Comparison · listings read 22 September 2026
Solo Stove vs Ooni: one oven against a ladder
This is not two catalogues meeting. Solo Stove sells one outdoor pizza oven, the Pi Prime. Ooni sells seven that this site tracks. So the question is never “which brand” — it is whether Solo Stove’s single oven beats the Ooni that sits at your budget. Buy the Pi Prime if you want one gas oven and the calmest review corpus here. Buy an Ooni if you want a documented warranty, a published temperature and a choice of sizes. The review data complicates that more than the review counts suggest.
The shape of the fight, before any specs
Ooni is seven of the fifteen ovens in this site’s data. Solo Stove is one. That asymmetry is the first real fact about this comparison and it works both ways. Ooni gives you a ladder — a 12-inch gas oven, a 16-inch gas oven, three multi-fuel Karus, an electric — so there is almost certainly an Ooni at whatever you want to spend. Solo Stove gives you one answer and expects you to take it or leave it.
On the 29 August 2026 snapshot the Pi Prime lands between the two gas Oonis it is naturally compared against: above the Koda 12, below the Koda 16. So in practice this resolves into two smaller questions. Is the Pi Prime worth more than the cheaper Ooni, and is it worth less than the bigger one?
One complication, read on the listings on 22 September 2026 and worth knowing before you get attached to a price: the Ooni Koda 12 is currently unavailable on Amazon. Its listing carries no price and the availability line reads that Amazon does not know when or if it will be back in stock. Its model number reads Koda 12 (Gen 1). Nothing here predicts whether it returns, but the cheaper half of the comparison is not a thing you can buy today, which pushes the real decision toward the Pi Prime against the Koda 16.
Both brands claim 950 °F. Only one of them says it where a spec goes
Ooni publishes its peak temperature in the structured Temperature Range field on both gas ovens. The Koda 16 reads 950 °F plainly. The Koda 12 reads 9.5E+2 °F — the same number in scientific notation, which is a data-entry oddity rather than a different claim, and is exactly the kind of formatting that makes a naive parser report the field as empty.
The Pi Prime has no Temperature Range field at all, on either occasion this site has read the listing. What it has is marketing copy, and the marketing copy has moved. On 29 August 2026 this site recorded 900 °F from a feature bullet. On 22 September 2026 the listing’s Item Highlight field reads Heats to 950°F, Cooks Pizza in 90 Seconds. Two numbers, fifty degrees apart, three weeks apart, both from Solo Stove, neither in a specification field.
This page is not going to tell you which is right, and it is not going to put either into the spec table — which is why the max-temperature row below reads Not stated for the Pi Prime while both Oonis carry a number. That row is not a gap in our data. It is a gap in Solo Stove’s listing, and it is the single clearest documentation difference between these two brands.
Fifty degrees at that end of the scale barely changes what comes out of the oven. The problem is not the number. It is that one brand treats it as a specification and the other treats it as a headline.
What the temperature argument is actually about: the bake ramp from a raw base through golden, into the leopard spotting a Neapolitan crust is judged on, and finally to char. Both brands claim a peak that reaches the leopard end. The difference between 900 and 950 °F is small next to the difference between either of them and a domestic oven, which tops out around 550 °F and cannot get there at all.
Both spec blocks contradict themselves — in different places
This site exists because retail spec blocks cannot be trusted, and these three listings are a good demonstration. Each one disagrees with itself, and the disagreements are not the same kind.
The Pi Prime’s is the one that matters practically. Its structured Fuel Type field reads Natural Gas. Its product title reads Propane. Those are not two words for one thing: they take different regulators and run at different supply pressures. This site found that contradiction on 29 August 2026 and found it unchanged on 22 September 2026, so it is not a transient glitch. Resolve it with the seller before you order a regulator, and do not let anyone — including this page — resolve it for you by counting which answer appears more often.
The Koda 16’s is cosmetic by comparison: its listing gives three different stone materials across its own sections. Irritating, not dangerous. And the Pi Prime’s listing is the one that answers that question cleanly — its Additional Features field names a Cordierite Pizza Stone outright. On the single spec Ooni muddles, Solo Stove is unambiguous.
The Koda 12 contradicts itself about what is in the box. Its Included Components field reads, in full, Pizza Oven. Its own Item Highlight on the same page reads with 28 mBar Regulator and Gas Hose. The Koda 16 has no such problem — its Included Components field says Gas Hose and Regulator and means it. If you buy a Koda 12 when it returns, confirm the hose and regulator before assuming they arrive.
Three listings, three self-contradictions, two brands. Neither of these companies has an edge on honesty here. What differs is what the contradiction costs you: a wrong guess about stone material costs nothing, and a wrong guess about gas supply costs a second trip and a plumber.

Solo Stove Pi Prime
Cordierite stone named outright, 30-day returns on the listing, and the lowest negative share of the three ovens here. Confirm propane versus natural gas with the seller first — the listing says both.
$359.99 · 230 reviews
“Countertop” is not permission to use it indoors
The Pi Prime’s listing carries Installation Type: Countertop. Read that as a description of where the oven sits — on a surface rather than on legs — and nothing more. It burns gas. So does every Ooni on this page.
Any oven that burns something — propane, natural gas, wood, charcoal or pellets — produces carbon monoxide, which has no smell and gives no warning. None of these three ovens may be run indoors, in a garage, in a tent, on an enclosed balcony or under a covered roof, whatever a listing field calls the installation type. That is not a cautious reading of an ambiguous rule; it is the rule, and it applies equally to both brands. If you need an oven that can legally live on a kitchen counter, you need an electric one, and the indoor pizza oven guide covers what actually qualifies.
The finding: the smallest corpus is the happiest one
Amazon extracts topics from a review corpus and counts how many mentions lean positive and how many lean negative. Totalling those gives a negative share — the proportion of all topic mentions that are complaints. It is a blunt instrument, but it is computed from the same source for all three ovens, and it separates them in a way the star ratings completely fail to.
The Pi Prime carries 4.6 stars. The Koda 16 carries 4.6. The Koda 12 carries 4.4. On stars alone the Pi Prime and the Koda 16 are indistinguishable and the Koda 12 is marginally behind. The topic breakdowns say something much less subtle.
Computed from Amazon's own per-topic positive and negative counts, read 22 September 2026: Pi Prime 20 negative of 157 mentions, Koda 16 37 of 171, Koda 12 123 of 443. Every total is positive plus negative rather than Amazon's mentions field, which abbreviates above a thousand — all three corpora were checked and the field agrees with the computed total on every topic here. This is NOT a controlled comparison: the corpora differ by nearly three to one in size, Amazon chooses which topics to extract for each listing, and it did not extract the same topics for any two of these ovens. Read it as a difference in how much owners argue, not as a quality score.
The Koda 12 draws complaints at more than twice the Pi Prime’s rate, and almost all of the gap sits in one topic. Its heat distribution runs 8 positive against 27 negative, and Amazon’s own summary of the topic describes an oven that burns hot, heats unevenly and loses significant heat through the opening. That is the worst ratio on this page by a wide margin, and the Pi Prime’s extraction contains no topic like it.
The Koda 16 sits in between at 21.6 per cent, and its weight is in two places: a heat output topic that splits exactly seventeen to seventeen, described by Amazon as cooking very hot with very little temperature control, and a durability topic running 4 positive to 10 negative that its summary attributes specifically to the pizza stone breaking and cracking after a few uses. Both are worth knowing before you spend the extra on the 16.
Why one read of this data is a snapshot, not a measurement
There is a reason both dates appear throughout this page. This site read the Pi Prime’s topic breakdown on 29 August 2026 and again on 22 September 2026. In between, the corpus grew from 230 reviews to 234 — four reviews. The topics did not change by four reviews’ worth.
On the first read the extraction contained a crust quality topic running 1 positive to 4 negative, and a single heating speed topic at 23 positive to 5. On the second read crust quality is gone entirely, and the speed topic has split into cooking speed at 21 to 5 and a separate heating speed at 9 to 1. Four extra reviews did not do that. Amazon re-cut the topics.
The practical consequence is that the negative-share figures above are a reading taken on one day from a system that reorganises itself, not a stable property of the ovens. The gap between 12.7 and 27.8 per cent is wide enough to survive some reshuffling; a gap of two or three points would not be. Anyone presenting a single read of Amazon topic data as a measurement is overstating what they have — which is why this page shows the method, the dates and the caveat rather than a score out of ten.
One more caveat belongs here rather than in a footnote. Two of these three review counts are pooled across a variation family. The Pi Prime’s listing sits under a parent ASIN that is not its own, with a “21 x 16 inches - Bundle” variation alongside it, so its 230 reviews cover more than the oven by itself. The Koda 12’s 1,132 sit under a different parent ASIN again, and its listing does not publish how many variations share them. The Koda 16 is the clean one: its parent ASIN is its own, so its 1,254 reviews are its own. That is a point in Ooni’s favour on evidence quality, and it runs against the direction of the rest of this section.
- Praised: Performance is by far the largest topic — 59 mentions, 55 positive against 4 negative — and Amazon's summary of it reports buyers saying it makes the best pizza they have had. — whatever else is undocumented about this listing, its owners are not arguing about whether it cooks
- Praised: Ease of use runs 20 positive against 2 negative across 22 mentions, and Amazon's summary of the topic is one sentence long: customers find it easy to use. — the same topic on the Koda 12 runs 43 positive to 28 negative — the sharpest single contrast between these two corpora
- Mixed: Temperature control is the one genuinely mixed topic: 12 positive against 8 negative across 20 mentions, with Amazon's summary describing even cooking temperatures on one side and difficulty regulating the cooking zone on the other. — two in five people who raise it raise it as a problem, and it is the only topic here with a real negative side
- Mixed: Portability draws 6 mentions and no negatives, about taking the oven camping — while the listing itself publishes no weight figure anywhere, on either read. — six people's definition of portable is the entire evidence base, because Solo Stove supplies none
- Praised: Across all eight topics the corpus runs 157 mentions with 20 of them negative, or 12.7 per cent — the lowest of the three ovens on this page. — computed from Amazon's own per-topic counts, and resting on roughly a third as many mentions as the Koda 12's
234 reviews and 8 extracted topics totalling 157 mentions, read 22 September 2026 — products.json carries the 29 August 2026 count of 230, which is why the header above shows that figure. Every total is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field. The topic list changed between this site's two reads of the same listing three weeks apart, so treat the shape as more reliable than the decimals. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus and quote nothing from an individual review; this site has not cooked on the oven and makes no testing claim.
- Complaint: Heat distribution is the worst ratio anywhere on this page: 8 positive against 27 negative across 35 mentions. Amazon's summary of the topic says the oven burns hot and heats unevenly, with significant heat loss through the opening. — roughly four in five people who raised the topic raised it as a fault, and it is a topic that has no counterpart in the Pi Prime's extraction at all
- Mixed: Ease of use is the second-largest topic at 71 mentions and it is genuinely split — 43 positive to 28 negative — with Amazon's summary naming both convenience and difficulty working around the oven. — the Pi Prime's version of this topic runs 20 to 2; this is the difference the star averages hide
- Mixed: Value for money splits 30 positive to 20 negative across 50 mentions, with Amazon's summary putting "worth the money" and "overpriced" side by side.
- Mixed: Reliability runs 30 positive to 15 negative across 45 mentions — a topic Amazon did not extract for either the Koda 16 or the Pi Prime. — its existence here is not evidence the other two are more reliable; it is evidence Amazon chose different topics
- Praised: Performance is still the biggest topic at 116 mentions, 99 positive to 17 negative, and Fun draws 23 mentions with a single negative. — a 27.8 per cent overall negative share is not a bad oven — it is an oven people argue about more
1,134 reviews and 8 extracted topics totalling 443 mentions, read 22 September 2026 — the first time this site has read the Koda 12's listing at all. Totals computed as positive plus negative, never from Amazon's mentions field. Amazon extracted different topics for each of the three ovens on this page, so these are not matched pairs: "heat distribution" and "reliability" have no counterpart in the Pi Prime's extraction, and "portability" has none here. Patterns only, nothing quoted, and none of it from our own cooking.
What the listings publish, and what they don’t
Strip out the review data and compare the paperwork, and Ooni wins on documentation about as clearly as Solo Stove wins on complaint rate.
Warranty. The Koda 16 publishes one year as standard and five years when the product is registered with Ooni. The Koda 12 publishes none. The Pi Prime publishes none. Two of three ovens here ship with no warranty statement on the listing at all, which is a difference between what the listings say rather than proof of what either company honours — but it is thirty seconds of your time before you buy.
Weight. Ooni states 20.2 pounds for the Koda 12 and 18.2 kilograms — about forty pounds — for the Koda 16. The 16-inch oven is roughly twice the 12-inch one, which is worth knowing if “portable” means you actually intend to carry it. The Pi Prime publishes no weight field whatsoever, on either read, while portability is one of the eight topics Amazon extracted from its reviews and six people gave it no complaints. Six campers’ opinions are the entire published evidence for how heavy that oven is.
Returns. The Pi Prime and the Koda 16 both publish a free 30-day refund or replacement window. The Koda 12’s listing publishes no return policy — consistent with it being unavailable.
And two rows in the table below are noise. The power row shows 1,450 W against the Koda 16, which runs on propane and plugs into nothing; ignore it. The capacity fields, which are not in the table for this reason, read 12 cubic inches for the Koda 12 and 8,457 cubic inches for the Koda 16 — one of them is smaller than a coffee mug and the other is bigger than a dishwasher. Pizza size comes from the model names instead.
| Spec | Solo Stove Pi Prime | Ooni Koda 12 | Ooni Koda 16 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $359.99 | $298.95 | $498.00 |
| Fuel | gas, propane | gas, propane | gas, propane |
| Max temp | Not stated | 950 °F | 950 °F |
| Power | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.6★ (230) | 4.4★ (1,132) | 4.6★ (1,254) |
| Bought last month | 50+ | 50+ | 400+ |

Ooni Koda 16
A published 950 °F spec field, hose and regulator named in the box, the only warranty statement of the three, and the only review count here that Amazon does not pool across a variation family. Buyers report the heat is high and largely fixed, and the stone attracts complaints.
$498.00 · 1,254 reviews
Who should buy which
Buy the Pi Prime if you want one oven and no ladder. It has the lowest complaint rate here by a distance, its ease-of-use topic is close to unanimous, and it is the only one of the three whose listing names its stone material without contradicting itself. Go in knowing what it does not tell you: no weight, no warranty, no temperature field, and a fuel-type contradiction you must settle with the seller before you buy a regulator. The full Pi Prime review goes through that listing field by field.
Buy the Koda 16 if you want the bigger oven and better paperwork. Sixteen inches, a real warranty statement, a temperature published where a specification belongs, hose and regulator named in the box, and the only review corpus on this page that Amazon does not pool across other listings. Its two soft spots are documented above and neither is a secret: fixed heat rather than fine control, and a stone that a tenth of the durability mentions say cracks. The Koda 16 review covers it properly, and you can also check the current Koda 16 price before deciding.
Do not wait for the Koda 12. It is unavailable as of 22 September 2026 with no stated return date, and on the evidence of its own review corpus it is the weakest of the three anyway — the highest complaint rate, and a heat-distribution topic that runs better than three to one against it. If the Pi Prime is above your budget, the honest move is not to wait for this oven to come back. It is to look at a different shape of oven entirely, and the portable pizza oven guide is where that starts.
Buy neither if the gas question is the wrong question. Everything above assumes you want a gas oven you can light in twenty minutes. If the fire itself is part of what you are buying, the choice is inside Ooni’s range rather than between these two brands, and Ooni Karu vs Koda settles it. If you have only put Ooni on the list because it is the name you have heard, Ooni versus Gozney is worth reading before you assume the shortlist is complete.
What this page will not do is hand you a winner. Solo Stove makes one oven that its owners complain about less and documents worse. Ooni makes seven, documents them properly, and has the only clean review count here. Those are genuinely different things to want, and the star ratings — 4.6, 4.6 and 4.4 — tell you none of it.
Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 22 September 2026 for ASINs B0CG2MB8YB (Solo Stove Pi Prime), B085LGV57D (Ooni Koda 16) and B07PN5R5WY (Ooni Koda 12), with a previous read of the Pi Prime and the Koda 16 on 29 August 2026. Prices, ratings, review counts and sales badges shown in the table are the 29 August 2026 snapshot held in this site’s data and change without notice; where the later read disagreed, the page says so rather than silently picking one. No peak temperature is stated for the Pi Prime because its listing publishes none in a specification field. We do not cook on these ovens and make no testing claim. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.