Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Gas vs wood-fired pizza ovens

This is not a heat decision. Every oven on this site that burns a fuel and publishes a peak temperature publishes it inside the same 18 °F band — the gas-only Ooni Koda 16 states 950 °F and the multi-fuel Ooni Karu 12 states 932 °F. Buy gas if you want to cook pizza. Buy wood if you want to tend a fire and think the result tastes better for it. That is the whole decision.

Almost every page on this frames it as a performance question: which fuel gets hotter, which cooks faster. The listings do not support that framing, and the one listing here claiming a faster preheat is the wood one. What separates the fuels is how much work sits between you and dinner, and whether you enjoy that work. Neither manufacturer will tell you the second part.

The temperature row settles it

Five ovens spanning the fuel map: multi-fuel, gas-only, dual-fuel, mains electric with a pellet smoke box, and mains electric. Read the Max temp row before anything else.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 16Gozney RoccboxNinja Woodfire Oven & SmokerOoni Volt 2
Price (snapshot)$248.95$498.00$399.00$279.99$698.95
Fuelcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, woodgas, propanegas, woodelectric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)electric
Max temp932 °F950 °FNot stated700 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field850 °F
PowerNot statedNot statedNot stated1760 WNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (644)4.6 (1,254)4.7 (1,905)4.5 (845)3.8 (60)
Bought last month900+400+Not badged300+100+
Amazon snapshot, 29 August 2026; prices and sales figures move. "Not badged" means Amazon published no bought-last-month figure for that listing, which is not the same as no sales.

The flame ovens land between 932 °F and 950 °F. That is 18 °F of daylight across gas, wood, charcoal and every combination of them — and part of even that gap is an artefact. The Karu 12’s spec field says 500 °C, which converts to 932 °F, while the product title on the same listing says 950 °F. Treat gas and wood as the same peak temperature, because on the published evidence they are.

Mains electricity is the one place the row genuinely moves. The hottest electric oven here reaches 850 °F, 82 °F below the coolest flame oven, and both Ninja figures come from product titles rather than spec fields — marketing copy, not a specification. The line is between flame and socket, not between gas and wood. One row is honestly blank: the Roccbox listing has no temperature field at all. Gozney publishes figures elsewhere; they are not on the listing, so this page will not state them.

Gas is not the fast one either

The reflex assumption is that gas saves time. Ooni’s own feature bullets give the wood-and-charcoal Karu 12 fifteen minutes to temperature and the gas Koda 16 twenty. Both are manufacturer claims under unstated conditions and the Koda is the larger oven, so this is not proof that wood preheats faster. It is proof that gas does not obviously preheat faster, which is what everyone assumes.

SpecOoni Karu 12Ooni Koda 16
Fuel in the boxWood or charcoal, “straight out the box”Propane only; 28 mBar regulator and hose attached
Any other fuelGas, via the Ooni Gas Burner — sold separatelyNone — “Not compatible with natural gas”
Time to temperature“ready to cook in 15 minutes”“ready to go in 20 minutes”
“Temperature Range” field500 °C (932 °F)950 °F
Temperature in the title950 °F950 °F
“Included Components” field“Rawlings Bat” — junk, and not in the box“Gas Hose and Regulator”
Warranty statedOne Year Mfg. Limited1 year standard, 5 years when registered at Ooni.com
“Item Weight” field12 kg (26.5 lb)18.2 kg (40.1 lb)
Best Sellers Rank#571 in Outdoor Cooking#3 in Outdoor Ovens
Named fields and feature-bullet text from each listing, read from Amazon on 29 August 2026. Pound conversions and the °C to °F conversion are ours; everything else is as published. Best Sellers Rank is quoted in two different categories, so the two numbers cannot be compared.

Where gas wins is everything after ignition. A dial holds a setting; a fire does not. Wood and charcoal need lighting, feeding and a judgement call about when the stone is ready, and afterwards there is ash — the Karu 12’s own listing sells its fuel tray on “no excess ash to clean”, which is a claim about how much, not that there is none. That difference appears in no spec row on this page.

The Included Components row shows how little these listings can be trusted on what is actually in the box. The Koda 16 names a gas hose and regulator, which is real. The Karu 12 names a “Rawlings Bat” — a baseball bat, not in the box, in the same field a buyer would use to check whether a burner is included.

Multi-fuel does not mean both fuels

The Karu 12 burns wood or charcoal out of the box. Running it on gas needs the Ooni Gas Burner, and the listing says in plain text that this is sold separately. The cheapest route into multi-fuel is really a wood oven with an upgrade path, and the upgrade is a second purchase.

Higher up the range the Karu 2 and Karu 2 Pro both list “wood and gas” where the Karu 12 does not, which is suggestive rather than conclusive. This site’s fuel field describes what an oven can burn, never what arrives in the carton, and no listing here states a burner’s inclusion clearly enough to quote. The Roccbox has it in sharper form: it reads gas and wood, and nothing says which burner you get. Check the seller’s current bundle, not the fuel line.

Ooni Karu 12
If the fire is the point

Ooni Karu 12

Wood or charcoal out of the box, a listed 15 minutes to temperature, and the highest bought-last-month figure of any oven we track. The gas burner is a separate purchase.

View on Amazon

$248.95 · 644 reviews

What the two corpora argue about

This is where the fuels genuinely separate, and it is not in the specs. Amazon groups reviews into topics and reports how many mentions of each lean positive and negative. Set the wood oven’s topics against the gas oven’s and they are not describing the same appliance.

negative mentions (left)positive mentions (right)
Ooni Karu 12 — multi-fuelOoni Koda 16 — gas onlyPerformance84 up / 7 downHeating speed31 up / 10 downValue for money26 up / 9 downCooking performance26 up / 1 downFlavor24 up / 0 downHeat output16 up / 6 downGame-changer13 up / 0 downBurning options6 up / 6 downPizza quality44 up / 4 downValue for money28 up / 11 downHeating speed30 up / 5 downHeat output15 up / 17 downEntertaining23 up / 0 downTaste14 up / 1 downDurability4 up / 10 downLearning curve3 up / 8 down
Every review topic Amazon publishes for each oven, read 29 August 2026. Bars are counts of mentions, not percentages, so a longer bar is a bigger topic — both ovens are drawn on one shared scale. Totals are positive plus negative, computed rather than taken from Amazon's mentions_count field. The ratings are Amazon's, not ours.

Two rows carry the argument. The Karu 12 has a topic called Flavor with 24 mentions and not one negative — the only topic across either oven where nobody dissents. The Koda 16 has no Flavor topic at all. Its nearest equivalent is Taste, 15 mentions, on 1,254 ratings against the Karu’s 644. Per hundred ratings that is 3.7 on the wood oven against 1.2 on the gas one, about three times as often. Wood buyers are unanimous about something gas buyers mostly do not raise.

The second row is the price of the first. Burning options splits 6 positive to 6 negative, dead even — one of only two exactly balanced topics we have found across every corpus on this site. Its description covers both the versatility people love and the flame cutting out and food charring on one side. The fire is the feature and the chore in one topic, and its own owners are split in half about which it mostly is.

What buyers report — Ooni Karu 12patterns across 644 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, computed rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports it as a single digit. Every topic here is well under 1,000 and the two agree, but we compute it the safe way everywhere. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and we have not cooked on either oven.

Notice what the wood corpus is not complaining about: negative mentions come to 15% of 265 across all eight topics. Fire is work, and the people doing it do not appear to resent it. The oven itself is covered in our Ooni Karu 12 review, the wider shortlist in best wood-fired pizza ovens.

What gas buys, and what it does not fix

The gas corpus is a convenience corpus. Heating speed, entertaining, pizza quality: the topics are about the evening going smoothly rather than the fire going well. If you want an appliance instead of a project, that is real evidence for it.

What buyers report — Ooni Koda 16patterns across 1,254 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026

Topic totals are positive plus negative mentions, computed rather than read from Amazon's own mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and then reports it as a single digit. Every topic here is well under 1,000 and the two agree, but we compute it the safe way everywhere. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and we have not cooked on either oven.

But gas is not frictionless, and this corpus is where that shows. Its negative mentions run 26% of 217, higher than the wood oven’s on a longer record. Heat output is its most contested topic at 15 positive to 17 negative, with too little temperature control the repeated complaint. Learning curve appears here and not on the wood oven at all. Durability runs 4 positive to 10 negative, the recurring report being a stone cracking after a handful of uses.

A dial removes the fire-tending, not the skill. Anyone choosing gas expecting to press a button and get a Neapolitan pizza should reset that before ordering. If your real question is which Ooni rather than which fuel, that is Ooni Karu vs Koda; the gas field in general is best gas pizza ovens.

Ooni Koda 16
If you want an appliance, not a project

Ooni Koda 16

Propane only, regulator and hose attached, automatic shut-off, and a five-year warranty when registered. The deepest review record of any gas-only oven we track.

View on Amazon

$498.00 · 1,254 reviews

Where the oven can live decides more than fuel does

🔴 Never run a gas, wood or charcoal oven indoors, in a garage, in a tent or under any enclosed roof. All three fuels produce carbon monoxide, which is odourless, and people have died doing exactly this. Every oven compared above is an outdoor appliance and no amount of ventilation converts one. Connect and leak-test propane outdoors, and never store a cylinder indoors or below ground level.

Mains electric is the only category that can safely sit under a roof. The Ninja Woodfire Oven & Smoker is the interesting middle: mains-powered, with a pellet box that burns a little hardwood for aroma, chasing the flavour argument without an open flame. Its 700 °F comes from the product title, not a spec field. The Ooni Volt 2 goes higher at 850 °F and carries the lowest average rating of any oven in our file, on 60 ratings.

If you have a no-open-flame balcony, or nowhere outdoors at all, this page is not your debate. Start at best electric pizza ovens or, for the multi-function box, our Ninja Woodfire review.

Who should buy which

Where this leaves you

There is no winner here and a page declaring one would be selling you something. Gas and wood reach the same published temperature, in similar time, at similar effort right up to ignition. After that they are different hobbies. Gas is a way of making pizza; wood is a way of spending an evening that produces pizza. The corpora say so more clearly than any spec sheet.

If you are still balanced, decide by counting. Work out how many times a year you will realistically light this thing. Under about twice a month the fire loses to convenience and you will resent it; more than that and the ritual pays for itself. That is a question about your calendar, not about the ovens. Check the Karu 12 on Amazon or check the Koda 16. The gas-only Ooni Koda 12 states the same 950 °F in a 12-inch body.

This page cannot tell you what either fuel costs to run: neither listing states consumption, and propane and hardwood prices vary by region and season. Specs and review topics come from each product’s own Amazon listing, read on 29 August 2026; ratings and sales badges are Amazon’s. We have not cooked on any of these ovens and do not claim to — about this site sets out what we can demonstrate. The Roccbox, which publishes neither a temperature nor a clear burner list, is covered in Ooni vs Gozney.