Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Best multi-fuel pizza ovens

Most multi-fuel pizza ovens ship with one fuel and sell you the other. If you want a fire now and might want gas later, buy the Ooni Karu 2. If you want both burners in the box on day one, buy the Pizzello Forte 16-inch for 16-inch pizzas or the Big Horn 12-inch Pellet + Gas for 12-inch, and accept lower or vaguer heat claims. If you are sure you only want one fuel, skip this category altogether.

We read nine oven listings on 3 November 2026. We have not cooked on any of them, and nothing here pretends otherwise. Every specification is the listing’s own claim, and every rating is Amazon’s.

What is actually in the box

“Multi-fuel” describes what an oven can burn eventually. It says nothing about what arrives on your doorstep. Of the nine ovens below, two listings clearly state both burners ship together, one is unclear, and the other six ship one fuel system and treat the second as an extra.

Titles do not settle this. The Big Horn 12-inch pellet oven is titled “Wood Pellet, Gas & Electric”, and its second bullet says the gas and electric attachments are sold separately. The Karu 12’s Power Source field reads “Gas-Powered”, on an oven that ships with no gas burner at all. The Roccbox runs the other way: it comes with gas, and its wood burner is the optional part. So the Karu and the Roccbox are both called dual-fuel while starting from opposite fuels.

SpecPizzello Forte 16-inchBig Horn 12-inch Pellet + GasVEVOR Dual Fuel 16-inchOoni Karu 12Ooni Karu 2Ooni Karu 2 ProGozney RoccboxBig Horn 16-inch Multi-FuelBig Horn 12-inch pellet oven
Burners in the boxPropane and wood burners, plus peel, cutter, pellet scoop and carry bagPellet hopper and gas burner, named in title, bullet and components fieldPellet hopper and a pressure regulator; the components list names no burnerWood and charcoal tray onlyWood and charcoal tray onlyWood and charcoal tray onlyGas burner only; the item type reads “gas burning”Pellet system only; the components field reads “no”Pellet system only; the components field reads “no”
Second fuel needsNothing furtherNothing furtherUnclear from the listingOoni gas burner, but see belowOoni gas burnerOoni Pro gas burnerOptional wood burner, no listing readBig Horn 16-inch gas burner, price not readBig Horn gas or electric attachment, price not read
Pizza size16 in12 in16 in12 in12 in16 in12 in16 in12 in
Read from each Amazon listing on 3 November 2026, using the title, bullets, description and Included Components field. Check the box contents on the live listing before you buy, because a listing can change without notice.

Read the burner listing before you buy the Karu 12

Ooni sells its gas burner as a separate Amazon listing, $119.95 when we read it. Its title says “Karu 12 & Karu 2”. Its bullets say something narrower: the burner is for the “Karu 2/12G” and, in the last bullet, compatible with those ovens only.

The oven at the Karu 12 listing is labelled Karu 12, model “Karu 12 2023”, and the listing does not use the name 12G. We cannot tell you from these pages whether the two are the same for the purpose of bolting on this burner. The burner is non-returnable under Amazon’s hazardous-materials rule, so a wrong guess is an expensive one. Ask Ooni before you order it.

That is the main reason we would point someone who cares about gas at the Karu 2 instead. The title and the bullets on the burner listing both name it, and the oven’s own listing describes a gas burner, sold separately, attaching to it. The Karu 2 Pro takes a different burner again, $140.00, whose bullets limit it to that oven. Don’t assume the two are interchangeable.

Cheaper third-party burners exist. One we read, a Uniflasy listing at $43.99, claims to fit the Karu 12 and Big Horn’s 12-inch ovens. It also says it can only be used with the oven door off, and Amazon’s summary of its reviews mentions flames that will not stay lit and units that fail early. This is a part that handles propane. We would not choose it to save money, and we are not linking to it.

Ooni Karu 2
A fire now, gas when you want it

Ooni Karu 2

Wood or charcoal from the box, plus a glass door and thermometer. Ooni's burner listing names this oven in both its title and its bullets.

View on Amazon

$448.95 · 226 reviews

What both fuels cost

Sticker prices flatter the ovens that leave the burner out. With Ooni’s own burner added, the Karu 12 comes to $368.90 (if the burner fits), the Karu 2 to $568.90 and the Pro to $989.00. The two ovens that clearly ship both fuels cost what the listing says: $203.29 and $244.14.

That does not make the cheaper ovens better. It means you should compare the same thing. The Ooni burner’s listing has a five-year warranty field, longer than the oven it attaches to, and the Ooni ovens claim a peak that neither all-in-one publishes. Which matters more depends on what you plan to cook, covered next.

Big Horn 12-inch Pellet + Gas$203.29Pizzello Forte 16-inch$244.14Ooni Karu 12 + burner$368.90Ooni Karu 2 + burner$568.90Ooni Karu 2 Pro + burner$989.00
Oven plus the maker's own gas burner where one is needed, at prices read 3 November 2026. Circle area tracks dollars. Big Horn's and VEVOR's other ovens are left out because we did not read a burner price for them, or could not confirm what ships. These figures will move.

The heat claims do not line up with the fuel claims

The spread here is too wide to take at face value. Big Horn’s titles claim 1,110 and 1,112 °F. VEVOR’s bullet says 1,000 °F. Ooni and Gozney say 950 °F. Pizzello says 752 °F in a bullet and “up to” 700 °F in its description, on the same listing. Big Horn’s 12-inch Pellet + Gas publishes no maximum at all, only 350 °C (662 °F) in 20 minutes.

A higher number here is not evidence of a hotter oven. The 1,110 °F Big Horn’s own FAQ text describes reaching 860 °F at 18 minutes, and Amazon’s summary of its reviews includes owners who say the stone does not get hot enough. We cannot measure any of this, so we treat Ooni’s 950 °F and Big Horn’s 1,110 °F as what they are: claims.

What the numbers can tell you is what a maker is willing to promise. A Neapolitan pizza needs a floor and a flame hot enough to finish in about a minute. Pizzello’s own figures stop short of the 800 °F or so that style usually asks for, even though its bullet also mentions 60 seconds. If leopard-spotted Neapolitan is the goal, read our wood-fired guide first. If you want a big New York-style pie, a lower claim costs you less.

Raw
Set
Golden
Deep gold
Blistering
Leopard
Char

The bake ramp, from raw dough through golden to the leopard spotting a Neapolitan crust is judged on, then char. Where an oven lands on it depends on floor and flame temperature. Every figure quoted above is a manufacturer's claim, not our measurement.

The nine, side by side

The Karu 2 Pro’s weight field says 15.3 kg (33.7 lb) while Ooni’s own chart in the same listing says 60 lb, so plan for the heavier figure. The field value matches the smaller Karu 2. Pizzello’s listing returned no weight at all, which we report rather than estimate.

SpecPizzello Forte 16-inchBig Horn 12-inch Pellet + GasVEVOR Dual Fuel 16-inchOoni Karu 12Ooni Karu 2Ooni Karu 2 ProGozney RoccboxBig Horn 16-inch Multi-FuelBig Horn 12-inch pellet oven
Price, 3 November 2026$244.14$203.29$269.99$248.95$448.95$849.00$399.00$199.99$129.99
Peak temperature claim752 °F in a bullet; “up to 700” in the descriptionNo maximum; 350 °C in 20 minutes1,000 °F in a bullet950 °F in bullets; 500 °C in the field950 °F in a bullet950 °F in a bullet950 °F in a bullet1,112 °F in the title1,110 °F in the title; 860 °F at 18 minutes in its FAQ
WeightNot stated32.6 lb43 lb26.4 lb34.17 lb (Ooni’s chart)60 lb (chart); 15.3 kg (field)21.98 kg42.5 lb25 lb
Amazon rating4.2★ (887)4.2★ (85)4.1★ (84)4.6★ (663)4.5★ (226)4.5★ (160)4.7★ (1,905)4.4★ (297)4.4★ (2,679)
ReturnsReturnableReturnableNon-returnableReturnableReturnableNon-returnableNon-returnableReturnableReturnable
Warranty fieldNot stated24 monthsNot statedOne yearOne yearOne yearNot statedTwo yearsNot stated
Read 3 November 2026. Several ratings are pooled across a variation family: six colours for the 12-inch Big Horn, four for the 16-inch, and five variations for the Pizzello, which mixes 12-inch and 16-inch ovens. The Pellet + Gas shares a parent listing with a Pellet + Electric sibling, so its count may be pooled across a variation family too. “Not stated” means the fields we read did not say. Warranty is the listing's own field wording, shortened.

What buyers report

These corpora are not equally useful. Our November read returned topic names with no counts, so the Big Horn and VEVOR blocks are direction only. The Karu 12 counts below are from our August read. Pizzello and the Karu 2 returned no topic data this time, which is a gap in the scrape and says nothing good or bad about either oven.

What buyers report — Ooni Karu 12patterns across 644 Amazon reviews · 4.6★ · read 29 August 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the dominant topic and heavily positive: 84 of its 91 mentions.
  • Praised: Flavor is the only unanimous topic in this corpus: 24 mentions, none negative. — the reason to burn wood at all, and the corpus agrees it delivers
  • Complaint: Burning options is dead even, 6 positive to 6 negative, with the flame cutting out and crusts charring both recurring in Amazon’s summary. — a live fire is something you tend between pizzas, which is the case for adding gas later

Topic totals, where shown, are positive plus negative mentions, added up rather than read from Amazon’s mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

What buyers report — Big Horn 12-inch pellet ovenpatterns across 2,679 Amazon reviews · 4.4★ · read 3 November 2026
  • Praised: Amazon’s summary leads with performance, value and pizza quality, all filed as positive.
  • Complaint: Durability is the one topic Amazon files as negative, naming reports of the stone breaking on first use and of a broken handle. — the largest corpus on this page has a build-quality complaint in it, and the summary gives no counts to size it
  • Mixed: Heat control and cooking time are both filed as mixed, including owners who say the stone does not get hot enough. — worth holding against a title that claims 1,110 °F

Topic totals, where shown, are positive plus negative mentions, added up rather than read from Amazon’s mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

What buyers report — VEVOR Dual Fuel 16-inchpatterns across 84 Amazon reviews · 4.1★ · read 3 November 2026
  • Praised: Performance and value are filed as positive, with owners comparing the price against Ooni’s.
  • Complaint: Durability and ease of use are both filed as negative, naming a flame that goes out, a stone that chars straight away and a tight opening. — 84 reviews on a listing Amazon will not take back

Topic totals, where shown, are positive plus negative mentions, added up rather than read from Amazon’s mentions_count, which abbreviates any total of 1,000 or more. Patterns are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking.

Pizzello Forte 16-inch
Both burners in the box, and a 16-inch stone

Pizzello Forte 16-inch

The components field names wood and gas burners, plus peel, cutter, scoop and carry bag. Its peak claim is the lowest here, and the listing gives it two ways.

View on Amazon

$244.14 · 887 reviews

Carbon monoxide: every fuel on this page counts

Wood, charcoal, pellets and propane all produce carbon monoxide. Run these ovens outdoors, in the open, never in a house, garage, tent or under a covered roof.

Some listings blur this. Two colourways of the 12-inch Big Horn describe the pellet oven as suitable “for indoor or outdoor use”, the Roccbox bullets mention “home and outdoor use” and a countertop, and Amazon’s Installation Type field reads “Countertop” on both Karu 2 ovens. None of that makes it safe to burn pellets, wood or propane inside. Big Horn also sells an electric attachment for its pellet oven; we did not read that listing and make no claim about it. If you need to cook indoors, you want an oven that is electric from the start, and our indoor guide covers those.

Which one, for whom

You want fire first, gas as an option: the Ooni Karu 2. Its burner compatibility is the clearest in the Ooni range, and it adds a glass door and an integrated thermometer that the Karu 12 listing does not mention.

You only want wood or charcoal for now: the Ooni Karu 12, and treat gas as a question for Ooni rather than a plan. Our Karu 12 review goes further.

You want both fuels on day one, 16-inch: the Pizzello Forte 16-inch. It is the only listing whose components field names both burners and the kit around them. Take its heat claim seriously: this is not the Neapolitan pick.

You want both fuels on day one, 12-inch: the Big Horn 12-inch Pellet + Gas. The title, a bullet and the components field agree that the burner ships, and it has a 24-month warranty field. Its corpus is small, at 85 reviews.

You want a real fire under 16-inch pizzas: the Ooni Karu 2 Pro, which we cover in our Karu 2 Pro review. It is non-returnable, and at 60 lb by Ooni’s chart it is not moving around much.

What we would not buy here

The Big Horn 12-inch pellet oven, if you are buying it for the title. It has by far the largest corpus of any pellet oven we read, at 4.4★, and for pellets alone it may suit you. But the box holds one fuel, its components field reads “no”, and durability is the complaint Amazon names.

The VEVOR Dual Fuel 16-inch, until VEVOR says what ships. The title promises propane and the components list includes a regulator, but no burner is named. It is non-returnable, and its summary files durability and ease of use as negative.

The Gozney Roccbox, as a multi-fuel purchase. It is a well-reviewed gas oven with an option on wood. Read it as that in our Roccbox review. We did not read a listing for its wood burner, so we cannot price the second fuel.

Who should skip multi-fuel entirely

Where this leaves you

Multi-fuel, with the fewest open questions

  • Wood or charcoal out of the box; gas with Ooni's burner, sold separately.
  • 950 °F claimed in the bullets, with a glass door and an integrated thermometer.
  • 34.17 lb on Ooni's chart, and a one-year warranty field.
  • Not the pick if you want both fuels in one box, or if you will never light a fire.

We do not cook on these ovens and never claim to. Specs are the manufacturers' own Amazon listings; prices and ratings read 3 November 2026 and will move.

Ooni Karu 2
Ooni

Karu 2

$448.95

View on Amazon

200+ bought last month

Prices on this page are a dated reading. Check the live price before you buy, and if you are adding gas later, read the Ooni burner listing too. The Pro has its own burner. Where a listing does not publish something, we say so rather than fill the gap. Our editorial policy is in about this site.