Ooni vs Gozney
These two brands are not competing on the same thing. Ooni sells 6 ovens covering wood, charcoal, gas and mains electricity, and one of them is the fastest-moving oven we track. Gozney sells 2, both dual-fuel, both heavier, and the Roccbox has the deepest review record of any single oven in our file. Pick Ooni if you want to choose your fuel and your size. Pick Gozney if you have already chosen and want the sturdier object.
Neither brand can tell you that. Ooni’s own search presence is recipes — it competes for deep dish pizza and pizza sauce recipe, not for equipment comparisons. Gozney does the same. A head-to-head published by either one has only one permitted conclusion before a word of it is written, which is why this page exists and why the numbers below come from the listings rather than from a press kit. We are paid by neither. If you buy through a link here we earn an Amazon commission, and that is the same commission whichever brand you pick.
Four ovens that show the difference
Two from each brand, chosen to sit opposite each other rather than to flatter either. The Karu 12 is Ooni’s multi-fuel portable and its volume leader; the Koda 16 is the gas-only oven most Ooni shortlists end on. The Roccbox is Gozney’s portable and much the more established of its two. The Tread is the newer one, and unproven.
| Spec | Ooni Karu 12 | Ooni Koda 16 | Gozney Roccbox | Gozney Tread |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $248.95 | $498.00 | $399.00 | $499.99 |
| Fuel | charcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood | gas, propane | gas, wood | gas, wood |
| Max temp | 932 °F | 950 °F | Not stated | 950 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field |
| Power | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.6★ (644) | 4.6★ (1,254) | 4.7★ (1,905) | 4.8★ (61) |
| Bought last month | 900+ | 400+ | Not badged | Not badged |
Three things in that table are worth stopping on. Neither Gozney publishes a peak temperature — the field the whole category advertises on simply is not present on either listing, so the row reads Not stated and stays that way. Neither publishes a usable wattage either, which is correct rather than sloppy: these are gas ovens and a gas oven has no meaningful wattage. And neither Gozney carries a bought-last-month badge, while 6 of Ooni’s 6 ovens carry one.
The missing sales badge is not a sales figure of zero
This is the easiest mistake to make on this comparison. Amazon badges some listings with a rough count of units sold in the past month and leaves others unbadged. Coverage varies by price tier, by category, and by nothing anyone outside Amazon can see. It is not a switch that turns off when sales stop.
Add up the badges across Ooni’s 6 ovens and you get 1,650+ units in a month, led by the Karu 12 at 900+ on its own — more than double the Koda 16 at 400+, despite the Koda having roughly twice the ratings. Gozney contributes nothing to that sum, because 0 of its listings are badged. Reading that as “Ooni sells and Gozney does not” would be reading a formatting decision as a market share. What it actually says is that we have a sales proxy for one brand and none for the other.
The bestseller ranks do not rescue it. The Roccbox listing gives #34 in Outdoor Ovens, the Karu 12 #571 in Outdoor Cooking — different categories, so the two numbers cannot be compared at all.
What we can compare is accumulated evidence, and here the shape inverts. The Gozney Roccbox holds 1,905 ratings at 4.7★ — the largest single-oven corpus of either brand, ahead of the Koda 16’s 1,254 and nearly three times the Karu 12’s 644. Across whole ranges Ooni is still ahead on volume of evidence, 3,449 ratings to 1,966, but it needs 6 ovens to get there. Review corpora accumulate over years, so they describe reputation rather than this month; the badges describe this month rather than reputation. They disagree here because they are measuring different things.
Where Gozney spends the money
The clearest difference between these brands sits in the spec fields nobody optimises. Both listings’ own detail tables, read on 29 August 2026, side by side and verbatim — broken values included, because knowing which fields are broken is part of knowing what to trust.
| Spec | Gozney Roccbox | Ooni Karu 12 |
|---|---|---|
| “Item Weight” field | 21.98 kg (48.5 lb) | 12 kg (26.5 lb) |
| “Material” field | Stone interior; stainless steel / cast iron exterior | Aluminum, stainless steel |
| “Size” field | 24.8 × 16.5 × 14.6 in | 31.5 × 15.8 × 30.3 in, legs out |
| “Item Dimensions” field | 1"D × 1"W × 1"H | 31.5"D × 15.8"W × 30.3"H |
| “Wattage” field | 1 — junk, discarded | No such field on the listing |
| “Temperature Range” field | No such field on the listing | 500 °C |
| Warranty stated | Not stated | One Year Mfg. Limited |
| Best Sellers Rank | #34 in Outdoor Ovens | #571 in Outdoor Cooking |
The Roccbox weighs 21.98 kg against the Karu 12’s 12 kg — about 1.8 times as much — in a smaller box, and its material field names a stone interior with a stainless steel and cast iron exterior where the Karu 12’s names aluminum and stainless steel. That is the whole philosophical difference in two rows. Mass and insulation hold heat between pizzas, which is why the Roccbox corpus talks about build quality and steady temperature, and it is also why it is the harder of the two to carry anywhere. If the oven has to move, weight outranks everything above: best portable pizza ovens works that trade properly.
Two of those rows are junk and we have left them visible on purpose. The Roccbox “Wattage” field says 1, which is meaningless for a propane oven and is discarded rather than printed as a spec. Its “Item Dimensions” field says 1"D × 1"W × 1"H while the “Size” field on the same listing gives the real 24.8 × 16.5 × 14.6 inches. Ooni is not immune: the Karu 12 lists its Included Components as “Rawlings Bat”, which is a baseball bat and is not in the box, and its Temperature Range field says 500 °C — 932 °F — while the product title on the same page says 950 °F. Neither brand fills these in carefully. Any comparison that reads them without checking is built on nothing.
The one asymmetry that is real: the Karu 12 states a one-year limited manufacturer warranty in its detail table and the Roccbox states no warranty at all. Gozney publishes longer terms elsewhere. It is not on the Amazon listing, so it is not something this page can state as fact.
What Roccbox owners report
1,905 ratings at 4.7★ is the strongest record of any oven in our file, and Amazon’s own topic breakdown underneath it is unusually one-sided. Six of its eight topics lean positive; only two are mixed.
- Praised: Build quality is a topic in its own right — 54 mentions, 50 of them positive — and Amazon’s corpus summary reports buyers calling it commercial-grade. — no equivalent topic appears anywhere in the Karu 12 corpus
- Praised: Performance is the largest topic at 245 mentions, 226 positive against 19 negative.
- Praised: Cooking speed draws 74 mentions, 66 positive, and the summary attaches roughly 30 minutes of preheat to that speed. — fast pizzas, slow start — the mass that holds heat also has to be heated
- Mixed: Heat output is one of only two mixed topics: 42 positive against 20 negative, of 62 mentions.
- Mixed: Value for money is the most negative-leaning topic in the corpus — 22 of its 71 mentions are negative. — roughly one in three people who raise price are unhappy about it
Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, never Amazon’s own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and reports it as a single digit. Nothing here crosses 1,000, so both agree — we compute it the safe way regardless. Patterns are summarised from the corpus, never quoted from it, and we have not cooked on either oven.
Read the two mixed topics together and the complaint resolves into one thing: it is slow to get going and it costs $400. Nobody in that corpus is arguing it falls apart. The full picture is in our Gozney Roccbox review.

Gozney Roccbox
Heavier, better insulated, stone interior with a cast iron and steel shell. The deepest review record of any single oven we track.
$399.00 · 1,905 reviews
What Karu 12 owners report
A smaller corpus — 644 ratings at 4.6★ — and a visibly different shape. The topics people raise are about speed, flavour and fuel, not about the object.
- Praised: Performance leads at 91 mentions, 84 positive against 7 negative.
- Praised: Heating speed is the second-largest topic, 31 positive of 41, with the summary giving about 15 minutes to heat. — half the preheat the Roccbox corpus describes
- Praised: Flavor is its own topic — 24 mentions, none of them negative. — this is what a wood fire buys, and no Gozney topic here is named for it
- Mixed: Burning options splits exactly evenly: 6 positive, 6 negative, with the flame cutting out among the reported problems. — the multi-fuel flexibility is also the part people fight with
- Praised: Value for money runs 26 positive against 9 negative, of 35 mentions.
Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, never Amazon’s own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and reports it as a single digit. Nothing here crosses 1,000, so both agree — we compute it the safe way regardless. Patterns are summarised from the corpus, never quoted from it, and we have not cooked on either oven.
Two topics here have no counterpart in the Gozney corpus, in opposite directions. Flavor appears as its own topic with no negative mentions, which is the wood fire doing the thing a wood fire is for. Burning options splits down the middle, which is the same wood fire being annoying. Multi-fuel is a genuine feature and a genuine chore, and this is the clearest evidence on the page that it is both. If you want the Ooni range but not the fire, the gas-only Koda is the other end of that decision: Ooni Karu vs Koda. The oven on its own is covered in the Ooni Karu 12 review.

Ooni Karu 12
Wood or charcoal out of the box, gas with a separately-sold burner, and the highest bought-last-month figure of any oven we track.
$248.95 · 644 reviews
What each brand gives up
Gozney gives up choice. Two ovens, both dual-fuel gas and wood, both portables. There is no Gozney answer for a balcony with no open flame allowed, no Gozney at half the Roccbox’s price, and no Gozney with a 16-inch stone in this file. If your constraint is anything other than “I want the better-built portable”, the range does not have a shape for it.
Ooni gives up focus. The spread inside the range is wider than the spread between the brands: the Volt 2 carries 3.8★ across only 60 ratings, the lowest average of any oven we track, while the Karu 12 and Koda 16 sit at 4.6★ and 4.6★. Buying “an Ooni” is not a decision. Buying a specific Ooni is.
Both give up the number you want. Gozney publishes no peak temperature on either listing. Ooni publishes one and contradicts itself between the field and the title. Treat every headline temperature in this category as a ceiling under ideal conditions rather than a working number, on both sides.
Who should buy neither
- No yard, balcony or terrace you can run a flame on. Every oven on this page is an outdoor gas or wood appliance. Gozney has no indoor answer at all and Ooni’s is its weakest-rated oven. Start with best electric pizza ovens instead.
- You want the cheapest thing that makes a good pizza. Neither brand is trying to win that, and a countertop electric holds the biggest review corpus on the site. See best outdoor pizza ovens.
- You want the Gozney Tread specifically. 4.8★ is a lovely number and 61 ratings is not enough evidence to stand on. It may well be excellent. Wait for the corpus to fill out, or buy the Roccbox, which has already been tested by 1,905 people.
- Fuel is your real question, not brand. Whether you want to tend a fire decides more than the badge on the front: gas vs wood-fired.
Where this leaves you
There is no winner here and a page that declared one would be lying to you. Ooni is the right answer to “I am not sure what I want yet”: the range has something for nearly every version of that sentence, and the Karu 12 keeps the fuel decision open after you have paid. Gozney is the right answer to “I know what I want and I want it built properly”, because the Roccbox is heavier, better insulated and better reviewed than anything Ooni has on this page.
If that leaves you genuinely balanced, buy on preheat. The Roccbox corpus describes roughly 30 minutes to temperature; the Karu 12 corpus describes about 15. On a Tuesday evening that difference is the whole experience, and it is the one thing here that will decide how often the oven actually gets used. Check the Roccbox on Amazon or check the Karu 12.
Specs and review topics on this page come from each product’s own Amazon listing, read on 29 August 2026. Ratings and sales badges are Amazon’s, not ours. We have not cooked on either oven and do not claim to — what we can and cannot demonstrate is set out in about this site.