Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Comparison · updated 29 August 2026

Ooni Karu vs Koda: the fire, or the knob

Both ranges claim the same peak temperature, so this is not a heat decision. It is a decision about whether lighting a fire is the fun part of the evening or the chore that stops you cooking on a Tuesday. Buy a Karu if tending wood or charcoal is something you want to do. Buy a Koda if you want to turn a dial and put a pizza in. Price, size and warranty all follow that answer rather than leading it.

Nobody wins on temperature

The number every listing in this category shouts is 950 °F, and both Ooni ranges shout it. What differs is how much evidence sits behind it. The Koda 16 publishes 950 °F in a structured Temperature Range field, and this site’s snapshot records the Koda 12 the same way. The Karu 12 publishes 950 °F in its product title and 500 °C — which is 932 °F — in the field, eighteen degrees apart, both of them Ooni’s own figures on Ooni’s own listing. This page does not resolve that; it reports it. The Karu 2 and Karu 2 Pro publish no Temperature Range field at all, and 950 °F appears only in their feature bullets, which is marketing copy rather than a specification. That is why the table below reads Not stated for two ovens that are advertised on a temperature.

Five listings, one number, four different grades of evidence, and a spread of eighteen degrees at the top. Eighteen degrees at 940 does not change what comes out of the oven. The peak temperature is the spec this whole market advertises on and it is the spec least able to separate two ovens made by the same company.

The one field that ought to separate them separates nothing. The Karu 12’s structured Power Source reads Gas-Powered. The Koda 16’s reads Gas Powered. One of those ovens ships as a wood and charcoal burner. If you shop these two ranges by their spec blocks you will not be able to tell which is which, which is a reasonable summary of why this page exists.

The topic that splits exactly down the middle

Amazon extracts topics from a review corpus and counts how many mentions of each lean positive and how many lean negative. Across every corpus this site has read, one topic has come back dead even. It is the Karu 12’s burning options: six positive, six negative, twelve mentions. Amazon files it as mixed, and its summary of the negative half is about the flame cutting out and food charring on the outside.

Now put that beside the same corpus’s flavour topic: twenty-four mentions, twenty-four positive, no negative side whatsoever. Nothing else in either corpus on this page is unanimous.

Those two topics are the same fuel. The wood is simultaneously the best thing about the oven and the thing half the people who mention it complain about. That is not a contradiction in the data, it is the honest description of live fire: it gives you a taste gas cannot, and it asks you to manage it. Roughly half the people who wrote about managing it enjoyed the job.

So the real question is not which oven is better. It is which half of that split you expect to be in. Nobody can answer it from a spec sheet, including us, but most people already know the answer about themselves from every other fire they have ever lit.

Ooni Karu 12
If lighting the fire is the point

Ooni Karu 12

Wood and charcoal out of the box, 12-inch stone, 15 minutes to temperature by Ooni's own claim. The gas burner is a separate purchase on every Karu — check its current price before you compare.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

A knob is not the same as control

The reasonable assumption about a gas oven is that it hands you control. The Koda 16’s corpus does not support that assumption. Its heat output topic is the largest contested topic anywhere on this page — thirty-two mentions — and it is the only one where negatives outnumber positives, fifteen to seventeen. Amazon’s own summary of that topic says the oven cooks very hot and that there is very little temperature control.

That is a different complaint from the Karu’s. Nobody is saying the flame went out. They are saying the flame is fixed. A dial that runs from hot to extremely hot is still a dial you have to work around, and the corpus has two more topics that follow from it: learning curve at eleven mentions, three positive to eight negative, and durability at fourteen, four to ten, which Amazon’s summary attributes specifically to the pizza stone cracking.

Read the two corpora side by side and the trade is not what the marketing implies. Gas removes the fire-lighting. It does not remove the skill of turning a pizza before one edge burns, and on the evidence here it does not remove temperature management either — it just changes what you are managing from a fuel bed to a hot spot. Buying a Koda to avoid learning something is buying it for the wrong reason.

Share of extracted review mentions that lean negative
Karu 2
13.3%
Karu 12
14.7%
Karu 2 Pro
20.7%
Koda 16
25.8%
12131415161718192021222324252627

Computed from Amazon's per-topic positive and negative counts, read 29 August 2026: Karu 2 12 negative of 90 mentions, Karu 12 39 of 265, Karu 2 Pro 17 of 82, Koda 16 56 of 217. Every total is positive plus negative rather than Amazon's mentions field. This is not a controlled comparison — the corpora differ by more than three to one in size, Amazon chooses the topics, and the Koda 12's listing was not read for this page. What it does show is that the Karu 12 and the Koda 16 carry an identical 4.6-star average while their topic mixes are not remotely alike.

What the listings actually publish

Two of Ooni’s own warm-up claims are worth putting next to each other, because they run the opposite way to the intuition. The Karu 12’s bullet says ready to cook in 15 minutes. The Karu 2 says as little as 15 minutes, and the Karu 2 Pro says it reaches temperature in 15 minutes. The Koda 16’s bullet says 20 minutes. By the manufacturer’s own copy, the gas oven is the slow one to get going. It is a bigger oven, so that is not unfair — but if you assumed gas meant instant, the listing disagrees.

Weight moves the same way. Ooni states 12 kg for the Karu 12, 15.3 kg for the Karu 2 and the Karu 2 Pro, and 18.2 kg for the Koda 16. The lightest oven in the comparison is the one that burns wood, which is the reverse of what most people expect when they picture a wood-fired oven.

Warranty is the one place the Koda 16’s listing is straightforwardly better documented. It publishes one year as standard and five years when the product is registered with Ooni within sixty days. The Karu 12’s listing states one year, manufacturer limited. The Karu 2’s states one year. Neither Karu listing mentions the registration extension. That is a difference between what the listings publish, not proof of a difference in what Ooni honours, and it is worth thirty seconds of your time before you buy.

Two rows in the table are noise and should be read as noise. The capacity field is unusable across the whole range — the Koda 16’s says 8,457 cubic inches, the Karu 2 Pro’s says twelve cubic centimetres for a 16-inch oven — so pizza size comes from the titles instead. And the wattage row lists 1,450 W for a propane-only Koda 16 and 1,000 W for a Karu 2 Pro that burns wood. Neither oven plugs into anything. Ignore the row.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Karu 2Ooni Karu 2 ProOoni Koda 12Ooni Koda 16
Price (snapshot)$248.95$448.95$849.00$298.95$498.00
Fuelcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood, wood and gascharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, wood, wood and gasgas, propanegas, propane
Max temp932 °FNot statedNot stated950 °F950 °F
PowerNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (644)4.5 (209)4.4 (150)4.4 (1,132)4.6 (1,254)
Bought last month900+100+100+50+400+
All five current Ooni ovens this site tracks, three Karu and two Koda. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon's own, captured 29 August 2026, and they move. Three rows need care: max temp reads "Not stated" for the Karu 2 and Karu 2 Pro because neither listing publishes a Temperature Range field, though both bullets claim 950 °F; the Karu 12's 932 °F is its field's 500 °C converted, while its title says 950 °F; and the fuel row lists gas for every Karu because the listings do, not because a burner is included. The power row is a listing artefact on gas and wood ovens alike.

The burner is not a Karu 12 problem. It is a Karu problem

The Karu 12 review makes the narrow version of this point: that oven is fifty dollars below the Koda 12 on the 29 August 2026 snapshot, its gas burner is sold separately, and the burner comes out of that fifty dollars first. The wider version is more useful when you are choosing a range rather than a model.

All three Karu listings say it, in three different sets of words. The Karu 12 says to fire up with wood or charcoal out of the box, or use the Ooni Gas Burner attachment, sold separately. The Karu 2 says to fill the fuel tray with wood or charcoal, or attach a gas burner, sold separately. The Karu 2 Pro names an Ooni Karu 2 Pro Gas Burner, sold separately. Gas is an accessory on every Karu Ooni sells. Meanwhile the Koda 16’s listing puts Gas Hose and Regulator in its included components and says they arrive attached.

Notice that the three Karu listings name the accessory three different ways. This site has not read a burner listing, so it cannot tell you whether one part fits all three ovens or whether the Karu 2 Pro genuinely needs its own. Assume nothing there. Check the specific burner against the specific oven before you buy either.

There is no price for any burner on this page, and that is deliberate — there is no ASIN for one in this site’s data, so any figure would be invented. Look up the current price of the burner that fits the Karu you are considering, add it to the oven, and compare that total against the Koda of the size you want. That is the only comparison that means anything, and it takes one browser tab.

The structure survives whatever the burner costs. On the 29 August 2026 snapshot the Karu 12 sits $50.00 below the Koda 12 — and it is the only Karu that undercuts a Koda of the same size. The current-generation Karu 2, the same 12 inches, sits $150.00 above the Koda 12 before a burner. The 16-inch Karu 2 Pro sits $351.00 above the 16-inch Koda 16 before a burner. Multi-fuel costs more at every rung of the ladder except one, and on that one rung the extra cost has been moved into an accessory rather than removed.

Ooni Koda 16
If you want to turn a dial and cook

Ooni Koda 16

Gas only, 16-inch stone, hose and regulator in the box by Ooni's own listing. Ooni claims 20 minutes to temperature, and buyers report the heat is fixed rather than finely adjustable.

View on Amazon

$498.00 · 1,254 reviews

What buyers report, both sides

Both ovens average 4.6 stars, and the Koda 16 has roughly twice the reviews. The star averages are identical and tell you nothing about the difference. The topic breakdowns below are where the two ranges actually part company, and they are Amazon’s extraction rather than ours — this site has not cooked on either oven and does not claim to.

What buyers report — Ooni Karu 12patterns across 644 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Mixed: Burning options splits exactly even — 6 positive and 6 negative across 12 mentions, the one topic Amazon labels mixed.twelve mentions is a thin corpus, so read it as the shape of the risk rather than its size
  • Praised: Flavour is the only topic in either corpus on this page with no negative side at all: 24 mentions, 24 positive, zero complaints.the same fuel produces the best-liked topic and the most contested one
  • Praised: Heat output runs 16 positive to 6 negative across 22 mentions, and Amazon's summary of the topic describes owners holding the oven at a working temperature rather than fighting it.managing a fire is a skill, and the corpus suggests most people acquire it
  • Praised: Performance is the largest topic at 91 mentions, 84 positive to 7 negative — the strongest ratio of the eight.
  • Praised: Across all eight topics the corpus runs 265 mentions with 39 of them negative, or 14.7 per cent.computed from Amazon's own per-topic counts, not from the star average

644 reviews and 8 extracted topics, read 29 August 2026. Every total above is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates above a thousand and misparses; all eight topics here are under a thousand, so the field agrees this time, but the computed total is the one worth trusting anywhere. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus and quote nothing from an individual review.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 16patterns across 1,254 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Mixed: Heat output is the contested topic here, and it leans negative: 15 positive against 17 negative across 32 mentions. Amazon's summary of it says the oven cooks very hot and offers very little temperature control.nearly three times the size of the Karu 12's contested topic, and the only one on this page where negatives outnumber positives
  • Complaint: Durability draws 14 mentions, 4 positive to 10 negative, and Amazon's summary of the topic is specifically about the pizza stone cracking.a consumable part, but one that is not supposed to be consumed in a fortnight
  • Complaint: Learning curve is its own topic at 11 mentions, 3 positive to 8 negative.gas removes the fire, not the skill of turning a pizza before one edge burns
  • Praised: Pizza quality is the biggest topic at 48 mentions, 44 positive to 4 negative, and Entertaining draws 23 mentions with no negative side.what people like about it is the cooking and the evening, not the controls
  • Mixed: Across all eight topics the corpus runs 217 mentions with 56 of them negative, or 25.8 per cent — despite an identical 4.6-star average to the Karu 12.a star average hides which parts of an oven people argue about

1,254 reviews and 8 extracted topics, read 29 August 2026. Totals computed as positive plus negative, never from Amazon's mentions field. Amazon chooses which topics to extract, so the two corpora on this page are not a matched pair — "burning options" has no counterpart on a gas oven, and "durability" has none on the Karu. Patterns only; nothing is quoted, and none of it is our own cooking.

Who should buy which

Buy a Karu if the fire is part of what you are buying. If lighting wood, feeding it and reading it sounds like the good part of a Saturday, the flavour topic with no complaints in it is yours and the burning-options topic is a fair price. The Karu 12 is the cheapest way in. Add the burner later if you find you want gas on weeknights — buying into both fuels in stages is a real strategy, and one Karu plus a burner is one oven rather than two.

Buy a Koda if the fire is the thing standing between you and pizza. Push-button ignition, hose and regulator in the box on the 16, nothing to light and nothing to feed. Go in knowing what the corpus says: the heat is high and largely fixed, the stone attracts complaints, and there is still a learning curve. The Koda 12 is the same argument at 12 inches and a lower price, though its 4.4-star average sits below the 16’s 4.6 and this page did not read its listing. The Koda 16 review goes through the larger one properly.

Do not buy a Karu 2 Pro unless you have a specific reason. At $849 it is more than three times the Karu 12, its corpus is 150 reviews at 4.4 stars — tied with the Koda 12 for the lowest average of the five — and its negative share is the highest of the three Karus. What it adds is a glass door, insulation, a mounted thermometer and app connectivity. Those are real, and for most people they are not $600 of real.

Buy neither if you are still deciding whether you want fire at all. That question is bigger than one brand’s range, and gas versus wood-fired is where to settle it. If this is your first oven of any kind, the beginner guide is a better starting point than a head-to-head between two ovens you have not decided you want. And if Ooni’s dominance is the only reason it is on your list, the Ooni versus Gozney comparison is worth reading before you assume the shortlist is complete.

One thing this page will not do is pick for you. The Karu and the Koda are not a better oven and a worse oven. They are the same company selling the same peak temperature two ways, and the review corpora show each one being argued about on exactly the axis it chose. Pick the argument you would rather have.

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASINs B0CHS69P48 (Karu 12), B0DQ8R4TYT (Karu 2), B0DLH28V1D (Karu 2 Pro) and B085LGV57D (Koda 16). The Koda 12 listing was not read for this page, and claims about what ships in a Koda box are made about the Koda 16 only. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges are Amazon’s own and change without notice. No price is stated here for any Ooni gas burner attachment because this site has not read its listing. We do not cook on these ovens and make no testing claim. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.