Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Review · updated 29 August 2026

Solo Stove Pi Prime: the good-looking one, and the fuel field that argues with its own title

Buy the Pi Prime if you want the object as much as the pizza and you are willing to confirm one thing with the seller first. Do not buy it if you want the listing to tell you what fuel it burns, how hot it gets, what it weighs, or what warranty covers it. Its title says propane. Its own Fuel Type field says natural gas. Those are not interchangeable supplies, and the listing never resolves it.

The contradiction you have to settle before you order

Amazon listings carry two kinds of text about a product: the marketing surface, which the brand writes freely, and a structured detail table of typed fields. On this listing they disagree about the single most consequential thing a gas appliance has.

The product title reads Solo Stove Pi Prime Propane Pizza Oven | Portable Outdoor Gas Pizza Oven. Feature bullet two says the oven is fueled by propane. Bullet three calls it this gas pizza oven. Bullet five says powered by propane. Four surfaces, one answer.

The structured detail table’s Fuel Type field reads Natural Gas.

It would be easy to call that a typo and move on, and this page is not going to. Propane and natural gas are not two words for the same thing. They arrive differently — a refillable tank you carry versus a house line you do not — and they burn at different supply pressures through different regulators and different orifice sizes. A natural-gas appliance does not simply run off a propane tank, and an appliance plumbed for one and fed the other does not work correctly. Which of those two the box actually contains changes what you have to buy alongside it and where the oven can stand.

The Heating Method field does not help: it reads Conduction, which describes how heat reaches the base of the pizza, not what is burning underneath. And the listing publishes nothing about a regulator or a hose at all — the Included Components field, which is where the Ooni Koda 16 puts Gas Hose and Regulator, reads one word here.

What to do about it. The buy box on this listing is Solo Stove itself — one seller, sold direct — so the question goes to the manufacturer rather than a reseller. Ask, before you order, which fuel the unit ships configured for and whether a regulator is in the box. This site is not going to answer it for you by guessing, and neither should any page that has not asked.

SpecSolo Stove Pi PrimeGozney RoccboxOoni Karu 12
Price (snapshot)$359.99$399.00$248.95
Fuelgas, propanegas, woodcharcoal, gas, multi-fuel, propane, wood
Max tempNot statedNot stated932 °F
PowerNot statedNot statedNot stated
Amazon rating4.6 (230)4.7 (1,905)4.6 (644)
Bought last month50+Not badged900+
Amazon snapshot, 29 August 2026; prices, ratings and sales badges are Amazon's own and move. Read two rows carefully. The Fuel row is derived from each listing's title and feature text, so the Pi Prime's reads "gas, propane" — the structured Fuel Type field on that same listing reads "Natural Gas", which is the contradiction above and the reason this oven is flagged as having disputed specs. "Not stated" on max temp and power means the Pi Prime's detail table carries no such field; a gas oven has no meaningful wattage, so that one is the correct answer rather than a gap.

What else the listing does not publish

Peak temperature. There is no Temperature Range field. The figure appears once, at the end of feature bullet five — reaches up to 900 degrees in just 15 minutes — and a bullet is copywriting, not a specification. That is why the row above reads Not stated. It is worth naming because peak temperature is the number this entire category advertises on, and Ooni manages to put it in a field meant to hold a number.

Warranty. There is no warranty field. None. The Karu 12 states one year, manufacturer limited; the Koda 16 states one year as standard and five when registered with Ooni. Solo Stove publishes warranty terms elsewhere; they are not on this listing, so they are not something this page can state as fact.

Weight. There is no item-weight field either, which is the odd one. Bullet two describes the oven as compact and lightweight and recommends it for on-the-go adventures. The Roccbox listing states 21.98 kg and lets you decide whether that is portable. This one asserts the adjective and withholds the number.

What is in the box. The Included Components field reads Grill. One word, and not even the right noun for the product it is attached to. There is a second variation on the same page — a Bundle at $431.99 against the standard $359.99 — and no field anywhere states what the extra buys.

Stone size. The Size field reads 21 x 16 inches - Standard, which is the name of the variation you are selecting, not a measurement of the cooking floor. The oven’s own Item Dimensions field reads 20.5 by 20.5 by 15.13 inches, and those two sets of numbers describe different things. No field states the stone diameter or the largest pizza it takes, and we are not going to invent either.

One thing the listing does publish, and publishes well: the return policy reads free 30-day refund or replacement. That is a materially better line than the Gozney Roccbox, whose listing flags the item non-returnable under hazardous-materials transport rules. If the fuel question turns out badly, you can send this one back.

230 reviews is a thin record

The Pi Prime holds 230 Amazon reviews at 4.6★. That is enough to be worth reading and not enough to settle much. Its two nearest neighbours in this site’s data hold 1,905 and 644, and the Karu 12 carries a 900-plus bought-last-month badge against the Pi Prime’s 50-plus. This is the least-evidenced oven of the three by a wide margin.

The gap shows up most clearly in what Amazon’s own topic extraction can pull out. Amazon reads a review corpus, names the themes it finds and counts the mentions on each side. Both ovens yield eight topics — but the Pi Prime’s eight rest on 156 mentions in total, against 712 for the Roccbox.

Roccbox712Pi Prime156
Total mentions behind each listing's extracted review topics, computed as positive plus negative across all eight topics on each — never read from Amazon's mentions field. Roccbox from ASIN B0D6PQJ2PF, Pi Prime from B0CG2MB8YB, both read 29 August 2026. Circle diameter is drawn in proportion to the count itself rather than its area, so the picture understates the gap rather than exaggerating it. Both listings yield eight topics; the difference is how much sits under each one.

That matters in a specific way. Topic extraction needs volume before it means anything, and 4 of the Pi Prime’s 8 topics rest on fewer than ten mentions each — appearance on 7, taste on 7, portability on 6, crust quality on 5. A theme built on five mentions out of 230 reviews is an anecdote with a label on it. They are listed below because omitting them would be its own kind of dishonesty, but each carries the count so you can weigh it yourself.

Read the other way, the thinness is not damning. The oven is badged Amazon’s Choice, and its listing gives #22 in Outdoor Ovens against the Roccbox’s #34 — same category, so for once the two ranks can be compared. Fewer reviews is not the same as worse reviews. It is less to go on, which is a different problem and one that fixes itself with time.

What buyers report — Solo Stove Pi Primepatterns across 230 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is by far the largest topic — 59 mentions, 55 positive against 4 negative — and Amazon’s summary of it reports buyers saying it makes the best pizza they have had.whatever else is unclear about this listing, its owners are not arguing about whether it cooks
  • Praised: Heating speed runs 23 positive of 28 mentions, and Amazon’s summary attaches eight pizzas in under 30 minutes to it.the listing’s own bullet claims a 15-minute preheat, and the corpus does not contradict it
  • Praised: Ease of use is 20 positive of 22 mentions, with no elaboration in Amazon’s summary beyond that buyers find it easy.
  • Mixed: Temperature control is the one genuinely mixed topic: 13 positive against 9 negative of 22 mentions, and Amazon’s summary says some report even cooking temperatures while others find the cooking-zone temperature difficult to regulate.roughly two in five people who raise it raise it as a problem — the worst ratio of any topic with real weight behind it
  • Mixed: Crust quality leans negative — 4 of its 5 mentions — with Amazon’s summary describing bottom crust that will not crisp on the first few pies and pizzas soft in the middle.five mentions out of 230 reviews is not a pattern, and this site is not going to present it as one
  • Praised: Appearance is its own extracted topic, 7 mentions and no negatives — and neither the Roccbox nor the Karu 12 corpus has a topic of that name.seven mentions is thin, but the topic existing at all is consistent with what Solo Stove sells
  • Praised: Portability is 6 positive of 6, about camping trips — while the listing itself publishes no weight figure anywhere.six people’s definition of portable is all the evidence there is on that point

230 reviews and 8 extracted topics totalling 156 mentions, read 29 August 2026. Every total is computed as positive plus negative mentions rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more and misparses it as a single digit — every topic here is well under a thousand so the field agrees this time, but the computed total is the one we trust everywhere. 4 of the 8 topics rest on fewer than ten mentions each and are reported with that caveat attached rather than dressed up as findings. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus; nothing is quoted from an individual review, and none of it comes from this site cooking on the oven, which we have not done.

Negative mentions per 10, by review topic
Perf
0.7
Heat sp.
1.8
Ease
0.9
Temp ctl
4.1
Looks
0.0
Taste
0.0
Portab.
0.0
Crust
8.0
-10123456789

Each topic's negative mentions as a share of its own total, scaled to ten — so 4.1 means about two in five people who raised that topic raised it as a complaint. Computed from the positive and negative counts in Amazon's own topic breakdown for ASIN B0CG2MB8YB, read 29 August 2026, never from its mentions field. The 8.0 at the right is crust quality, and it rests on five mentions in total — treat it as a flag to watch, not a finding. Topics, left to right in the list: performance, heating speed, ease of use, temperature control, appearance, taste, portability, crust quality.

The complaint that argues with the bullet above it

One topic here has both real weight and a real split: temperature control, 22 mentions, 13 positive and 9 negative. Amazon’s summary of it says some buyers report even cooking temperatures and quick heating, and others find the cooking-zone temperature difficult to regulate.

Feature bullet three on the same page is titled PRECISION TEMPERATURE CONTROL and claims the front-facing dial adjusts flame and heat with professional-grade precision, distributing heat evenly. Nine of the twenty-two people who raised the subject did not find that. It is a minority, and the same topic’s positive side is larger — but this is the only complaint on this oven that is about cooking rather than about paperwork, and it lands squarely on the thing the copy singles out.

The crust-quality topic points the same way. Four of its five mentions describe bottom crust that will not crisp on the first few pies, or a soft middle. Five mentions is not evidence of a defect. It is consistent with a hot dome and a stone that has not caught up, which is the same shape as the temperature-regulation complaint and worth knowing about before you serve the first pizza to guests.

Solo Stove Pi Prime
If the looks are part of why you want it

Solo Stove Pi Prime

304 stainless steel, a cordierite stone and a demi-dome, per the listing, with a free 30-day return window. Confirm the fuel configuration with Solo Stove before you order — the title and the Fuel Type field do not agree.

View on Amazon

$359.99 · 230 reviews

What it gives up

Fuel flexibility. Whichever gas it turns out to take, it takes gas and nothing else. There is no wood option and no charcoal option at any price. If part of the appeal of an outdoor oven is tending a fire, this is the wrong category of oven entirely, and gas vs wood-fired is the argument to have before you spend anything.

A stated ceiling. Nine hundred degrees appears in a marketing bullet and nowhere else. The Koda 16 puts 950 °F in a spec field and the Karu 12 puts 932 °F in one. If you want to compare peak temperatures across brands, this listing has opted out of that comparison.

Any paper guarantee. No warranty field at all, on an appliance with a gas burner in it. Solo Stove may well have good terms; the listing you are buying from does not state them. The Karu 12’s listing states one year; the Roccbox’s, to be fair, states nothing either.

A timer. The Timer Function field reads Timer Function Not Available, which for a 90-second bake is not much of a loss, but it is one of the few fields here that answers a question plainly and it is worth crediting.

Depth of evidence. Two hundred and thirty people. If you want to buy into a decision several thousand strangers have already stress-tested, this oven cannot offer that yet.

Who should buy something else

Anyone who wants the fuel question settled on the page. The Ooni Koda 16 states its fuel, its 950 °F peak and its warranty in real spec fields, and lists a gas hose and regulator among its included components. It costs more and it is a plainer object. It is also the listing that answers questions instead of raising them — the Koda 16 review covers what you get for that, and the gas pizza oven guide covers the rest of the category.

Anyone who wants the most evidence per dollar. The Ooni Karu 12 is the volume leader here at 900-plus bought in the past month, burns wood and charcoal as well as gas, and states both a peak temperature and a warranty. Its own trap runs the other way — the gas burner is a separate purchase — but its listing tells you what it is.

Anyone with no outdoor space. This is a live-flame gas appliance and there is no indoor version of that answer. Electric is the category that solves it, and the electric pizza oven guide is where to start instead.

Anyone who has not yet chosen a fuel or a size. The Pi Prime answers a narrow question well and a broad one badly. If you are still at “which pizza oven should I get”, the outdoor pizza oven shortlist is the honest starting point, and the portable guide works through what actually travels.

For everyone else — you want a gas oven, you want it to look like this, and you are prepared to send one email before you order — the Pi Prime is a reasonable buy with the fuel caveat attached. Its owners are not complaining about the pizza. They are, in small numbers, complaining about holding a temperature, and its listing is complaining about nothing because it barely says anything at all.

Where this leaves you

Good-looking, well-reviewed, and badly documented

  • Its title says propane and its Fuel Type field says natural gas — confirm which with Solo Stove before ordering.
  • No peak temperature, no warranty and no weight in any spec field; 900 °F appears only in a marketing bullet.
  • 230 reviews at 4.6★ — the thinnest record of the three ovens compared here, though it is badged Amazon's Choice and ranks #22 in Outdoor Ovens.
  • Temperature control is the one topic with real weight and a real split: 13 positive to 9 negative.
  • Free 30-day refund or replacement, which is better than the Roccbox listing's non-returnable flag.

Amazon's price, rating and listing fields, read 29 August 2026. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.

Solo Stove Pi Prime
Solo Stove

Pi Prime

$359.99

View on Amazon

50+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 August 2026 for ASIN B0CG2MB8YB, with Gozney Roccbox figures from B0D6PQJ2PF and Ooni Karu 12 figures from B0CHS69P48. Prices, ratings, review counts, sales badges, warranty and return terms are Amazon’s own and change without notice. No weight, stone diameter, maximum pizza size, regulator type or bundle contents appears anywhere here, because no field on the listing states any of them, and the propane / natural-gas contradiction is reported rather than resolved because the listing does not resolve it. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.