Review · listing read 13 October 2026
Gozney Tread: a light propane oven you cannot send back
Buy the Tread if the oven is going to travel, in a car boot, on a roof rack or to a campsite, and you are comfortable buying on very little evidence. Its listing claims 950 °F and weighs 29.7 lb, which is 39% less than Gozney’s own Roccbox. Do not buy it if you want a long review record, a wood fire, or the option to return it: Amazon lists it as non-returnable, and only 65 people have rated it.
What the Tread is, from its own listing
The Tread is Gozney’s second portable oven on Amazon, after the Roccbox. It makes 12-inch pizzas, burns propane through what Gozney calls a lateral gas burner, and claims a peak of 950 °F. That figure appears in the product title and nowhere else: there is no temperature field in the listing’s specification table. The Ooni Koda 12 makes the same 950 °F claim for the same size of pizza, and states it in a structured spec field. A title is marketing copy. It may well be right, but it is weaker evidence.
The listing’s pitch is portability. A feature bullet calls the Tread “the world’s most portable pizza oven, 33% lighter than Roccbox”, with roof-rack handles and a set of add-on accessories: a carry bag, a roof rack, a stand and two peels, all sold separately. The box itself holds the oven, a 4-foot gas hose and regulator, a burner guard, a stone adjustment tool and a Torx wrench. There is no peel and no stand, so budget for both.
The flame is the other selling point. The bullet says the lateral burner “recreates a traditional wood-fired flame”. That is a description of what the gas flame looks like, rolling along one side of the oven. It is not a claim that the Tread burns wood, and nothing on the listing says it does. This matters below, because this site’s own product snapshot got it wrong.
The weight claim checks out, and then some
Gozney says 33% lighter than the Roccbox. Taking both listings’ published weights at face value, 29.7 lb against 48.5 lb, the gap is 39%. The arithmetic flatters the product rather than the reverse, which is unusual. The two figures may describe slightly different configurations, so treat both as the listings’ claims.
“World’s most portable” is a different matter. On the listings this site tracks, the Ooni Koda 12 publishes 20.2 lb, about 9.5 lb less than the Tread, for the same 12-inch pizza and the same 950 °F claim. Portability is more than weight: roof-rack handles, a dedicated bag and a smaller box all count. On footprint the Tread does win. Its 19.09 by 12.6 inches covers about 241 square inches of table, against roughly 378 for the Koda 12 and 409 for the Roccbox. Of the five gas ovens this site compares, it is the narrowest and takes the least table. It is not the lightest.
| Spec | Gozney Tread | Gozney Roccbox | Ooni Koda 12 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price (snapshot) | $499.99 | $399.00 | $298.95 |
| Fuel | gas, wood | gas, wood | gas, propane |
| Max temp | 950 °Ffrom the product title, not a spec field | Not stated | 950 °F |
| Power | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Amazon rating | 4.8★ (61) | 4.7★ (1,905) | 4.4★ (1,132) |
| Bought last month | Not badged | Not badged | 50+ |
Sixty-five ratings, and they are already moving
This is the central problem with buying a Tread today, and it is not the oven’s fault. Amazon shows 65 ratings, and they are shared between the two colours: the Off Black and Olive listings returned the same rating, the same count and the same five review topics on the same day. Sixty-five is the whole record. The Roccbox, for comparison, carries 1,905 ratings in this site’s snapshot.
Small corpora move, and this one has. When this site first recorded the Tread, on 29 August 2026, it showed 4.8★ from 61 ratings, the highest average of any oven we track. On 13 October 2026 it showed 4.6★ from 65. That is 4 new ratings, and the average fell by two tenths. If Amazon used a plain mean, rounding to one decimal would put the average of those 4 at no more than about 3.1 stars. Amazon does not publish a plain mean (it weights ratings by factors it does not disclose), so read that as a direction, not a measurement. The direction is that the newest owners were less pleased than the first ones.
The topic data shows the same drift. In the snapshot the five topics held 31 mentions, 1 of them negative. Six weeks later they hold 33, 3 negative. Value for money gained a complaint; cooking time gained its first. None of this says the Tread is a bad oven. It says the evidence is thin enough that three or four owners can visibly change the picture, and that a 4.8 from 61 ratings was never the verdict it looked like.
- Praised: Every one of the five topics Amazon extracts leans positive. Value for money is the largest at 9 mentions, 7 positive and 2 negative, and Amazon's summary says owners find the oven worth the money. — pleasant, and built on nine mentions
- Praised: Cooking time runs 7 positive to 1 negative. Amazon's summary says owners appreciate how quickly it cooks a pizza. — consistent with the 15-minute preheat the listing claims, not a measurement of it
- Praised: Portability is 5 positive to 0 negative, with Amazon's summary describing the oven as light and easy to move once it has cooled. — the thing it was designed for is the thing owners mention
- Mixed: Reliability (6 to 0) and ease of use (5 to 0) carry no negative mention at all. Across the whole corpus there are 3 negative mentions out of 33. — an absence of complaints this small is an absence of evidence, not a clean record
Amazon's topic data for ASIN B0F12T6D66, read 13 October 2026: five topics, 33 total mentions, from 65 ratings shared with the Olive listing (B0F12CHFDK), which returned identical figures. The header shows the live-read rating and count; this site's 29 August 2026 snapshot showed 4.8★ from 61. Totals are computed as positive plus negative rather than read from Amazon's mentions field, which breaks on totals of a thousand or more; none is close here. Themes summarise patterns across the public corpus and quote nothing from an individual review. This site does not cook on these ovens.
You cannot return it
Amazon marks the Tread non-returnable: “Transportation of this item is subject to hazardous materials regulation.” The Roccbox carries the same notice. The Ooni Koda 12, sold by Ooni USA and shipped by Amazon, offers a 30-day refund or replacement. That is the difference between buying an oven and committing to one.
It combines badly with the review record. A thin corpus is a risk you can normally manage with a return window: buy it, try it, send it back if it disappoints. With the Tread you cannot, and the listing does not state a warranty either. There is no warranty field, and the description and bullets that came back from Amazon on 13 October 2026 contain no warranty wording at all. That does not mean Gozney offers none. It means the listing does not tell you, so check Gozney’s own terms before you order, not after.
Where the listing contradicts itself
Read directly from Amazon on 13 October 2026, the Tread’s spec table is fuller than most in this category and less consistent than it looks.
What the shell is made of. The Material field says stainless steel. A feature bullet says “durable aluminum and steel”. An aluminium body would help explain the weight, but the listing states both and we will not pick.
Where it goes. The Installation Type field reads “Countertop”. That is Amazon’s category vocabulary, not a placement claim, and it must not be read as one. The Tread burns propane, which produces carbon monoxide. It belongs outdoors in open air: never in a kitchen, a garage, a tent, an enclosed porch or under a covered roof.
Electrical figures on a gas oven. Wattage reads 50 and Voltage reads 28. A propane oven has neither in any meaningful sense, and the Roccbox listing fills the same field with 1. Both are ignored here.
Capacity. The Capacity field reads 3,970 cubic inches. Multiply the published outer dimensions, 19.09 by 12.6 by 16.5 inches, and you get 3,969. The field is the size of the box the oven fits in, not the space you cook in.
Fuel, in our own data. This one is ours. The product snapshot this site took on 29 August 2026 records the Tread’s fuel as “gas, wood”, and that row still shows in the comparison table above and on our gas pizza oven guide. The live listing supports gas only. The most likely source of “wood” is the bullet about recreating a wood-fired flame. If you want an oven that actually burns wood, the Tread is not it.
| Spec | Gozney Tread |
|---|---|
| Availability | In stock (Off Black). Olive: usually ships in 2 to 3 days |
| Amazon rating (live read) | 4.6★ from 65 ratings, shared by both colours |
| Temperature, as published | 950 °F in the product title only. No temperature spec field |
| Fuel | Propane (Item Highlight). Natural gas is not mentioned |
| Pizza size | 12-inch pizza (Size field). No stone dimension or thickness |
| Footprint | 19.09 D × 12.6 W × 16.5 H in |
| Weight | 29.7 lb |
| Preheat claim | 15 minutes; cools down in 20, per a feature bullet |
| In the box | Oven, 4 ft gas hose and regulator, burner guard, stone adjustment tool, Torx wrench |
| Shell | Field: stainless steel. Bullet: aluminium and steel |
| Warranty | Not stated in any field or bullet |
| Returns | Non-returnable: hazardous-materials shipping |

Gozney Tread
Propane, 950 °F in the title, 29.7 lb, roof-rack handles, the smallest footprint of the five gas ovens here. Non-returnable, 65 ratings, and no warranty stated on the listing: check Gozney's terms first.
$499.99 · 61 reviews
What it gives up
A safety net. No returns, no stated warranty and a review record you could read in ten minutes. Every other drawback on this list is ordinary; this one is specific to the Tread.
Pizza size. Twelve inches, the same as the Koda 12. For a family each eating a whole pizza, that is one bake per person.
Wood. Propane only, whatever the flame looks like. If smoke is part of the appeal, see the gas vs wood-fired comparison.
Natural gas. The listing does not mention it at all. Do not assume the Tread runs off a patio gas line; ask Gozney.
The extras. The stand, bag, roof rack and peels the listing recommends are separate purchases. The oven alone is not the whole kit the photographs show.
Who should buy something else
Anyone who wants a Gozney with a track record. The Gozney Roccbox is heavier at 48.5 lb and is also non-returnable, but its 1,905 ratings mean you know what you are buying. If the Tread’s appeal is the brand, the Roccbox is the Gozney with the evidence behind it.
Anyone who wants the lightest gas oven, or a return window. The Ooni Koda 12 weighs less, makes the same claim in a spec field, and comes with a 30-day return. Its owners consistently report uneven heat, which its review covers honestly, but at least you can send it back.
Anyone comparing the two brands. Ooni vs Gozney sets four ovens side by side, and the portable pizza oven guide ranks every oven here by what you actually have to carry.
Anyone without outdoor space. A propane oven is not an option. The electric pizza oven guide covers the plug-in ovens, which burn nothing.
Who is left is a specific buyer: someone who will put the oven in a car or on a roof and wants the most compact of the gas ovens on this site, and who accepts buying it without a return window or a long review history. For that buyer the Gozney Tread does what its listing says it is for. For everyone else, giving the corpus another six months costs nothing.
Where this leaves you
If you need a gas oven that travels
- 29.7 lb by its own listing, 39% lighter than the Roccbox's published 48.5 lb.
- 950 °F, stated in the product title rather than a spec field.
- The smallest footprint of the five gas ovens on this site: 19.09 by 12.6 inches.
- 65 ratings shared across two colours, 3 negative topic mentions of 33. Thin evidence, and moving.
- Non-returnable (hazardous-materials shipping). No warranty stated on the listing.
Listing read 13 October 2026. Amazon's ratings and topics, not ours. We do not cook on these ovens and we do not claim to.
Listing facts on this page were read from Amazon on 13 October 2026 for ASINs B0F12T6D66 (Off Black) and B0F12CHFDK (Olive). The comparison table comes from this site’s product snapshot of 29 August 2026; the Koda 12 and Koda 16 weights come from their listings as read for their own reviews. Prices, ratings and review counts are Amazon’s own and change without notice. Nothing on this page states what Gozney’s warranty covers, because the listing does not. This site earns commission on purchases made through its Amazon links, which is set out in full in the affiliate disclosure.