on the oven, which we have not done.
Each topic's negative mentions as a share of its own total, scaled to ten — so 3.2 means roughly a third of the people who raised that topic raised it as a complaint. Computed from the positive and negative counts in Amazon's own topic breakdown for ASIN B0D6PQJ2PF, read 29 August 2026, never from its mentions field. Topics, left to right in the list: heat output, value for money, ease of use, cooking speed, performance, build quality, pizza quality, fun.
Read the two mixed topics together and the complaint resolves into one sentence: it takes a while to get hot and it costs $400. Nobody in that corpus is arguing it falls apart. Build quality and pizza quality both sit under one negative mention in ten; heat output and value for money sit above three.
One caveat on the money half. A corpus accumulates over years, at whatever the listing charged on the day each person bought; on 29 August 2026 the page showed $399 against a struck-through $499.99. Some of those 22 negative mentions are about a price nobody is being asked to pay now, and the corpus cannot tell you which.
What it gives up
Portability, in practice. It has no legs to unfold and no chimney to remove, and it weighs 48.5 lb. Those two facts point in opposite directions. Treat it as an oven you can move, not one you carry.
The start of the evening. Amazon’s summary of the cooking-speed topic gives roughly 30 minutes to heat, and the negative side of heat output stretches that to 30 to 45. The Karu 12 corpus describes about 15. Thermal mass is not free: the weight that keeps the stone hot through six pizzas has to be heated first, and on a Tuesday that difference is the whole experience.
Temperature control, for some owners. Twenty of the 62 heat-output mentions are negative, and Amazon’s summary of them names poor temperature regulation specifically. Against 42 positives in the same topic that reads as a minority experience — but it is the only complaint here about cooking rather than about logistics or money.
The paperwork. No stated warranty, no stated peak temperature, no stated stone size, a non-returnable flag, and a contents field holding a product name. From a brand whose entire pitch is that it makes things properly, the listing is the least well made thing about it.
Who should buy something else
Anyone cooking for more than a few people at a time. The Roccbox listing never states what size pizza it takes. The Ooni Koda 16 states 16 inches in its Size field, 950 °F in a real spec field and a five-year registered warranty, and is eight pounds lighter. If throughput is your problem, the Koda 16 review is the page you want, and the gas pizza oven guide covers the rest of that category.
Anyone whose oven has to travel regularly. Forty-eight pounds is a genuine constraint. The Ooni Karu 12 is roughly half the weight and burns wood and charcoal out of the box — though its gas burner is the separate purchase, the same trap in the other direction.
Anyone without outdoor space. This is a live-flame propane appliance with no indoor answer. Electric is the category that solves that, and the electric pizza oven guide is where to start instead.
Anyone who has not yet chosen a fuel or a size. The Roccbox answers a question you have already narrowed. It is a poor answer to “which pizza oven should I get”, because it does one thing and does not flex. The outdoor pizza oven shortlist is the honest starting point.
For everyone else — you know where it will stand, you are cooking for two to four, you would rather buy once — the Roccbox is a straightforward recommendation with the paperwork caveat attached. Its own buyers’ main complaint is the price on the tag, and that is a complaint you can evaluate before you spend anything.
Where this leaves you
The heavy one, if you have somewhere to put it
- 21.98 kg (48.5 lb) with a stone interior and a cast iron and stainless steel shell, per the listing.
- 1,905 reviews at 4.7★ — the deepest single-oven record on this site, and build quality is its own review topic.
- Its two mixed topics are heat output and value for money; nothing in the corpus is about it breaking.
- The listing states no peak temperature, no warranty and no stone size, and flags the item non-returnable.
- Not badged for monthly sales, which is not zero sales — it ranks #34 in Amazon's Outdoor Ovens.
Amazon's price, rating and listing fields, read 29 August 2026. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.
Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASIN B0D6PQJ2PF, with the Ooni Koda 16 figures from ASIN B085LGV57D in the same snapshot and Karu 12 figures from B0CHS69P48. Prices, ratings, review counts, sales badges, warranty and return terms are Amazon’s own and change without notice. No stone diameter, maximum pizza size or wood-burner price appears anywhere here because no listing this site has read states them. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.