Outdoor Pizza Oven GuideWhich oven, and why.

Review · listing read 29 September 2026

The Ooni Volt 2 is the hottest plug-in oven here, and the lowest-rated oven on the site

Buy it if the oven has to live indoors, you want the highest peak any plug-in oven on this site publishes, and you will register it with Ooni inside 60 days. Do not buy it if you want a long track record: it has the smallest review corpus of any electric here and the lowest Amazon rating of any oven we cover, and the complaints are about parts breaking, not about pizza.

Two numbers that pull in opposite directions

The first number is the one Ooni sells on. The Volt 2’s title claims a range of 70 °F to 850 °F, and its structured temperature field reads “8.5E+2 °F” — the same 850, mangled into scientific notation. Of the five plug-in ovens this site tracks, that is the highest published peak: the two Piezanos state 800 °F and both Ninjas 700 °F. For an appliance that runs off a wall socket, 850 °F is a genuinely high number.

The second number is the one nobody puts in a headline. On 29 September 2026 the listing showed 3.9 stars from 63 ratings. A month earlier, in the snapshot every other page on this site uses, it was 3.8 from 60. Either way it is the lowest-rated oven we cover: every other oven on this site sits at 4.2 stars or better. Those are Amazon’s ratings, not ours, and 63 is a small corpus, so one bad week moves it. But it is not a rounding error, and it is the reason this page exists.

SpecOoni Volt 2Piezano XL 14 inchPiezano Crispy CrustNinja Artisan Pizza OvenNinja Woodfire Oven & Smoker
Price (snapshot)$698.95$139.99$97.95$299.95$279.99
Fuelelectricelectricelectricelectricelectric (wood pellets for flavour, not heat)
Max temp850 °F800 °F800 °F700 °F700 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field
PowerNot stated1200 WNot stated1760 W1760 W
Amazon rating3.8★ (60)4.2★ (4,342)4.2★ (249)4.6★ (499)4.5★ (845)
Bought last month100+300+50+200+300+
The five electric ovens on this site, from this site's product snapshot of 29 August 2026. The Volt 2's rating and review count have moved since (see the live table below); the snapshot is shown as it stands so every page on the site agrees. "Not stated" in the power row means the listing publishes no wattage — for the Volt 2 that is true of the title, the bullets and the whole detail table.

What the listing publishes, and what it leaves out

Read directly from Amazon, the listing is fuller than most in this category in some places and oddly empty in others. It gives exact dimensions, a weight, a materials list and a box inventory. It calls the oven a “Countertop Electric Toaster Oven” in its title, files it under Countertop Pizza Ovens, and names the size as “Volt 2 (Gen 2)”.

What it does not give is the one figure that decides what a plug-in oven can do: wattage. It is not in the title, not in the five feature bullets and not anywhere in the detail table. A countertop electric is working inside the limit of a household circuit, and the wattage is how you tell how hard it pushes against that limit. The Piezano XL publishes 1200 W and both Ninjas 1760 W. Ooni does not say, so neither do we.

Nor does it publish a stone size. The title says it cooks 12-inch pizzas, and the box contents list a cordierite stone, the oven and a power plug. Nothing else ships in the box according to the listing — no peel. If you do not already own one, budget for it; our wooden vs metal peel comparison covers how the two blade types differ.

SpecOoni Volt 2
Amazon rating (live read)3.9★ from 63 ratings
Temperature, as publishedTitle: 70 °F to 850 °F. Spec field: 8.5E+2 °F
WattageNot stated anywhere on the listing
Pizza sizeTitle: cooks 12-inch pizzas. No stone dimension field
Footprint21.46 D × 17.4 W × 10.35 H in
Weight17.6 kg (38.8 lb)
In the boxCordierite stone, pizza oven, power plug
MaterialsDie-cast aluminium, powder-coated carbon steel, stainless steel, tempered glass
Controls“Button Control” in one field, “Touch Control” in another
WarrantyStated three ways — see below
Returns30-day refund or replacement
The Volt 2's own listing (ASIN B0FV3RGSQB), read from Amazon on 29 September 2026. Each cell prints what the listing says, including where two of its own fields disagree. The weight is converted from the 17.6 kg it publishes. Its footprint works out to about 373 square inches of counter.

The warranty is stated three different ways

This matters more than it would on most ovens, because a buyer reading the reviews below will want to know what happens if a part fails. Ooni’s listing answers that question three ways at once:

  • The structured Warranty Description field says 1 Year.
  • A feature bullet is headed “Ooni 3 Year Warranty”.
  • The body of that same bullet says every Ooni product carries a warranty of 1 year as standard, and that Ooni will “extend the warranty by 3 years” if you register within 60 days of purchase. Read literally, that is four years.

We cannot tell you which of the three Ooni means, and we are not going to guess. What is consistent across all three is the condition: anything beyond one year depends on registering the oven with Ooni within 60 days. Do that the week it arrives. Given what owners report below, it is the most useful thing you can do for this oven. Amazon’s own 30-day refund or replacement window runs alongside it.

A smaller contradiction sits in the controls: the detail table calls them “Button Control” and, two fields later, “Touch Control”. It changes nothing about whether you should buy the oven, but it is another sign that the spec block on the retail page was not written with care, and a reason to read it with some suspicion.

Ooni Volt 2
If it has to be indoors and hot

Ooni Volt 2

Plug-in, 70 °F to 850 °F by its own title, cordierite stone in the box, sold by Ooni USA. Register it within 60 days: the longer warranty depends on it.

View on Amazon

$698.95 · 60 reviews

What buyers report

Amazon extracts five topics from this listing’s reviews, totalling 59 mentions. That is a thin corpus, and every figure below should be read as a direction rather than a measurement. But the direction is clear, and it is not the one the marketing points at.

People who get a working oven like it. Performance runs 21 positive to 4 negative and heating speed is unanimous. The problems are concentrated in one place: durability, 7 negative mentions against 1 positive. Amazon’s summary of that topic names stones cracking or breaking, some during the first use, and what it describes as exploding glass. The listing’s materials field does list tempered glass among the oven’s materials. Eight mentions do not tell you how often this happens, and we cannot tell from the outside how many of the eight are about the glass. They do tell you it is the thing owners complain about most.

Across all five topics, 19 of 59 mentions are negative (32.2%). That is a higher negative share than any of the three outdoor ovens in the chart below.

What buyers report — Ooni Volt 2patterns across 60 Amazon reviews · 3.8★ · read 29 September 2026
  • Praised: Performance is the biggest topic and it runs strongly positive: 25 mentions, 21 positive to 4 negative. Amazon's summary says owners describe pizzas cooked to perfection. — when it works, people are happy with what comes out of it
  • Praised: Heating speed is the only topic with no negative side at all: 6 mentions, all positive. Amazon's summary of the corpus reports bakes of about 90 seconds and a reheat between pizzas of under five minutes. — those are the corpus's figures, not Ooni's and not ours
  • Complaint: Durability is the most one-sided topic in the corpus, and it runs the wrong way: 8 mentions, 1 positive to 7 negative. Amazon's summary names cracked or broken stones, some on first use, and what it calls exploding glass. — the complaint is about parts failing, not about the pizza
  • Mixed: Heat retention splits 3 positive to 4 negative. Amazon's summary cites one owner who reports the oven struggling to hold 800 °F and another who notes it takes two to three hours to cool down. — the ceiling is a peak, and a peak is not the same as a working temperature
  • Mixed: Value for money runs 9 positive to 4 negative, and Amazon files it as mixed. The negative side is about price rather than about the oven underperforming.

Amazon's topic data for ASIN B0FV3RGSQB, read 29 September 2026: five topics, 59 total mentions from a listing with 63 ratings. Every total is computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which breaks on totals of a thousand or more. Amazon re-cuts these topics as reviews arrive, so this is one reading, not a fixed measurement. Themes are summarised from the public corpus, never quoted from it, and never from our own cooking. This site does not cook on these ovens.

Ooni Volt 232.2% (19 of 59)Ooni Koda 1227.8% (123 of 443)Ooni Koda 1621.6% (37 of 171)Solo Stove Pi Prime12.7% (20 of 157)
Share of Amazon review-topic mentions that are negative, drawn to scale. Volt 2 read 29 September 2026; the other three read 22 September 2026. The corpora differ in size by a factor of seven, and the Volt 2's is the smallest, so its circle is the least certain on the chart. It is also the largest.

About the cracked stones

A cordierite stone cracking is not unique to this oven. Stones crack from thermal shock, when one part of the slab heats faster than the next, and our pizza stone guide tracks durability complaints across every stone listing it covers. What makes it worth flagging here is where the stone sits. In a grill or kitchen oven, a stone is a cheap consumable you replace. In the Volt 2 it is a part of a sealed appliance, the listing does not publish its dimensions, and a correct replacement is a question for Ooni rather than for a third-party listing. That is one more reason the registration step matters.

Heat retention is the quieter version of the same story. One owner in Amazon’s summary reports the oven struggling to hold 800 °F. That fits a pattern across every plug-in oven we cover: the published figure is a ceiling the element can reach, not a temperature the stone holds through several pizzas in a row. The Piezano review found the same argument in a corpus many times the size.

What it gives up

Counter space. 21.46 by 17.4 inches is about 373 square inches of worktop, roughly twice what the Piezano XL takes, and at 10.35 inches tall and 38.8 lb it is not something you lift into a cupboard after dinner. If you are buying an indoor oven because you have no outdoor space, measure the counter first.

Flame. It burns nothing, so there is no wood or charcoal flavour and no live flame rolling over the top of the pizza. The upside of that is real: with no combustion there is no carbon monoxide, so the rule that keeps every gas, wood and charcoal oven outdoors does not apply to it. Its listing sells it as an indoor oven.

A settled reputation. Sixty-three ratings is not enough to know how the Volt 2 holds up over years, and the durability topic is the one that is already tilting. The Piezano XL has a pooled corpus in the thousands. Ooni’s outdoor ovens have corpora in the hundreds to over a thousand. This one is still being decided.

A spec sheet you can fully trust. No wattage, no stone size, a warranty in three versions and two different control types. None of that means the oven is bad. It means the listing will not answer your questions for you, and Ooni will.

Who should buy something else

Anyone who mainly wants a good indoor pizza without a project. The Piezano XL gives up 50 °F of published peak and takes half the counter space. It publishes its wattage, rates 4.2 stars, and its much larger corpus is a better guide to how it lasts. It publishes no warranty, which is the one argument in the Volt 2’s favour that the Piezano cannot answer.

Anyone with a patio or balcony. Once the oven can live outside, the whole case for paying for an electric falls away. The Ooni Koda 16 is gas-only and publishes 950 °F; the Ooni Karu 12 burns wood or charcoal. Both burn fuel, so both must stay outdoors — never in a garage, a tent or under a covered roof.

Anyone comparing every plug-in option. The electric pizza oven guide sets all five side by side, and the indoor pizza oven guide covers what can actually run on a countertop. The two Ninjas are electric too, but neither listing claims a countertop. The Ninja Artisan is filed as an outdoor oven, so indoor use is a call its maker has not made; the Ninja Woodfire also burns wood pellets for flavour, which makes it a combustion appliance that belongs outdoors.

Who is left is a specific buyer: someone who has to cook indoors, wants the highest ceiling a plug-in oven here will publish, and will spend five minutes on Ooni’s registration page the day it arrives. For that buyer the Ooni Volt 2 is the strongest option on this site. For everybody else, one of the ovens above is the safer choice.

Where this leaves you

If the oven must be indoors and you want the highest ceiling a plug-in oven publishes

  • Title claims 70 °F to 850 °F — the highest peak of the five electrics on this site.
  • Burns nothing, so no carbon monoxide; the listing sells it as an indoor countertop oven.
  • Lowest Amazon rating of any oven we cover, from a small corpus; durability is the complaint.
  • Warranty is stated three ways; anything past one year needs registration within 60 days.
  • No wattage and no stone size published anywhere on the listing.

Listing read 29 September 2026. Amazon's ratings and topics, not ours. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.

Ooni Volt 2
Ooni

Volt 2

$698.95

View on Amazon

100+ bought last month

Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 29 September 2026 for ASIN B0FV3RGSQB (Ooni Volt 2). The electric comparison table and the Piezano XL 14 inch figures come from this site’s product snapshot of 29 August 2026; the Koda 12, Koda 16 and Pi Prime topic figures were read 22 September 2026. Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon’s own and change without notice. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.